We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Okay, but not quite up to Staybridge standards” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Okay, but not quite up to Staybridge standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We’re big Staybridge fans, and usually seek them out when we travel because of their great combination of value and convenience. This one has the comfortable beds and most of the amenities that we’ve come to expect, including a very nice pool, an exercise room, and free laundry. However, it has a few problems that we haven’t encountered in a Staybridge before.

First: The only towel racks in our bathroom are right over the toilet. This is not the only time we’ve encountered this in a hotel – but it’s still a disaster waiting to happen. There are no towel racks over the sink, so the only other place to hang towels is on the hook behind the door.

Second: While it’s nice to have a sofa in a king studio suite, it’s no replacement for an actual work space. There’s a single small L-shaped table between the kitchen and living area that’s barely big enough for either eating or working. And, since there’s no ceiling light over it, some of its limited space is taken up by a desk lamp. This is a challenge when you need to get a significant amount of work done in your hotel room, and are planning to eat lunch at your desk. This is why we booked a room in a hotel that has kitchenettes – we wanted to be able to eat in the room while working. Given the available space, we’d much rather have a real desk and a real table than a sofa.

Third: It’s not really a problem that the breakfast buffet is smaller than any we’ve ever encountered in a Staybridge. It is a problem that the food isn’t really up to par. We went to breakfast at 9 AM on a Saturday, an hour and a half before the buffet closes on a weekend, and found that the oatmeal had been allowed to dry out in the pot. The biscuits and muffins seemed to have been baked and/or unwrapped on the previous day. The only fruit available was a limp fruit salad. Hot food and coffee were good, but this is also the first Staybridge we’ve seen where coffee wasn’t available in the lobby all day.

So, we rate it “average”. Not bad, but not what we’d expect from Staybridge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scolopendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed that we are not like other Staybridges. We strive to make our Staybridge as unique and wonderful as other Staybridges. I am glad to hear that you had a nice stay and hope that you will visit us again. We have been in the process of re-modeling many areas of our hotel and hope to see the changes to the breakfast/social bar in the coming year. Thank you for chosing to stay with us and we certainly hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    40
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
61
20
8
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sabetha, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed on Halloween night at the Staybridge in Columbia. It was our first stay at this particular chain and we were VERY impressed! The staff was incredible and very caring to be sure. We want to especially thank Patrick at the front desk who really helped my wife who needed a special food item. They all went out of their way to make our stay exceptional. We especially enjoyed the free food and beverages and the great breakfast spread. The room was very nice, very clean with a jacuzzi tub no less. Nothing but great things to say about the place..thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hillcity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you from the entire Staybridge Suites team on your woderful review. We are glad that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Clean, spacious, comfortable rooms! Very friendly staff!! Large indoor pool and whirlpool! Family and pet friendly. We stayed in a double queen suite that was the size of a small apartment. Great for extended stays! Large variety at the free breakfast bar!! Worth the money!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We here at the Staybridge Suites would like to thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay here. Our goal is to make everyone that comes through our doors feel as if they are at home. Please be sure and come back to see us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton City, Missouri
Level Contributor
290 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a very good experience at this hotel. The front desk guy was very polite & helpful & any staff we encountered were friendly. The breakfast was awesome & was even ready earlier than advertised which was great because we had to leave early & didn't think we were going to be able to eat here. (I will say the floor in the food area was "extremely" sticky). The room was nice but had some areas that could use improvement, such as a couple of the floor tiles in the bathroom were cracked & needed replaced. Also, when I think of "suites" I think of bigger rooms & this really wasn't. All in all it's a nice place that seems to be kept up pretty well & run efficiently. Anything we asked for we received. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rannydef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We do our best here to ensure that everyone that stays with us feels like they are at home. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Lou,MO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

From the time you check in to the time u check u enjoy your stay.

Service is like a 5 star hotel but with out the high price.

I promise the service will make your stay rock if u are their for 1 day or 100 days this is the

place.

Pool area clean and hot tub working very nicely rooms comfy.

Room Tip: Forth Floor east end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GarthD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your great review! We try hard to make sure that everyone that walks in our doors gets great SERVICE! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Really enjoyed our evening away -- we booked the Staybridge through Expedia... Our room was nice -- the people were nicer -- and I would highly recommend as one of the best places to stay at in Columbia. Get to breakfast early...it was busy!!!
I commend the front desk clerk -- I saw him work with a very upset client -- trying every way to appease her. She would accept no solutions -- but he kept his cool. Kind of reminds me to always be nice to staff in the future...
My mate and I will be back!

Room Tip: King studio is perfect for a couples get away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind comments! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Friendly, courteous staff. I was there with the ex-Prisoners of War state convention. The staff was amazing and went out of their way to make the ex-POWs feel welcome and honored. Great full breakfast included, amazing price, handicapped accessible rooms. Free heavy appetizers served several nights a week. Kitchenettes in every room. Designed for longer term guests. Large rooms. Friendly, homey atmosphere. Overall, I'm a huge fan.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodeye_buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia
Candlewood Suites Columbia
#9 of 35 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#2 of 35 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
4.4 mi away
Drury Inn Columbia Stadium Boulevard
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#10 of 35 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Columbia

Property: Staybridge Suites Columbia
Address: 805 N Keene St, Columbia, MO 65201-6634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Columbia
#11 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Staybridge Suites Near HWY 63 & I-70 in Columbia - MO Conveniently situated near the University of Missouri - Staybridge Suites Columbia - HWY 63 & I-70 is in close proximity to both the University of Missouri Women's and Children's Hospital and Missouri Cancer Associates. This upscale extended stay Columbia hotel provides easy access to the area's most important attractions and businesses. Ideally located near downtown Columbia Missouri this extended stay hotel is near the city's best shopping - dining and recreation. Located within minutes of our Columbia accommodations travelers can tour or attend events at the University of Missouri or explore The District or Rock Bridge Memorial State Park. In Columbia for an extended stay on business? Corporate guests of our convenient Columbia - MO hotel appreciate our lodgings near businesses such as Dana Corporation, MFA and State Farm. In order to best accommodate our guests' meeting needs - the Staybridge Suites Columbia offers a flexible conference room as well as a 24-hour Business Center and free high-speed wireless internet access. During your stay we hope you will take advantage of our Columbia hotel's complimentary services. A daily breakfast buffet - evening Socials each Tuesday through Thursday - Fitness Center - convenience store - indoor pool/spa - library and guest self-laundry facilities are available and free of charge. We invite you to check out our excellent Columbia - MO hotel rates as you start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Staybridge Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing