We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Popular spot for sporting

Finger Lakes is an easily accessible area for off road motorsports and some paddling and fishing... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2018
Zach S
,
Columbia, Missouri
Great place for a quiet, relaxing experience.

Nice camp grounds, fishing isn’t great but enjoyable environment to relax. Lakes are clear and... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2018
rlk091097
,
Columbia, Missouri
Read all 77 reviews
  
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
31
30
11
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
30
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dirt bike shooting range rent kayaks atv trails off road swimming beach stayed here camp host boat ramp great mountain central missouri all ages camping campground motocross fishing seaweed
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 77 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Finger Lakes is an easily accessible area for off road motorsports and some paddling and fishing opportunities in central Missouri. Outside of that, not many options here for basic hiking and backpacking.

Thank Zach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Nice camp grounds, fishing isn’t great but enjoyable environment to relax. Lakes are clear and clean.

Thank rlk091097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

Couldn't believe a place just 20 minutes from Columbia could be so beautiful! Renting a canoe for 2 hours is just $10. The lake trails are serene and breathtaking. Our camping site was clean, quiet, and had everything we needed. The staff was very nice and helpful. Can't wait to go back!

Thank McKenzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

We had a lovely summer day and decided to visit Finger Lakes State Park. It's a lovely park with boating, fishing, hiking, and mountain bike trails. The major attraction for some people would be the ATV trails. We had our dog and walked the hiking trail in the morning when there were no active ATVs.

Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

We arrived at the park at 4 pm with a limping RV with one blow out. The entrance has two signs, 1. campers proceed to campground the campground host will collect fees 2. Riders needing passes left lane. We proceeded to camping site, as we had made online reservation and new our camping assignment. Within a minute or so the camp host showed up to complain that we dropped our trailer along the roadway. This was an unknown rule. We explained to him that we had a flat and needed to change it and we would immediately get things moved and situated. He gave us no further information or instructions. After 45 mins we had our tire changed and moved our trailer to the overflow parking and set up camp. Also note, the host was two spots away from us and watched us. When we woke the next morning we drove our UTV to the gate to get our passes and flag. A park ranger stopped us and told us we couldn't drive on the road. We told him we needed to get passes, tried to explain that our camp host didn't tell us anything about riding passes. The ranger comment " Oh I heard about you" and then proceeded to tell us very rudely, your going to follow me to the trail and go back to your RV and then drive to gate to get passes. We complied. BUT if he would have been a little nicer and explained he couldn't let us drive to gate, but we were within a 1/2 mile we could park and walk to get our passes and flag before sending us on an unknown trail to be compliant with rules and much safer with the flag, would have been nice. It was a bad experience and we felt like we were being watched the entire time. It wasn't a good experience and I've cancelled a future trip that was already booked and paid for. There are other parks that we can visit that would be more welcoming.

1  Thank mckeerj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Held our fundraiser at the Finger Lakes State Park. The children thoroughly enjoyed the outdoors and the trail walk that we had. The park facilities for barbecuing was excellent and clean. There is a 'dog park' which was exceptionally well-kept up, and there was a small lake beach. Will certainly be back again.

1  Thank Kieran1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

We took a family trip here and it wasnt too packed and we hardly ever ran into someone else on the trails. HOWEVER, you need to read the rules throughly. Even between the lines and the ones you cant see. We were told that kids could not ride. So me and my nephew had to walk back to camp. Granted the park ranger offered us a ride back but I declined. But after that we felt like we were being watched constantly. Oh and you cant ride your ATV's to the shower house. You have to walk.

1  Thank Kaci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Really a great place to visit. I went to there today just wanted the kayaking but I experienced more. There are also people swimming, camping, motocross, bicycling etc. so many activity to do. Go for it!

Thank Kaiwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

This free state park is great. The beach, albeit small, is clean (other than seaweed scum) and nice.
Great to rent kayaks or canoes too.

Thank bunchajustines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful time at the campground! Went canoeing, ATV-ing, swimming and made some friends! Great playground and clean bathroom/showers. Camp Host was very kind and helpful. The park ranger was great! We will be back!!

Thank ILimplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews