We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The boutique hotel in Columbia.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tiger Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tiger Hotel
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The boutique hotel in Columbia.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here shortly after the hotel opened its first three floors. I went by the hotel about three weeks later and two more floors were open. I had advance reservations at another hotel that I couldn't change or I would have stayed again. They are doing a great renovation of an old hotel. It's in the middle of downtown Columbia, two blocks from the University's School of Journalism. The south side rooms of the hotel have a beautiful view of the Columns and Jesse Hall. The rooms are large, modern and very comfortable. The tub in the bathroom was almost big enough to take a swim! The decor reminded me of a W Hotel. Many restaurants and Broadway Street shopping are within a block. Have a cupcake in the gourmet cupcake/coffee bar on the first floor. The cupcakes are made at the hotel and are really good. Rooms are a bit pricey for a college town hotel, but the quality of the rooms and convenience to the university are head over heels better than the chain hotel options.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room that looks to the south to have a view of the university and Jesse Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike_janssen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    37
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
92
65
15
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were there for a wedding. The wedding and reception were in the ballroom at the hotel. I would recommend this space for any occasion. Elegant enough for a formal event yet still has a very cozy feel. The rooms are loaded with modern amenities including black out curtains that are controlled by a switch next to the beds. This is not a “cookie cutter” hotel. The building has lots of character in the architecture which adds to the best view of Columbia. The staff did an amazing job taking care of the wedding party and family members of the bride and groom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We were in town for a concert at the blue note and everything was top notch. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was very professional. Our room was very nice and modern. The hotel bar was cool and the bartender was able to answer all of our tourist questions. This hotel reminds me of the upscale hotels in downtown Chicago without the downtown prices. I can't say enough good things about this place. Some of the other reviews are correct the blinds do not keep out all the morning light but we were not trying to sleep till noon. The construction did start at 9am but it was not obnoxious and the parking was not that big of a deal. This is an excellent place to stay don't pass it up.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyinstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Having stayed in multiple hotels in Columbia during our daughter's 3 1/2 years there (Yes, she graduated early!) the Tiger Hotel is now my #1 choice when I return for homecoming or any other reason. It ranks at the top in every major category. The hotel itself is beautifully restored and classy, as opposed to ordinary-- yet at a reasonable price. Service was also terrific! Thanks to MJ and other staff who were friendly and always eager to help in every way possible. The location is unbeatable--an easy walk to campus but downtown so that various restaurants, shopping, etc are also very nearby. The hotel also has a nice bar and restaurant (The Vault) located downstairs with a varied menu and great drinks, as well as The Velvet Cupcake, which features tasty sweets, breakfast, and lunch.

I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite and loved it. The additional area with flat screen tv and sofa sleeper is grea...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cocoa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just spent time at the Tiger Hotel. We were first assigned (had made reservations weeks ahead) to a room that had obviously not been cleaned. It then took the clerk ten minutes to assign another room although he said we were the only ones in the hotel. The renovation made elevators slow and shared with the constructors. The hotel will be wonderful when all the construction is finished and the staff is able to complete their responsibilites in an orderly fashion. Great locale but would definitely wait until all the construction is complete before booking. It will be worth the wait. Rooms are average size/ bathroom is huge and probably overstated. They should have used the time and money to better design the bed area rather than such concentration on the bathroom facilities. Gorgeous lobby and architectural designs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank screen521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

great location. No blackout curtains so it's like sleeping on the sun. vacuuming started above us at 8am. in bed right now at 10am and the noise won't stop. dirty pillow. forgot half my room service order. I'm more tired than before I got here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashgordon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Service at this small boutique hotel was some of the best I have seen anywhere. Michael and nancy went above and beyond to make all my wishes come true. Thank you both for showing me that there is still first class service with a smile!!! God Bless you both . And as Arnold would say!! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisakillian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Columbia - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#2 of 35 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
2.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center  - Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiger Hotel

Property: The Tiger Hotel
Address: 23 S 8th St, Columbia, MO 65201-4811
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tiger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Hotel is a newly renovated, 4 star luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Columbia, just steps from the university campus and within walking distance to many bars, restaurants and entertainment venues. At The Tiger Hotel we pride ourselves on creating the best guest experience possible, this includes valet parking, Molton Brown amenities, deep soaker tubs, high thread count bedding, digital housekeeping signs, automatic blinds, room service until midnight and much more.We welcome you to experience what luxury feels like at The Tiger Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Tiger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing