We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Route 66 Must!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wagon Wheel Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cuba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wagon Wheel Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Route 66 Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were making the first half of our much anticipated trip down the "Mother Road" and had decided ahead of time to stay in as many of the vintage '66 motels as possible. The Wagon Wheel was definitely on our list and we were not disappointed! Though we chose to save a few bucks and decided on one of the less expensive options (Room 18 in the back bldg), we still found it to be charming! The room was small as to be expected of motels of the era, but had a nice size shower, a table and chair, coat rack on the wall for hanging, the most comfy queen size bed and just enough Route '66 decor to remind you where you were. We met the owner, Connie, the next morning in the office/gift shop and found her to be very friendly and gracious, telling us a lot about how she was lovingly working to restore the property to it's former glory. We also had great fun riding around town looking at all the murals depicting the history of the town. And, if you're hungry for some lip-smacking BBQ, try Missouri Hick next door! All in all, it was a wonderful stay and we will definitely visit again if we're ever this way!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    127
    21
    7
    10
See reviews for
77
197
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Suburbs, IL
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

A must stay. Fabulous Route 66 icon, lovingly restored. Look past the small rooms to the architecture and history. Wish we would have had more time to walk the beautiful property, however we arrived late at night and had to leave early in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very small room tiny tiny shower but it was clean. No extras no paper cups no nothing! Could not get our room because they were closed when we arrived. We were late for a wedding because of the check in time. Not a motel friendly place. Would not recommend because of accommodations. We paid 77.00 for a crappy place to change clothes basically. Not even a place to hand your clothes. We had to lay them over THE chair! Very disappointed in this place will never return. The large blond lady was also rude...

Room Tip: Historic motels...look - don't buy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagonette, Owner at Wagon Wheel Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
The reason the guest could not check in earlier than the posted 3 pm check-in time was because the room was not available till 1 pm because the beautiful bride from the wedding checked out late. The office was not open till check-in time because we were all working on the rooms to accommodate our guests. There was no guarantee of earlier than 3 pm check-in time.

The rooms are historically small and the guest must have missed the 2 hooks on the front and back of the bathroom door to use for hanging up clothes. Also, in each room there is an information sheet with a phone number to call if anything at all is needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Wagon Wheel last October (2012) and I was able to rate it a five without hesitation. Last night we were back again, and based on our room, I can only give it a three. I had requested, and was assigned, a room with a queen-sized bed. The room was one of two in a cinderblock building (former garage?) that sits behind the main stone cottages. Unlike the rooms in the main cottages that have original hardwood floors, our room had linoleum tile, taking away any charm the room might have had. Instead of the small table for two that we had in the room during our last stay, this room had a rather strange brown velour-ish chair with a small attached tray and cup holder. It seemed more garage sale, than period piece. I was also surprised that our room amenities lacked facial tissue, conditioner, lotion, or most important for me, a hair dryer. Instead of curtains there were blinds on the door and main window. A second window over the in-room sink had opaque glass and no blinds. It was impossible to get the room dark and it was especially a problem last night when the moon was full. Our room also backed up to the guest laundry and ice machine, which we could easily hear in our room. Both were used well after midnight. On the plus side, check-in was quick and pleasant, and our room was extremely clean. I would not hesitate staying at the Wagon Wheel in the future, but I would be certain that I was not assigned Room 17.

Room Tip: Avoid room 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveadventure4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
345 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here with friends while traveling Route 66. Loved the little cabins. Our room was small, but comfortable. It definitely had the feeling of something from a bygone era. We walked around the town of Cuba the next morning and really enjoyed all the murals.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

From the glowing reviews I really expected something better. The room we had with 2 beds had a very squeaky set of saloon doors between the bedroom and the kitchen area that did not make any sense to me. The room smelled musty and old. Bathroom was very cramped with only a shower. The bed was comfortable but for about half the price I could have stayed at one of the chain motels.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, pay a little more and get the bigger rooms. You will need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sticktogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

It was definitely the "off" season when we went and it was sleeting and hailing like crazy but this little cottage style room we got was super cozy, it was not very big but it was exactly what we needed. We were on a roadtrip to california from Michigan and traveling Route 66. This is one of the historic stops they recommend when taking this trip so we decided to book it for our first night. The gift shop/front desk lady was super sweet and accomodating to our needs. The room had a wood floors and a nice little flat screen that had great reception so we could keep on eye on the massive storm taking over our whole route :(. There was only 2 other people staying in the hotel it seemed and we ended up being the only 4 at the restaurant next door as well ( the only restaurant mind you) the beers at the restaurant were local brews and very delicous after a long day on the road. The one and only downfall to this hotel that i could find was that it had offered on the website that they had ice to fill our coolers and when we arrived the ice machine was empty and not even turned on. when we called the front to inquire about this we were told they dont run the ice machine in the winter and that we could ask the restaurant next door but that was our only option that night. i would Stay here again definitely, the room was very very clean and updated, nice plush bedding and pillows. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuba
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cuba
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cuba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
12.9 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Saint James
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
15.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
21.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Rolla
Pear Tree Inn Rolla
#4 of 13 in Rolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wagon Wheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagon Wheel Motel

Property: Wagon Wheel Motel
Address: 901 E Washington Street, Cuba, MO 65453-1951
Location: United States > Missouri > Cuba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest continuously operating motel onHistoric Rte.66 totally restored. New beds, baths, Wifi, flatscreen tvs, all inthe original charm of a tourist court. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wagon Wheel Hotel Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing