We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place in Galway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carraig B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carraig B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballindooley B&B and Inns
Montpellier, France
1 review
“A lovely place in Galway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Located near to the city Center of Galway, Carraig B&B is a really quiet and nice place to spend some days in Galway. The owner, Mary, will welcome you warmly and will give you good advices on places to visit nearby. The room is very clean. Try her Irish breakfast you won't be disappointed, because it's delicious and hearty. You will also have a really nice view on the Irish countryside. From the bus station it takes less than 10 min to go there by car or bus. And a bus stop is located less than 5 minutes walk from the Carraig B & B. So we highly recommend this B & B.

Audrey and Visseth, a very happy couple spending 2 days there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visseth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
52
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Me and my wife to be spent New Year's Eve in this fabulous b&b in the heart of Ballindooley. The land lady Mary made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. This cute little bungalow was empicable and very homely. I would definitely recommend this b&b to all ages. Thanks again Mary from Caolán & Shauna. P.s sorry it's late Mary, couldn't afford the Internet bill with this woman!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CT12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed one night in this fantastic place!
We found the B & B at the last minute and the owner was very kind and very helpful :)
The B & B is located 10 minutes by car from the city center, it is a very quiet place, excellent for recovering strength!
The rooms are very comfortables and clean, the breakfast abundant and the owner is really really nice!

If you're in the area go there :)
Alessandro

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlessandroWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We arrived weary and tired at 8 am in the morning when we were scheduled to arrive at 2pm. We were kindly welcomed regardless of being so early. The owner even offered us breakfast and when we said we we had already eaten, she still ran to the market to buy us scones with jam and butter. It was so thoughtful.

The room was beautiful, with wooden floors and very comfortable beds. The entire place is adorable and completely spotless. It is located in beautiful farmlands and the view is spectacular.

The breakfast was delicious , and the dining room is very nice and overlooks a beautiful Irish countryside.

Overall, our stay was amazing. The host was very kind and genuine, and also so very helpful with our many, many questions. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a true Irish countryside experience !!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haleigh520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Sun shines from east onto breakfast table, nicest coffee, bright warm room, every detail looked after and Mary (landlady) very obliging and helpful like all good Galway women. When did you last have Ferrero Rocher with coffee in your bedroom - we did. We stayed during busy Christmas period to attend wedding (Mary dropped us at caste nearby - no bother - nice woman)

Room Tip: There is one big room with three beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_C2013476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Ideal for shopping and sightseeing the Carraig B & B, is only 5 minutes' drive from the city centre.It's also 2 minutes drive to Cloonacauneen Castle a beautiful 15th century Norman castle where you can have a quiet drink. Comfy ,warm and friendly-Home from Home. Love it.
Brigid.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our host Mary was wonderful and very helpful, she gave us a very warm welcome.
Accommodation was great, room was large, spotless and comfortable.
Breakfast was huge and delicious. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays_Trips_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballindooley
2.1 mi away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#17 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
2.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carraig B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carraig B&B

Property: Carraig B&B
Address: Ballindooley,Headford rd. | Galway, Ballindooley, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Ballindooley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballindooley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carraig Bed and Breakfast is the ideal base to start exploring Galway City, Cong, Connemara the Cliffs of MOHER and the Burren. The bed and breakfast is conveniently located just a stones throw from the Galway Race Course and Greyhound Stadium.This charming B&B is situated in a tranquil setting and is located just off the Headford Road (N84) and Tuam Road (N17), just 7 minutes drive from Galway City Centre.Complimentary Tea / Coffee is provided upon your arrival and a Full Irish / Continental Breakfast is available each morning. A WARM WELCOME ALWAYS AWAITS YOU AT CARRAIG B/B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Carraig B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing