We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service second to none”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wirragulla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriageway Crooks Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Wirragulla B&B and Inns
Maitland
1 review
“Service second to none”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My partner and I come here when we need a night away. I'm not sure how many times we have stayed here, but we keep coming back the restaurant is lovely the food delicious and Jo is an absolute doll. You feel as though you are visiting an old friend. Nothing is a problem for Jo and she makes you feel so welcome. Thank you Jo for being your lovely self.

Tracey & Scott

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trace013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline A, Manager at Carriageway Crooks Park, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Tracey and Scott
Thank you for your lovely feedback on Carriageway Crooks Park and our Jo-Anne. Your kind comments will be passed on, and I am sure it will make Jo’s day. We look forward to having you back with us again in the future.
Regards
Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Booked for 2 nights, it was fine weather. Arrived, it rained, went to town, still Raining, had lunch with a side dish of rain, Food was great. Back to the Flyer, had a 6 pack, watched a couple of movies.
Sounds like we are complaining? Not at all, the carriage is set out very well, I am quite a large man (175kg) I had heaps of room in all areas, very comfortable for couples or a family, unfortunately for personal reasons we could not stay the second night, I rang Jacqueline to let her know we were vacating the carriage early, to my surprise they gave us a 50% discount off the second night, How fairer can you get than that?? Proves to us they care for their guests.
We will be Back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline A, Manager at Carriageway Crooks Park, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Neville
We are glad you enjoyed your night Flyer and were sorry to hear you had to head home early, but we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in one of the converted carriages (Flyer) with our 3yr old and 6 yr old. Our boy was in heaven, especially with the frequent trains passing under the bridge on the property. Staff were very friendly. Pool was very well used by us on hot afternoons and located just across from the carriages.
Kids had fun checking for eggs in the chook pen, patting the horse and looking at the cows and goats. Marmalade the friendly resident cat was a big hit too.
Air con worked well to cool the carriage which really heats up during the day. Be warned there is no door on the kids bunk room, which is right next to the TV in the lounge, and you have to pass through here to get to the bathroom at one end. We don't generally watch TV on holidays so it didn't bother us reading up the other end of the carriage at kiddy bed time, instead.
Linen and towels provided were clean and soaps also provided. Beds very comfortable.
Breakfast basket for Friday & Sat night bookings are extremely well stocked. Fruit, yoghurt, cereals, bread, raison bread, croissants, milk and juice meant we could have 2 breakfasts on one day!
There are no hotplates or grill/oven, and we ended up buying a large microwave proof bowl with lid (which should really be provided if they aren't going to provide a hotplate) from the IGA in Dungog to be able to cook our pasta. The old wood fire BBQ was used by us, but a tip is to line it with Al foil to avoid the rust on the weathered plate. They do provide a gas BBQ over near the pool except you can't use on Sat nights as the restaurant is open.
We couldn't afford the set menu at the restaurant ($50 per adult) and our daughter has food allergies so we ate out at the Flying Duck at Vacy one night instead.
We recommend this as a great base to explore Barrington tops national park southern side, and the lovely river areas like the swimming spot at Fosterton. Plus the kids just loved the novelty train factor and semi farm stay appeal. Had a great stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Coffee_Cloud_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline A, Manager at Carriageway Crooks Park, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Carriageway and we are so pleased you had a lovely stay with your family.
We are grateful for your comment on the microwave bowls and will rectify this immediately, as all units are usually stocked with sufficient equipment to use the cooking facilities provided.
While we have a unique six course menu at Rattler’s Restaurant, our chef will be more than happy to modify dishes for dietary or food intolerances - we do hope we see you again and we would be happy to talk about how best to look after you and your family at our restaurant.
Regards
Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Dined at Rattlers in the actual train.
The Christmas menu was lovely and the atmosphere was festive. The service was well planned and the meal flowed beautifully.
Thoroughly recommend for a great dining experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamjars1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline A, Manager at Carriageway Crooks Park, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review on our Rattler’s Restaurant - it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Carriageways.

The accommodation was so unique with every effort made to create the ambiance of the inside of an old train. Loved the way most of the train details were kept intact but this did not diminish the comfort aspect at all.

The surrounds were gorgeous and we even woke up to mystical fog shrouding the hills in the morning.

The food was fantastic, so beautifully presented and all the staff members were friendly and courteous.

We thought that the overall costs, which included the six course dinner and a very hearty breakfast basket, were extremely reasonable and would highly recommend this as a great place to spend a weekend.

We also liked the fact that you could stay for just one night, instead of a minimum two night stay which most of the places in that region seem to adhere to.

We will definitely be returning there in the future for another visit and most likely taking the kids with us, so that they can also share this experience.

Richard & Tracy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Fantastic accommodation amidst beautiful countryside. The crooks park homestead is our families preferred weekend retreat.
The on-site rattlers restaurant offers a tantalising degustation for a great price, Staff are friendly and professional.

This wasn't our first visit and most certainly will not be our last!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sampopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in a carriage for a couple of nights on a family adventure.
Our 6 year old was not sure where we were going, so was excited to find we’d be staying on a train!

The furniture has been updated since their photos were taken. We were pleasantly surprised to find modern furniture, rather than cane.

The carriages are very close to the pool. We had the salt water pool to ourselves and made good use of it - it was really lovely on the warm days. Take some extra towels, because if the weather is nice, you'll want to keep using it.

During our stay we made use of the pool, the playground and the paddocks for a picnic and a bit of train spotting - not quite sure what the passengers on the XPT made of us though.

There is an electric frypan and microwave available for cooking in the carriages. The outside wood BBQ had seen better days, so we did not use it. We stayed mid-week so did not get to try out the restaurant, but there were several options in nearby Dungog, and also a fairly large IGA supermarket.

Jo was very helpful and accommodating.

Nice spot to spend some quality family time in the country.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosieLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirragulla
3.5 mi away
Settlers Arms
Settlers Arms
#1 of 6 in Dungog
55 reviews
3.7 mi away
Curlew Cottage B&B
Curlew Cottage B&B
#2 of 6 in Dungog
26 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bluegums Cabins
Bluegums Cabins
#2 of 4 in Dungog
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
Show Prices

Been to Carriageway Crooks Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriageway Crooks Park

Property: Carriageway Crooks Park
Address: 4426 Clarence Town Rd, Wirragulla, Dungog, New South Wales 2420, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dungog > Wirragulla
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wirragulla
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique holiday just 7km from Dungog with a variety of accommodation styles to choose from. With on site restaurant, swimming pool, games area and petting zoo, Carriageway offers something for everyone. We can accommodate up to 55 guests in cottages, spa suites, converted carriages and a Grand Homestead. With personalised service and country charm, come and see for yourself, why guests keep returning to Carriageway Crooks Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing