We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, everything I could have wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
West Dundee, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay, everything I could have wanted”
Reviewed June 26, 2009

My husband and I booked this hotel after learning that our Holiday Inn in Jefferson City was booked except smoking rooms. Instead of looking around in Jefferson City for somewhere else to stay we immediately booked Country Inn and Suites, despite the fact that it was another 25 minutes away.

Why? Because we know what we get. Clean, comfortable rooms. Great staff that are always helpful and a decent breakfast in the morning to get us going.

I think the hotel was just built or had recently been remodeled because it was super clean. I liked the updates with the granite in the bathroom and spacious king room. The bed was super comfy to sleep on and I looked forward to coming back to the room every night.

We did use the pool and hot-tub and both were fine (the hot tub could be warmer).

Breakfast was good. Waffles, eggs, toast, cereal basically a good mix of starters and the staff kept it clean.

I had no complaints with our stay and we will be booking this hotel again for our next stay in Jeff!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    177
    40
    15
    6
See reviews for
260
123
38
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2009

My husband was having surgery in Columbia so we chose the Country Inn and Suites on Keene St due to it's close proximity to the Boone Hospital Center on Broadway. It is also right across the street from Columbia Regional.

I called the hotel directly and asked if they offered a "medical rate" and they did..$59 per night. What an exceptional deal!

The hotel was bright and clean, really comfy beds, great complimentary breakfast..love those waffles..and the staff was so accomodating it was unbelievable. They went out of their way to do anything they could from offering me tea, coffee or fruit at midnight while I waited in the lobby for our daughter to arrive via the Mo-X shuttle from St Louis to inquiring each time they saw me if they could help me in any way! What a bunch of super people!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Columbia, MO and remember, you cannot book online and receive the medical rate..that must be a direct contact with the hotel in Columbia.

  • Liked — Beds and complimentary breakfast!
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike about my stay..everything was great!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank librarygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our way home from Colorado. This hotel is very nice. It is only about a year old. The entry way, rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Most hotels any more seem to have a nasty smell to them but this hotel had no smell. Was actually a very pretty hotel. The pool and hot tub were very well taken care of and had plenty of towels available for guests. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only problem I saw was the door to the adjoining room and a fairly large gab between the floor and the door. We used a towel to block the light from the other room and we could hear the people next door talking. The light was shining right into our room from under the door! The complimentary breakfast was wonderful! Sausage, eggs, biscuits & gravy, cereal, fruit, waffle maker, muffins, bagels, juices, milk, coffee, and several types of tea bags. Parking lot was well light. We were very pleased with our stay here and would definately stay again. Probably the nicest road side hotel we have ever stayed in! I highly recommend it!

  • Liked — Staff was very friendly, hotel beautifl, no smell, very clean
  • Disliked — Gab under the door of adjoining room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank talawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed here while visiting family in Columbia. This hotel has very comfortable beds. The entire place is exceptionally clean. The free breakfast had a good selection. Anyone could find something to eat. Staff was friendly and accomodating. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — employees smoking on front porch
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkcat527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites while in Columbia for a summer welcome program at MU. This hotel was reasonably priced, very clean and had nice beds and pillows. The bathroom was roomy and nicely done. The rooms had a refrigerator and microwave and free wireless internet access. The complimentary breakfast was better than most with waffles, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, sausage and the usual bagels, muffins,yogurt, etc. In the evening there was fresh baked cookies and fruit. The hotel has easy access to Interstate 70 and we were only a few minutes from the University of MO. There were restaurants nearby, however, I didn't pay attention to which ones since we had a meal plan provided for us with the program we were attending.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — cleanliness, great complimentary breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kcabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

This is a new property. The room was very clean. Updated beds and pillows.

  • Liked — It is new
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madisonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Great place to stay except for the noise of kids running down the halls and bouncing above us. The building may be new, but the construction is not solid enough to absorb hotel sounds. The ceiling above is thin, and the floors vibrate. If you're susceptible to noise, I'd pass this one by (or maybe get a room on the top floor). However, if noise is not a big issue for you, then it's a good value because there are many pluses. The staff is very accommodating, and the lobby is attractive with a grand staircase. The breakfast is about as good as you would normally expect (you can make your own waffles), and the eating area is small. The location is very convenient, especially to the Columbia Hospital and the bus line to downtown Columbia.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ComfortSearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#1 of 36 in Columbia
666 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbia East
Holiday Inn Columbia East
#11 of 36 in Columbia
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#9 of 36 in Columbia
313 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Address: 817 N Keene St, Columbia, MO 65201-6634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#2 Family Hotel in Columbia
#3 Business Hotel in Columbia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're a business travelers,a vacationing family, a tour group or a prospective student, you're sure to find the comfortable accommodations and ideal location you need at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia, MO. The hotel's location near Interstate 70 places you an easy drive from the downtown area's vibrant District, where you can dine and shop before a Tigers game at the University of Missouri or a bike ride along the Katy Trail. Get energized for a busy day by working out in the on-site fitness center and dining at the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet. If work brings you to the area, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access, on-site business center and event facilities. Make your reservations online today and prepare for an unforgettable stay at the Country Inn & Suites Columbia. **Please note that the pool and whirlpool will be closed from February 24 to March 6th, 2014** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia
Country Inn And Suites Columbia
Country Inn Columbia
Columbia Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing