We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-polished Tiger Hotel!”
Review of The Tiger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tiger Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Tiger Hotel has never looked better! The room renovations are top notch ... Every inch has been redone with great quality finishes. The Vault is a great place to begin or end your evening and The Coffee Shop's breakfast is excellent. Great staff! Love to see another classic Downtown brand get revived and shine!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuck n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 328 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Tiger is a beautiful hotel, offering modern touches in a historic hotel. We had a large group staying for the wedding and even with a few glitches...service remained on par. Michael did an excellent job in following up with us and that is appreciated in any business. We booked a suite, which was lovely and the extra space for gathering was convenient. We enjoyed a private Sunday brunch with family and friends and Samantha did a great job in coordinating for us in the black and gold room. Brunch offerings were varied and delish! Don't miss the bar downstairs or the cupcakes in the bakery off the hotel entrance. Awesome photos on the steps. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Any of the room choices provide a special experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midwsttrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

First and foremost, if you're going to come to Columbia, stay at the Tiger. The location is the best in town since it's in the middle of downtown with all the best restaurants, bars, and the Mizzou campus, within walking distance. Inside, the hotel was absolutely gorgeous. I loved the fact they kept the old lamps from when the hotel was built in the twenties, especially in the large ballroom they have. At the same time, I was really impressed though that the rooms were very modern, we especially had too much fun playing with the electric blinds. The bathrooms were also huge and very, very nice. The atmosphere really can't be beat, you feel like you're really visiting somewhere special in Columbia, but also staying somewhere really fun.

That being said, they don't have a pool, but they do have a gym and great quick room service. We ate lunch at the cafe attached to the hotel, called the Velvet Cupcake, and it was delicious. The cafe is called the Velvet Cupcake because of the huge and amazing cupcakes they specialize in. We were sure to each get a different flavor of cupcake and taste many different ones. My favorite was definitely the tiramisu, although admittedly the red velvet was great too.

The staff was also very nice and friendly. I was relieved to find they had valet service, so no looking for a parking spot downtown.

All in all, I really enjoyed this hotel. It just can't be beat in Columbia, and I know this from experience. I'm looking forward to when I get to come back (and try more cupcakes of course).

Room Tip: The rooms at the very top on the 9th floor have the most spectacular views of Columbia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyLynnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Unfortunately we only were able to spend one night at The Tiger Hotel. What a great old hotel downtown Columbia, MO. The hotel was built in 1928, but all the room have very recently been completely renovated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful. Loved everything about it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vbayliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Tiger Hotel is in a great location for visiting University and the uptown area of Columbia, all within easy walking distance. The room we stayed in was on the top floor and very quiet. Although on the pricey side, I would stay there again. Valet parking is in a garage across the street. Staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.

The coffee shop on the ground floor is small and the pastry and coffee we had for breakfast was only so-so. Skip it and find something else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTravelinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Recently stayed at the Tiger and can't say enough about the experience. The location is perfect whether visiting campus or staying for business purposes. You can actually park your car and walk to just about anywhere you want to go. Shopping, restaurants and nite life are all a few steps away. The staff and management made every moment special and really made us feel As if we were the only guest. The accommodations were excellent and I would compare our room to some of the suites we frequent in Las Vegas. The view was excellent and look forward to visiting after the new restaurant opens in October.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I typically stay at the x or z chain to get the points but I often make an exception in this town and stay at the Tiger. You can walk to most of the better places to eat or even to campus. Parking is on the street to or valet but I always find a spot very close. There is also a bar/restaurant on premise that is quite good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XSmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Columbia - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#1 of 36 in Columbia
737 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
2.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center  - Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiger Hotel

Address: 23 S 8th St, Columbia, MO 65201-4811
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: $141 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tiger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Hotel is a newly renovated, 4 star luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Columbia, just steps from the university campus and within walking distance to many bars, restaurants and entertainment venues. At The Tiger Hotel we pride ourselves on creating the best guest experience possible, this includes valet parking, Molton Brown amenities, deep soaker tubs, high thread count bedding, digital housekeeping signs, automatic blinds, room service until midnight and much more.We welcome you to experience what luxury feels like at The Tiger Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tiger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing