We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stop every year on our way west..some units dog friendly!”
Review of Wagon Wheel Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cuba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wagon Wheel Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The most beautifully renovated little stone cottages..tiny but perfect. if you have a pup they put you in one of the newer rooms but still so nice. affordable too. cuba is a quiet sweet little town on old rt 66 now conveniently on MO 44. for us, traveling from kentucky to new mexico it's the perfect 1st stop ( sometimes perfect on way home too). very very clean! a really nice BBQ restaurant is right next door too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 433 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Charming little stone cottages, built in the 30's and lovingly tended. My room (#10) was tiny but totally do-able. Spotless, warm and inviting, it seemed freshly painted & was a lovely combination of old and new. Original wood flooring but everything else was modern with wall mounted flat screen TV, bathroom sink with granite counter and new fixtures. Shower was gleaming. Fresh white linens on the brass bed & plenty of white, fluffy towels. Old fashioned floor radiator heater as well as LG Inverter unit with remote ~ temps were in the single digits but the room stayed plenty warm. Free wifi with good signal. Connie at the gift shop was on her way to church but was sweet as could be and made me feel very welcome at check in :-) We always feel so good about spending our hard earned money over to someone who works just as hard as we do and appreciates your business. My only complaint: I wish I wasn't on a diet because the BBQ next door is legendary! Thank God for Trip Advisor because this little gem wasn't listed on my GPS and I almost stayed at one of the chain hotels instead ~ highly recommend and will DEFINITELY make a point to stay here again :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I like staying here. The owners are very nice and the maintain the place so well. If anywhere near Cuba this is the place to stay.

I was on a winter motorcycle ride with three friends. We arrived in 20 degree weather to the surprise of the owners. They had a nice fire going in the fireplace so 3 could warm up with the other checked in.

The owner described the room as "historically small" and if you get the basic room that is what you will get, a small room. I recommend paying a little extra for a room a little larger.

All of our rooms and bathrooms were spotless. My bed was very comfortable. The others all said they slept well.

I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stopped off here along Route 66- we had no room booked but the staff were very accommodating. We stayed in one of the big rooms with a jacuzzi- the room was very clean and well equipped. The big jacuzzi in the room was the highlight though and we really enjoyed paddling about in there at the end of the night. There was a nice area to the front of our room where we sat and had a couple of drinks. Cuba is a gorgeous town and was one of our favourite stops along the route- would also highly recommend the Missouri Hick BBQ next door, food was great and it was nice to be able to sit and have a few beers and just wander back to our room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiek37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We booked 2 rooms, before we could even see the rooms we had to pay. I paid all cash up front nearly 300 dollars. When we saw how ridiciously small the rooms were( you basically have to turn sideways to walk in room) we immediatly returned to office less than 5 minutes after paying. I told her the rooms would not work, staff was extremely rude and refused to refund are money. Even local police will tell you to avoid this place. If your looking for an overpriced closet then this is your motel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank britani h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagonette, Owner at Wagon Wheel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

We are sorry this guest was not satisfied. They rented the cheapest rooms in our historic motel so they were the smallest rooms. We changed the reservations three times to try to accommodate them. They never said they were going to dress and do hair for an entire wedding party. We offered them our meeting room. We gladly gave money back with only a small cancellation fee even though they cancelled after the required time to pay full price. They wanted the suites but did not want to pay the prices for them. We tried to work with them and we are sorry they were not totally satisfied with their experience here. We do try very hard to please all of our guests if at all possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband is a pastor and we travel a lot. I've stayed at all the big boring motels and ate the same boring breakfast food in the mornings. We've stayed here many times on our way through and have always been happy with the size of the room, the cleanliness, and the location. Very quiet. No one running down hallways there! Owner is easy to get ahold of if we had a problem. I liked the coffe station in the beautifully decorated store and have purchased many items there.
If you want to pay less and can go without some minor inconveniences then stay here. But if you want to pay way too much more for a couple extra feet of space, and those worthless bottles of shampoo instead of your own, then go up near the interstate. No thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful! We will stay again! Nice shower, cozy beds, lovely motel with all the comforts. Owner was very welcoming and has a beautiful gift shop. Looking forward to bumming around this stretch of Route 66.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mimsiedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuba
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cuba
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cuba
110 reviews
12.9 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Saint James
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
15.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Cuba
Super 8 Cuba
#1 of 4 in Cuba
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wagon Wheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagon Wheel Motel

Address: 901 E Washington Street, Cuba, MO 65453-1951
Location: United States > Missouri > Cuba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest continuously operating motel onHistoric Rte.66 totally restored. New beds, baths, Wifi, flatscreen tvs, all inthe original charm of a tourist court. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wagon Wheel Hotel Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing