We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My First Time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Columbia B&B and Inns
Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My First Time”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

As a brand guy - and a frequent business traveler who expects, needs and values the amenities of a hotel - the idea staying in a B&B was a bit concerning. Especially when traveling alone. But WOW! was I pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, comfortable and immaculate. No desk gave me pause...only until I set up shop on the coffee table using an ottoman as my chair. (Reliable WiFi made a difference.) Defying convention was liberating! And the large HDTV, a welcome diversion. Better than the accommodations, however, was the service! Breakfast selections were beyond abundant and delicious. Plus The Gathering Place is ON the MU campus...perfect for my business the following day.

Room Tip: There are only FIVE rooms; book early. Also, make your breakfast selections the night before,then ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
54
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Gathering Place is the perfect venue in all respects. Spotlessly clean rooms, attractive furnishings and perfectly placed for the University campus. Breakfast is of the highest standard - perfectly cooked with tasty ingredients. Guests are made to feel very special, which is a nice touch and very professional. The Gathering Place exceeds all expectations for a venue of this style and size.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJMEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here many times and have enjoyed it each time. The rooms are well appointed with all the amenities you would expect. The place is spotless from top to bottom. The breakfast is always very good with different selections each time we have visited. The interesting aspect is that they have college students who are in the university studying hospitality services work there for on the job experience. It is just a nice place to be!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEBXRAYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a great first stay here when I was zipping through Columbia. Convenient location on College Ave makes Mizzou campus handy. Room was very comfortable, well appointed. Breakfast was superb with a generous fresh fruit cup along with eggs, bacon, and pancakes. Deb, the innkeeper, is courteous and professional, and the student staff who help out are first rate. Excellent experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deand78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We needed a place to stay to visit our daughter for family weekend. The Gathering Place exceeded my expectations on every level. It's absolutely beautiful, our room was large and comfortable, the innkeeper was extremely friendly, and the breakfasts surpassed any other bed & breakfast I have stayed at. And it was conveniently located across from campus so we could walk to everything, saving us $20 for football parking. My only regret is that my daughter graduates this year and I only just found this place! It is delightful and I wish I found it in her freshman year.

Room Tip: I dont think there is a bad room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Gathering Place provides a great B&B setting, just across the street from Mizzou's campus. The public areas are warmly decorated and very welcoming. We were greeted with an information packet and escorted to our room. It was more a suite than a room with plenty of space for luggage, etc. When we returned from dinner, delicate chocolates awaited in the dining room. We filled out our breakfast requests from the menu in the packet. The next morning when we went downstairs to eat the table was set with eye-pleasing tableware, and in just seconds student workers appeared to welcome us to breakfast and begin serving. The fruit was cut into decorative shapes, and the yogurt, fruit, & granola parfait made a beautiful and delicious presentation. Then came the eggs (your choice), toast made from home-baked bread, and lean bacon or sausage (they make their own). We aren't coffee drinkers but others guests raved about how good it was!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Gathering Place is such a beautiful B&B. The innkeeper is a fabulous chef and trains the student staff to a T. All are very attentive, the inn is spotless and the food something to look forward to! I shouldn't be posting this cause now it might be harder for ME to book!

Room Tip: They are all unique. Haven't found one we didn't like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fk749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
0.5 mi away
The Broadway Columbia - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tiger Hotel
The Tiger Hotel
#7 of 36 in Columbia
307 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
1.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center  - Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 606 S College Ave, Columbia, MO 65201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast, housed in one of Columbia's original homes, offers a unique blend of convenience and luxury with its proximity to campus and the downtown District area, historic charm and modern amenities. Pamper yourself with spacious suites, private baths and sitting areas, free off-street parking and a gourmet breakfast, in the heart of a vibrant academic community, all steps away from the MU campus. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing