We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Respite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flat Branch Pub & Brewing

Flat Branch Pub & Brewing
Ranked #4 of 383 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gold Medal winner for Best Overall Restaurant the last six years, Inside Columbia Magazine Best of Columbia readers poll! Flat Branch Pub & Brewing opened its doors on April 18, 1994 in historic downtown Columbia Missouri. The pub gets its name from a nearby creek which was the water source for Columbia's first settlers. Flat Branch was Columbia's first brewery since 1841. The pub occupies a 1927 brick warehouse with a curved, barrel-trussed roof that was once a Hudson car dealership. We offer a diverse menu as well as award-winning hand-crafted beers on tap. Enjoy your stay in the upscale industrial setting of our restaurant, on our spacious outdoor patio, or belly up to Columbia's largest bar. Our fresh handmade food compliments our brews while still being delicious enough to stand on its own. Try traditional pub favorites like Catfish and Chips or Bratwurst and Kraut, or perhaps our signature Charbroiled Romaine Salad. Enjoy your meal with our in-house baked breads and desserts. After dinner, sip one of our many single malt scotches or small batch bourbons may be just the thing to wrap up an excellent evening. The managers and staff at Flat Branch Pub & Brewing are committed to providing the best food, beer, service and value in the Midwest.
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Nice Respite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was a really enjoyable break for a late lunch on a snowy day. Granted, there was a considerable wait to be seated, but we were a fairly large group and it was graduation weekend. The wait was understandable and the manager was very considerate in his treatment of our party. Food was delicious, beer was refreshing, and our waitress was handling us pretty well. Our party had to be divided among two tables because another large group was extremely slow with their departure following their meal. People seem to like lingering at their table, unconcerned about others waiting for a seat. I would definitely recommend this eatery to all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rufus318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    225
    53
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MO
Level Contributor
142 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Have I mentioned, "I love Flat Branch."

It's always a good, fresh meal. No matter what you order, the flavor is great. I doesn't hurt that pumpkin ale or green chile beer are available.

I was asked if this is one of the best meals I've ever had. No, but it is consistently bumping the margin up.

If you haven't been here...your loss.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cte39794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing food - we'll pass next time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Visited at dinner time with my college-age daughter. Tomato bisque tasted like pizza sauce, crab cakes were completely disappointing, and artichoke dip was mostly cheese.
We had heard good things about this place, and will take it off our list of places to try again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely Going Back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Visited during the dinner hour, glad we got there before five. The food was delicious and the service was good and the wait staff helpful. I ordered the smoked salmon pasta and the pretzel with spinach dip for an appetizer. Others ordered different pizzas and made comments about being the best pizza they had ever had. The salmon was very good, the only downside was the garlic toast was a little too greasy. The oil change stout was also very good, if you like stouts. The pretzel and dip stole the show.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great beer and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We always try to seek out brew pubs when we travel so we can sample different beers, plus brewpubs usually have great food. Flat Branch did not disappoint! Although it was a Monday night, the place was crowded with a long wait. Fortunately, there were a few seats at the bar - which is where we normally like to sit anyway. We both had the Baltic Porter was extremely smooth and very good. For dinner, my husband ordered the cajun pasta, and although spicy for me, he would have liked it to have more of a kick. I had the chicken club which came on foccacia bread with mashed potatoes - a very satisfying meal. For dessert, we ordered the stout brownie sundae - the vanilla ice cream was outstanding. The atmosphere was friendly and inviting and the locals made us feel welcome. We would definitely return there when passing through Columbia.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lahord59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flat Branch Pub & Brewing also viewed

 

Been to Flat Branch Pub & Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing