We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!”
Review of Royal Inn Columbia

Royal Inn Columbia
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Inn Columbia
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Ok so I would like to start by saying I never review places and am typically the type of person to suck it up and deal with it, so please take the fact that I am taking the time to write a review as a warning.
I was traveling with my 4 year old daughter and it was 12:30 in the morning. I needed to stop and get some rest. I wanted a hotel with close access to I-70 and someone told me this place had decent rates so I thought why not. I wasn't looking for the frills just a place to lay my head. The pictures of the lobby are completely inaccurate. Its now a tiny room you walk into and talk to the guy from behind glass. I paid for my room and he gave me a key.
We made our way around to our room and went to unlock our door. There was a NAKED woman on the bed who jumped up and slammed the door! I couldn't make this up! I was shocked..my little girl was shocked! I called the front desk and told them. I told him that I was going to come back to the office and he insisted he would come to me. I waited by my car and watched as he went to the room and knocked until naked lady answered. They talked for a bit which I thought was too friendly and strange, and then he came to me and said he was sorry and gave me a new key to the room right next to her! I went inside and things continued to get worse.
I now didn't feel safe at all..who's to say someone wouldn't walk into my room! The door deadbolt took a lot of fiddling but I finally got it to lock. The walls are paper thin (I could hear naked woman next door on the phone) The carpet was disgusting and filthy. There was cigarette burns in the comforter in this "non smoking room". There was a wad of toilet paper in the toilet. The furniture was worn and old. I cant speak for the comfort of the bed because I didn't lay down.
We collected our things and went back around to the office. I told him I couldn't stay there and I would like to be refunded my money paid. He seriously asked me if there was a problem. I reminded him of naked lady and said who's to say that won't happen to me and that I didn't feel safe especially with my child with me. He told me it was his mix up and it wouldn't happen again but I told him I wanted to leave. I was given my refund and we moved on. Take a warning..do yourself a favor and pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OneTiredMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    7
    3
    9
See reviews for
4
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I am a frequent traveler and I understand the service differences between 1 star and 5 star hotels. It is unfortunate that our new house was delayed on when we could move in, forcing us to get a hotel room on the busiest weekend in Columbia, graduation weekend. The nice hotels were completely sold out and my fiance found Royal Inn. We have an infant daughter and requested a non smoking room. When we got to the room the smell of smoke was so heavy it almost made my fiance whom smokes himself, sick. We had paid for three nights and decided we would wait till morning and see if we could switch rooms. There was nothing open so we stayed and aired it out best we could. We got no houskeeping the entire stay until the day we were checking out we got asked at 9 am if we were leaving yet by houskeeping because he wanted to clean the room. My fiance was very upset that it wasnt even check out and they were bothering us to leave. We looked around town and tried to find another place to stay but every where we went they had no rooms. I went to work and my fiance decided he would try again. The Royal Inn was the only place available and we had no where else to go. They had one smoking room available and nothing else. Well considering our other room was non smoking and it reeked like an ashtray we took it. We had another three night stay since our house wasnt ready till the next week and after sunday we could leave to another hotel. The room was nicer and less smoke smelling. They had one towel per room. No hair dryer like they advertise on the website, no iron. The soap is a joke. The first morning we were woken up by housekeeping at 945 am, with a infant sleeping feet from the door they asked three times to the point we had to scream no no NO! Causing her to start crying. I was very upset and went to the front office he did nothing just stood there and told me to come back at three. The highway does not help the noise but random people calling our room, knocking on our door, and to be woken up the second day by someone right outside our door 7am talking laughing and shouting as we are trying to sleep. I asked them nicely to get away from my door I was sleeping and I did not want them to wake my child. They scuffed and went about five feet away, still able to hear them, my fiance called the front desk. Nothing changed so he went to the office. Asking that we get our money back and they tell us to switch rooms. They charged us extra for more than one person in the room, they have terrible customer service and are by far the worst place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoore1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The room was adequate. The staff friendly. The location was a bit tricky to find at first but worked out okay. The negative was that the entire non-smoking floor reeked. The room not so much, but you could still get a whiff of that stale smoke smell.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank epointguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I got this for $50 on Priceline, and that was the advertised price outside when we pulled up. We just needed a place to sleep after MU beat Texas A&M to become SEC East Champs. For that purpose, it worked just fine.

Pros:
* Clean
* Shower + tub (though I didn't use it)
* Cable TV
* Well-lit parking lot
* Right off I-70

Cons:
* Was obviously a previously smoking room turned non-smoking. I hate that smell but was able to endure it for the 8 hours that we spent sleeping there.
* When I booked it, it said two queen beds, but it was only one queen bed (Room 219)
* You can kinda here the people in the next room.
* Our heater would emit this whine about 2 minutes after turning it on so we kept it off all night.
* The pictures provided by the company on this page are not accurate - I wish I had taken some.

For $50, it was perfect for us since we weren't going to be in there long. If I expected to spend any time in it, I would probably book somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't take Room 219 if you want to use the heater. Bring hand soap as the bar soap they provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 562gingerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A great location with friendly and helpful employees and decent although dated rooms. This is a three story property with exterior entrances and an elevator. The rooms have tubs and not just a shower as some of the Motel 6's. The parking is ample, clean and well lighted. Lots of restaurants in close proximity including a Red Lobster next door.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room to the rear-away from the highway and a lower floor if possible as this can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden id.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We used this motel on our trip back east. It is centerly located next to I-90, but is not as easy to access as some other motels. The service was good but they do not have any breakfast that is so common in the market today. The room was clean and it was very quiet that night. I would stop there again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJBHAYDENID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

First of all, the profile picture of this hotel is wrong. This hotel is a single, 3 story building. It is as disgusting looking though. The only reason we stayed here was because it was the last hotel room available for a Missouri football game. Our rate was $79 for the Saturday night. We weren't in the hotel other than to sleep. When we arrived, the lady that helped us was nice, but it was her 2nd day. She was obviously overwhelmed and not 100% sure what she was doing. Her manager was also there helping. She was also relatively nice but extremely frazzled. She was on the phone talking to a customer, checking in another customer, and helping her front desk agent who was new all at the same time. When we were told our room wasn't ready (we did arrive early, so this was understandable), they recommended we go get a drink. Presumably, this was so our sense of smell and sight wouldn't be at 100% when we saw the hotel room. We passed and went to a Starbucks for a coffee. The room was ready about an hour later. When we returned to pickup our keys and go to our room, it was exactly as you would probably imagine. Small, bare, and smelled bad. I can say that this room is better than the Days Inn next to it because I have also had the unfortunate pleasure of staying there. The room served its purpose. Nothing was stolen from the room. We were alive the next day when we woke up. We didn't have bed bug bites or catch any communicable diseases (that we know of).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Stadium Blvd.
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn Columbia Stadium Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#8 of 36 in Columbia
313 reviews
4.0 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn Columbia

Property: Royal Inn Columbia
Address: 1800 Interstate 70 Dr SW, I-70 at Exit #124/Stadium Blvd, Columbia, MO 65203-1032 (Formerly Motel 6 Columbia)
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Inn Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Inn is located minutes from University of Missouri, Columbia College and Stephens College and offers comfortable accommodations at affordable rates. This Columbia, MO hotel features spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi. Air conditioning and a cable TV are standard in every simple room at the Royal Inn. All rooms include a private bathroom with hairdryer and are warmly decorated with carpeted floors. A 24-hour reception and a business centre are offered at the Royal Inn. Parking is free on-site. Our staff is professional, friendly, knowledgeable, and courteous. It is our goal to ensure that each one of our guests enjoys gracious hospitality and excellent service. read more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing