We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and cheap, but not the cleanest, and service was iffy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Creve Coeur
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here the week before Memorial Day to visit family. We chose Red Roof because they do not charge a pet fee and we like to travel with our dog, and because this place was fairly well-rated on TripAdvisor. Overall, the room was quiet and comfortable, and the price was very reasonable, but we did have a few odd service issues.

When we first checked in, there was no "Do Not Disturb" sign in our room. There was also only a tiny end-roll of toilet paper...we ended up having to use the complimentary travel pack of kleenex. The next morning, my husband went to the front desk to ask for a DND sign and TP. He got the TP, but as for the sign, the gentleman at the front desk said only “We don't have any.” When we returned later that evening, there was a DND sign stuck under the mat in front of the door. I don't know why he couldn't have just said, “Ok, we don't have any here, but I'll have someone drop one by your room.”

Our room was not serviced that first day (no dog in the room, we had taken her along with us to visit family). The back of the DND sign we had received was green and said something like “Please Service Room Now”. So I assume the housekeeping staff must not clean a room if it does not have the green sign out? We had no problems with housekeeping the rest of the trip once we had the sign. Though I should note, the housekeeping is not exactly thorough. When we first arrived, there was a thick layer of dust with fingerprints on top of our TV, a random dried bit of unidentifiable crud on the bathroom doorframe, and a fast food cup and a wadded up ball of paper under the bed. All were still there upon checkout. Housekeeping did make the bed, take out the trash, vacuum the floor, and bring new towels, but I don't think they do much else.

The room keys they issue are not the usual magnetic card style found at most other places. The key looks basically like a computer chip on a key ring. Somehow our key managed to deactivate itself twice during our stay. The first time, my husband took it to the front desk and was given a new one. The second time was just a couple hours before we were checking out, so we didn't bother, but it did make it annoying to load our suitcases back into the car, as someone had to stay in the room at all times to let the other person back in.

We were initially attracted here away from our usual pet-friendly chain because of the lack of a pet fee (they are otherwise the same price), but I think for future visits, we will either just pay the extra at our usual place, or keep looking for somewhere else altogether.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 152 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Overall I am pleased with my stay at Red Roof Inn Westport. The room was clean. The carpet, paint, furnishings were in good condition. AC is the though-the-wall type and was therefor somewhat noisy when it kicked on. Room opens directly to outside so that curtains have to be kept shut at all times if you hope to have any privacy; result: no natural light. TV has two HBO channels in addition to the usual. I was disappointed that it carried Fox News but did not provide the counterbalance of MSNBC. Not all of the Red Roof Inn guests are extreme right-wingers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This motel is clean, in a wonderful location, just off the interstate. It's a basic place to stay but I have never had a complaint and I've stayed here many, many times. There are all kinds of food choices near by. It may not be fancy but I am only looking for clean place to stay the night usually and this property fills the bill. It's priced right and I stay here ever time I come to St Louis.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed because of the price and to be honest we were not let down. The only thing really wrong is the internet ran slow. There was no pool :(

Room Tip: We took the "upgrade" so we could have a microwave, refridgerator, & extra work space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sashadog24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Was not sure of quality of hotel for the low price but was very satisified!! Staff was very accommodating and room was very clean and comfortable. Stayed for 3 days and will stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Get the superior king, lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

There were bed bugs in our bed. The hotel did not give us our money back. They did not even come to the room to look. They said the pest contol will check it out next week. I bet they rent out the room tonight.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HannahK144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Friendly service, close to everything, always helpful! Great room, no smell, Definately recommend to anyone and everyone! Would definately stay longer next time !!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creve Coeur
0.4 mi away
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
#7 of 18 in Maryland Heights
892 reviews
16.8 mi away
Best Western St. Louis Inn
Best Western St. Louis Inn
#1 of 1 in Tesson Ferry
851 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quality Inn Florissant
Quality Inn Florissant
#1 of 3 in Florissant
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis Westport
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#1 of 18 in Maryland Heights
672 reviews
3.8 mi away
Super 8 St. Louis Airport
Super 8 St. Louis Airport
#9 of 12 in Berkeley
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport

Address: 11837 Lackland Rd, Creve Coeur, Saint Louis, MO 63146-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Creve Coeur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Creve Coeur
Price Range: $53 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport Hotel Creve Coeur
Red Roof Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport Saint Louis, MO - Creve Coeur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing