We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal with a touch of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Cru

Grand Cru
Ranked #118 of 383 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: City busing stops less than a block from our establishment.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great meal with a touch of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The restaurant sits back off the road a bit but once inside, worth the turn around. There is a great story associated to their solid oak bar which deserves to be read. A good assortment of local beers on tap and a well-stocked bar. My meal consisted of the filet with potatoes and asparagus - it looked like a snapshot from a classy food magazine. While some say that presentation is everything, the quality and taste of the food wins me over. Great meal, good atmosphere - what more to you want?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GOVtravelerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    13
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the must avoids in Columbia”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have eaten at Grand Cru on 3 different occations. One occation was ok. Second time was pretty bad, and third time was outright terrible. I have experienced some of the worst service I have ever encountered in Columbia at this establishment. Once waited 30 minutes for a chicken pasta dish in which they forgot to put any chicken in the dish. Then after an amount of time in which I can only assume they drove to a farm, caught and killed a chicken and then prepared it before returning to the table with a cold chicken pasta dish an no apology. the people in my group thought their food was average and way overpriced. If you are looking for a nice meal in Columbia avoid this place and go to CC's, Sophias, or McKenzies Prime.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTraveller1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“There are better in the area for less money and better value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a fine dining restaurant with an exceptional menu the appetizers were all very good with the escargo some of the best the brie salad was outstsnding stea ks are large and tasty took too long to be served they made good by comping one of our deserts good place to go but recommend Das Steinhaus in Jefferson City for best in the area recommend Jscks for fine dining in Columbia

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Thanksgiving disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Food was fine in taste and appearance. But we were stuck in a back corner and mostly ignored by the waitstaff, who were huddled around a TV. The game, I guess, was more important than pleasing the customers. We are not eager to return. Overrated.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Finke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice night out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a ery fine restaurant. I enjoy lamb and don't always see it on a menu. They do a fine job with all red meat and the fish for surf n turf will surprise you for how good it can be in the midwest. Very nice place, good service....stop by their smoke shop for fine liquor and cigars......one of my favorite restaurants.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Cru also viewed

 

Been to Grand Cru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing