We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Disgustingly Filthy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - Central
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Creve Coeur
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgustingly Filthy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed here this past weekend and was extremely disappointed. I checked in late Thursday night and was exhausted; I didn't fully inspect the room the way I normally do when I check into a hotel. I just wanted to rest. When I pulled back the covers to go to bed, I noticed the sheets were thin and dingy. These sheets were a 70 thread count at best. There was also hair in the bed. I called to the front desk to request a blanket. I wrapped up in the blanket which was clean and hairless so that I could sleep on top of the covers. The next morning I saw just how filthy the room was. I had to place a towel over the pillow because again the 70 thread count and the pillowcase wasn't that clean.

The bathroom sink was dirty, one of the bath towels had long strands of hair folded up inside. The hallway was foul, the carpet was old and dirty. I was utterly disgusted. I'm used to much nicer hotels and this one did not measure up at all.

Room Tip: Stay at this hotel at your own risk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsinStyle247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    12
    13
    14
See reviews for
19
14
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Wow! what a nice lobby! But it ends there. Opened room door and knew I had been fooled immediately. Opened fridge and there was a subway sandwitch shop soda cup in there - still had ice in it. Went to set my bag on the chair and was shocked to notice a stain right there on the chair plain as day of a nature I will not describe here in detail. The carpet and even thge countertop were stained and the bathroom fixtures dirty. In the morning I grabbed a towel after my shower and as I brought it to my face to dry off I was overwhelmed by the smell of vomit. By the way bring your own soap and shampoo. Parking was also a hassle. Cheap though, I think I paid 26$ a night via priceline - just know you get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moody5493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The good--It was only $70.

The bad--It should have been $29.99.

The ugly--The room was VERY dated, spiderwebs with spiders in every corner, a tremendous amount of mold on the shower curtain, gross carpet and bedspreads from the 1980s. Also the website said the room had basic toiletries, hair dryer, and ironing board. It had none of these. The frig worked, but was turned down to the lowest setting when qwe got there and was barely chilled. They are painting the exterior so all the windows have plastic on them so you could not see out and they started scraping before 8AM so there was not any sleeping in for anyone on that side of the building. They need to forgo the exterior work and update the sorry rooms.

The good again--the front desk clerk was "Shocked" that our room (133) lacked the promised amenities and brought them to us quickly. The only thing in the room more modern than the 80s was the flat screen TV.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christymfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We ended up at this hotel as a result of spending a horrible night at one of the more expensive hotels in the area. At first we were a little apprehensive. However everything from the lobby to the cleanliness of our room quickly dispelled the myth that paying more for a hotel means better quality. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly, especially Erin who went above and beyond to assist us. If you are coming to the St. Louis area for a weekend of site seeing, or are in need of a quick overnight stay.... Perhaps you are on a budget, and are less concerned with all the perks of a luxury hotel... Rest assured that this hotel is nothing short of a decent place to lay your head. The reason we did not give this hotel a rating of excellent is because we had difficulty checking in. There was a phone in the lobby with instructions to call a number... unfortunately there was no answer. We had to wait twenty minutes for the clerk to return. Secondly we were leaving the hotel on morning at 5:30 am and spotted a druken guest sleeping on the hotel grounds. No fault of the hotel of course, in fact one of the employees could be seen trying to assist this individual. Asside from these two incidents, the hotel was very modern, clean, and not too far from the airport. We were pleasantly surprised, and plan on making Homestead Suites our first choice for future travel to the St. Louis area.

Room Tip: This hotel does have connecting rooms. For more privacy and less noise, request a room without a con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al4luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The hotel offered us a comfortable and welcoming stay. The staff were very accommodating and helped us ease back into the USA after a two week stay in Europe.
Could not have required more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank militarypm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stayed at Homestead and received excellent service! The entire facility was very clean! Felt right at home. Only down-side is there is not continental breakfast but the kitchenettes are nicely equiped if you wish to bring your own groceries. Great stay and for a good rate! Will stay there again and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ollistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Region39, Regional Director of Operations at Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to tell us about your stay. We appreciate the positive comments and will be sure to share them with the team. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

I greatly recommend this hotel, not only for the extraordinary service provided by the staff, but also the overall appearance. At this hotel it is like a home away from home, you are actually part of the family when you step into this hotel. All the other hotels need to take note, Homestead Studio Suites St. Louis - Westport is the place to lodge. Thanks & keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sodipos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creve Coeur
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. L...
#1 of 16 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
#8 of 16 in Maryland Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites St. Louis
Sonesta ES Suites St. Louis
#1 of 8 in Creve Coeur
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis Westport
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#2 of 16 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Westport
Comfort Inn Westport
#6 of 16 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Louis - Westport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. L...
#3 of 16 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - Central

Property: Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - Central
Address: 12161 Lackland Rd, Creve Coeur, Saint Louis, MO 63146-4003 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Creve Coeur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Creve Coeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites St. Louis - Westport Hotel Creve Coeur
Homestead Suites Saint Louis
Homestead Saint Louis
Homestead Studio Suites Westport
Saint Louis Homestead Suites
Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - Central Saint Louis, MO - Creve Coeur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing