We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to its legacy”

Shakespeare's Pizza Downtown
Ranked #2 of 385 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Knoxville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lived up to its legacy”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pizza and atmosphere are great. A must visit if in Columbia! We were there to visit Mizzou for my son. It was,quick and delicious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank turtleNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    185
    64
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is the best pizza ever (and I lived in Chicago for 12 years). My husband, a Chicago native, agrees. Get it with pepper cheese. It really makes the pie! Fun family-friendly, but still college cool atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertiemcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazingly good”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Cant Bealieve that I had one of the best Pizza in Columbia, MO
It was an accident, I just stop there because my boss asked me to get hima a T-shirt from this place, after that request I felt like I had to give it a try at least, and yes it was surprisingly good.
I got the meat lovers personal Pizza and it was really good.
Great place, clean and the service is excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank netmcg00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Mizzou tradition”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Best pizza in Columbia if you are dining in. Atmophere can be loud and chaotic but that is part of what makes this place what it is. Never had good luck with carryout, as the crust always seems to be overdone. I think the have realized this and now offer half baked pizzas which you can take home and finish baking and this have always turned out well. I agree with previous reviewer that the Tarkio farm girl is one of the best pizzas ever. Can't go wrong with Shakespeare's.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I travel cross country for this pizza”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Sad but true. It's a necessity at least 3 times a year. If I still lived in Columbia it would be a necessity 3 times a week. Tarkio farm girl for you meat lovers, veggie slices at lunch for the rest. Oh and the Canadian bacon is right up there too.

Great selection of beers, voted best college hangout. You can't go wrong. And don't worry about waiting an hour for a pizza if its busy. Everyone else is waiting an hour too and knows its well worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargoLuvsTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakespeare's Pizza Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Shakespeare's Pizza Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing