We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good old days are not always better”
Review of Wagon Wheel Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cuba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wagon Wheel Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

From the glowing reviews I really expected something better. The room we had with 2 beds had a very squeaky set of saloon doors between the bedroom and the kitchen area that did not make any sense to me. The room smelled musty and old. Bathroom was very cramped with only a shower. The bed was comfortable but for about half the price I could have stayed at one of the chain motels.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, pay a little more and get the bigger rooms. You will need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sticktogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 435 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

It was definitely the "off" season when we went and it was sleeting and hailing like crazy but this little cottage style room we got was super cozy, it was not very big but it was exactly what we needed. We were on a roadtrip to california from Michigan and traveling Route 66. This is one of the historic stops they recommend when taking this trip so we decided to book it for our first night. The gift shop/front desk lady was super sweet and accomodating to our needs. The room had a wood floors and a nice little flat screen that had great reception so we could keep on eye on the massive storm taking over our whole route :(. There was only 2 other people staying in the hotel it seemed and we ended up being the only 4 at the restaurant next door as well ( the only restaurant mind you) the beers at the restaurant were local brews and very delicous after a long day on the road. The one and only downfall to this hotel that i could find was that it had offered on the website that they had ice to fill our coolers and when we arrived the ice machine was empty and not even turned on. when we called the front to inquire about this we were told they dont run the ice machine in the winter and that we could ask the restaurant next door but that was our only option that night. i would Stay here again definitely, the room was very very clean and updated, nice plush bedding and pillows. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The atmosphere was AMAZING! The room was spotless and very inviting! My husband and I stayed here while traveling Route 66 through Missouri on our 22nd wedding anniversary. We travel a lot and have always stayed in popular, tried-and-true chain hotels. This time, in order to capture an authentic Route 66 experience, we took a chance on the Wagon Wheel Motel. We were greatly impressed! We would highly recommend it, especially to those celebrating a wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottkimn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay here in what claims to be the oldest continuously operating motel on all of Rte. 66! The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. There is TV and Wi-Fi access here, even though you feel a little like you're in a road trip episode from I Love Lucy! Not a thing fancy here, bath towels leave a bit to be desired, but if you love Americana and history, you'll love the quaintness of this place. Don't miss getting a picture of the old neon-lit wagon wheel sign out front, and the nice Rte.-66 themed gift shop in the office lobby. The proprietor used to own a gift shop down the road before falling in love with, and buying, this motel.

The town of Cuba, MO has much old town charm to it, and newly painted historical murals on the outside of the buildings all over the town, that are interesting to see. The County museum in town has a brochure/map of where the murals are, but see if you can hunt down Gene, the city waterer of sidewalk plantings, 'cause he carries the brochures in his truck!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandJan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Wagon Wheel a few days ago and I am glad that we did! My husband and I have been traveling on Route 66 since Santa Monica and were on our last leg of the trip. We called the Wagon Wheel and the lady said that they had the "suite" room available. We took it and it was a beautiful, newly renovated room with new furniture, new bathroom, new jacuzzi, refrigerator, microwave and in room coffee. The owner has been working very hard to make this Route 66 hotel upscale at the same time keeping the Route 66 vintage feel. She is doing an excellent job! If you are traveling Route 66 and appreciate a vintage hotel with a plush feel. This is for you!

Room Tip: Splurge and get the suite! Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Like a throwback in time, this vintage Rt 66 motel has been wonderfully restored to give a sense of what it may have been like to travel the mother road. Connie did a great job restoring this motel and giving us this experience. She's also a pleasure to talk with about the history of the place. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked months in advance having read such good reviews was looking forward to a great memorable experience. This is my honest opinion and one that disagrees with many on here but this is how it was for me.

Looks interesting when you pull up. You have to pay up front and told to leave the key in your room in the morning. Not what I expected as I like to think that hoteliers like to know how you enjoyed your stay. Nobody there in the morning or later that evening so if you needed anything tough luck.

The room was tiny which I expected but it was totally devoid of any atmosphere. No pictures or anything to suggest it was an iconic Route 66 motel. Very disappointing. Coffee available in room but only enough for one cup each for two people. Couldn't ask for more as there was nobody around later that evening. The only thing to suggest it had anything to do with route 66 was the neon sign and some stuff in the shop. Oh yes and the story of how the owner had renovated it which was interesting but as I said disappointing that the actual rooms were without any character and you could have been in any downmarket hotel. Bed was comfortable with nice duvet.

The best thing about the stay was the meal in Missouri Hick next door - a definite must but stay elsewhere if you can or miss out on the meal.

Disappointing but memorable because I got 18 midge or insect bites after sitting outside for only 20 minutes after arriving. These were particularly bad ones and lasted three weeks. Clearly business depends on Route 66 fans and old timers promoting it. Nothing else here so I wouldn't bother with it as a stop off.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagonette, Owner at Wagon Wheel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay. Like most motels, we do ask for payment up front. Apparently the guest did not notice the sign on the office door with a phone number that states that someone is on premises and will respond immediately if needed. We would gladly have addressed any problems immediately. There are also information sheets in each room that plainly state if a guest has any problems or questions they can call the motel phone number which is given. Unfortunately, we cannot control the outside mosquitoes and they are very common in Missouri in August so if you're going to be outside, bring some Off. We do have different sizes and prices on our rooms and the cheaper rooms do not offer as much as the more expensive rooms. We are glad this guest did find the bed comfortable and we hope she had a good night's sleep. We are also glad that she liked the duvet as it was selected personally by the owner of the motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuba
12.9 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Saint James
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cuba
110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Cuba
Super 8 Cuba
#1 of 4 in Cuba
445 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wagon Wheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagon Wheel Motel

Address: 901 E Washington Street, Cuba, MO 65453-1951
Location: United States > Missouri > Cuba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest continuously operating motel onHistoric Rte.66 totally restored. New beds, baths, Wifi, flatscreen tvs, all inthe original charm of a tourist court. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wagon Wheel Hotel Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing