We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something not right in the front office”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Creve Coeur
Charleston, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Something not right in the front office”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Room was fine except for very small, flat pillows, but something is not right in the front office of this place. When we got there to check in a line was out to the door-- probably seven people or so. One man in front of us had been sent to a room already occupied. He tried to tell the clerk this, but she told him he was wrong. He came back again telling her there were other people's belongings in the room and he needed another room, a first-floor room. She said there were no more first floor rooms. Then not two minutes later she gave him a first floor room. Another man had a problem with both his reservation and also a credit he said he was supposed to have with the hotel. On the reservation problem, he was told there were no available rooms for the next night. As he continued to plead his cause, he was told he could have a room for the next night, BUT was quoted a price $50 higher. Either there are rooms available or there aren't .... Upon check-out the line was completely out the front door by a couple of people, making it around nine or ten backed up in line. Thankfully, we had no issues with our reservation, billing, etc., but apparently we were one of the lucky ones. Because the room was basically good, I'm giving this place a two, but I will NOT be taking another chance with it. My feeling is we would likely not get lucky again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquinas_F, Manager at Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Rod D.

Thank you for telling us about your experience. However, this seems very interesting and I would like to get more information about your arrival date so that I may pinpoint the workers for that day. This obviously is a training issue and I am glad you brought it to my attention. The dates that you stayed with us are important because I would want to know why there was a line out the door. The information you provide will be used for training and clarification. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel 314-991-4900 or email at i0126@redroof.com. This is not typical behavior at our hotel.



Aquinas France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    31
    28
    16
    30
See reviews for
35
32
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

You don't go to a Red Roof Inn with a lot of expectations: the basics- a clean room with working parts, friendly thorough housekeepers, competent front desk staff. I stayed two months during a home remodeling ... room: malfunctioning bathroom light reported first week was never changed, malfunctioning room phone was immediately replaced with another malfunctioning room phone, consistent problem with spiders; housekeepers: out of the 6 I experienced, only two were thorough and friendly (Teresa & GG), others left room without fresh towels or refreshing tissue or vacuuming or dusting; front desk staff: the evening and overnight staff does not address concerns on the property whether room needs or safety issues, the problems of the day staff came to light upon checkout with "miscommunications" resulting in additional charges to my credit card a full two days after checkout based on lies. At this point I am weighing the costs of an attorney against the satisfaction of turning groups away from this property since I am in the travel and tourism business and provide hotel referrals to numerous groups travelling to the StL area. Needless to day, this RRI-Westport is on the Do Not Book list.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel ... Courtyard by Marriott, Doubletree, and LaQuinta are in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajorTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Creve Coeur hotels

Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The prices are good, the immediate area is safe, the surrounding traffic is very heavy during rush hour. It is located in a predominately business park/professional office area. There are inexpensive gas stations and several fast food nearby. It is right off the main "beltway" around St. Louis and just north of the main I64/40 right into downtown. Parking lot could use some work but rooms are clean and fresh smelling, beds good, everything in room worked, housecleaning staff friendly, front desk is efficient. Free coffee/tea available in office. Nothing fancy - it is a Red Roof. But I have chosen to stay here several years in a row, each visit for about a week.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Page Ave can be a bit noisy from traffic in the morning rush but if you just put t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here as a stopover as didn't like the look of staying in St Louis itself for what was essentially just an overnight stay, its exactly what you would expect from a Red Roof in my experience, you get what you pay for, although this was at the lower end of average.

Seemed safe enough and clean enough although there is little around it, a Gas station and Hooters at the entrance and that's about it, we walked about 1/2 mile up the road and found a Hardy's which wasn't that good to be fair.

If you are just looking for somewhere cheap to stay whilst driving through, this does the job if you don't want anything other than a room for the night

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HantsFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph mo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The place needs a lot of TLC! The parking lot is bad! We thought we might get robbed because people where just standing around watching people! So if you go outside at night be very careful. I had my 1911 with me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquinas_F, Manager at Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Kevin,

I do apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. However, I would like to note that we are in the safest area in St. Louis County and that we do have Maryland Heights police department to canvass our property just for the safety of our guest! This location has never been robbed and you will not find a report of any such crimes. Also I would like to point out that you stayed during Labor Day weekend and that our hotel was completely full. With that being said it is likely that you would see guest standing around in the parking lot. Hopefully you will consider staying with us again seeing that your only issue noted was being suspicious of guest in parking lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

not much in the way of chain restaurants nearby. there is a hooters in the same parking lot
rooms not bad, pets stay free, no breakfast, laundry room dirty but machines were clean and cheap. No pool
front desk makes an effort to overcharge so make sure to find your best deal online here.
overall not bad place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We reserved a non-smoking room weeks in advance. What we got was clearly a smoking room and the sink was clogged. We switched rooms. Again, clearly not a non-smoking room. Very uncomfortable trying to sleep with ash-tray air. Carpets were also dirty. There is no elevator. Not a pleasant experience at all.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the first floor if stairs will be an issue for you. Non-smoking doesn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vierosos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creve Coeur
0.4 mi away
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
#5 of 17 in Maryland Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. L...
#1 of 17 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Airport St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis Westport
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#2 of 17 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Westport
Comfort Inn Westport
#7 of 17 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport

Property: Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport
Address: 11837 Lackland Rd, Creve Coeur, Saint Louis, MO 63146-4205
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Creve Coeur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Creve Coeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport Hotel Creve Coeur
Red Roof Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport Saint Louis, MO - Creve Coeur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing