We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful park for hiking”

Rock Bridge Memorial State Park
Ranked #1 of 49 things to do in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Just minutes from Columbia, Rock Bridge Memorial State Park gives visitors the chance to scramble, hike and bicycle through a scenic environment – and lets them peek into Missouri’s underworld. The park contains some of the most popular hiking trails in the state and also offers solitude while hiking in the Gans Creek Wild Area. Visitors can also see a large cave system with its rock bridge, sinkholes, a spring and underground stream at the Devil's Icebox. You can explore Connor's Cave in the light of the opening for a taste of the underground world.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful park for hiking”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Seeing the cave is a must, but don't miss out on the many other beautiful, peaceful trails to explore in this natural and unique setting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    70
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rock Bridge State Park”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great place for youth to learn hiking skills, such as in Scouting. Easy to get in an all weather 5 mile hike for Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts. Very pretty in snowy weather. You feel isolated, but actually never far from help of needed. Many school field trips here. Great programs available including caving tours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice time”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hiked for 3 hours, not by choice, hiked due to lack of signs. All I can say is make sure you do your homework beforehand and know the length and time on the trails. We had no idea the park was so large. We were told it was a nice hike and it was, we were just uninformed about the park. Our fault. We will be back but with water and proper shoes!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hiking but Need Better Trail Markers”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We visited in mid- to late-October 2013. There wasn't much fall color in this part of the state. The park itself is very nice with multiple trails. However, the trails are not well-marked. We first hiked the Devil's Icebox Trail. It's actually mostly a boardwalk and stairs, not true "trail". That is easy to follow. There is a branch off to the Sinkhole Trail. That trail is not well-marked. You come to intersecting paths and there are no markers. We guessed and took one direction and never saw one trail marker and ended up intersecting a whole different trail.

Very fun to see the varying geography - caves. sinkholes, forest, rocks, prairie...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank marshian85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great trails”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Devil's Ice Box is a great trail but tons of stairs so beware if your knees are bad. Close to town but feels like you are very far away.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beanie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Bridge Memorial State Park also viewed

 

Been to Rock Bridge Memorial State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing