We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
244 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Showing it's age”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Overall, this was the normal Hampton experience with the exception of some maintenance issues that made the hotel seem worse than it probabbly is.

I had no hot water for one morning shower. I reported this and the next morning it was hotter. I also had a vibrating A/C unit that made earplugs mandatory. I did finally figure out that if I put the ubiquitous Hampton bed tray on top of the A/C it did stop the vibration.

These were just enough irritations to insure I won't stay at this Hampton again. While I subscribe to the notion of not sweating the small stuff, a hot shower and a good nights sleep are fundamental to any well run hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joehecht, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I would first like to thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay, and know that these issues are not typical of our facility. For you inconveniences I have invoked our 100% Hampton Guarantee for the first night of your stay. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity during a future visit to Columbia to provide you with a more pleasurable stay experience. Thank you again for your time and feedback. Joe Hecht, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    143
    36
    14
    6
See reviews for
257
64
40
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, CA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

After two sleepless nights in another local hotel we switched to Hampton Inn once the football weekend was past and space was available. What a difference! We stopped to get directions in the morning before we were even checked in and the desk staff offered us coffee and got us routed around a foot race that was blocking our way. He greeted us again in the afternoon and got us checked into a pretty, nicely appointed, quiet room. The shower was perfect, service friendly, breakfast varied and abundant. My only regret is that a busy schedule didn't allow us time to use the indoor pool. On non-football weekends, this is a business travelers' hotel serving the hospital and university. Being wise to the ways of fickle laptops it offers a choice of using either a wireless OR an ether net cable to connect to the Internet. Football weekends are another matter...if you aren't going to the game, stay at the other Hampton Inn and spare yourself a king-size traffic jam around the stadium.

Room Tip: We had a pleasant king room on the first floor and found it ample for our needs. We appreciated the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northcoast_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joehecht, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We would like to thank you for leaving your review of our property! We are very happy to hear that we were able to make your time here in Columbia more enjoyable, and hope that you will allow us to serve you again during future visits to Columbia! Joe Hecht, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times and it has always been excellent! All of the staff has been very flexible. It is an excellent location and is kept up nicely. This is the newer Hampton style.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank TT_Traveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joehecht, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are very excited to hear that you have enjoyed multiple stays with us, and hope that you will allow us to continue to serve you during your future visits. Joe Hecht, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Unfortunately the reason I was here for 2 weeks was due to a family member being in the hospital. However, I'm very glad I chose the Hampton Inn! Everything was easy- I had to extend my stay and even switch rooms from one bed to two beds when another family member came to stay too and they made it all very easy. Fridge and microwave in the room was great for my long stay. Breakfast spread is awesome and walking distance to the hospital meant I didn't have to deal with a car rental. Staying here meant I had one less thing to worry about while my loved one was ill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joehecht, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, even with the circumstances of your stay. Should you return to Columbia, we hope that you will allow us to serve your lodging needs once again. Thank you for your valuable time and feedback! Joe Hecht, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have stayed at this property on many occasions (6+), with family, with children, and alone, and have never been disappointed in the product. The front desk staff have always been friendly and reliable. The rooms are clean and quiet, although they are starting to show some wear with wall dings and the shower head was erratic, spraying on the cieling during my most recent stay. Nonetheless, this is my first choice for trips to Columbia. I love the location and the breakfast. The price is right. For central Missouri this is as good as it gets

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wannagetawaymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joehecht, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your continued patronage! We are very happy to hear that you have been able to enjoy multiple stays with us. I do sincerely apologize for the issue you experienced with your shower head, we will have it replaced immediately. Thank you again for your vaulable time and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Joe Hecht, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel has preserved its new appearance. It is extremely well maintained. The rooms are clean, the housekeeping service is quick and thorough, the front desk staff is very friendly and accommodating. The beds and furnishings are new and well-kept. The breakfast meals are very good. I was there for a week and everything was top-notch, even the laundry facility. The location is next to a nice restaurant, which is a plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from children. Sometimes the walls are thin when there are loud kids nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joehecht, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your recent stay! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will allow us to continue to serve your lodging needs should your travels bring you back to Columbia! Thank you again for your valuable time and feedback! Joe Hecht, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Aside from the convenience of being near the football stadium this hotel provides very clean and modern accommodations. It is a little far to walk to the campus especially since it is all up hill but it is only a 3 minute drive. I have stayed here three times already and my son is only a sophomore.

Room Tip: Since it is not on a highway there really are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joehecht, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for making us your 1st choice in lodging while visiting Columbia! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed multiple stays with us, and look forward to continuing to provide you with great service during your future visits to Columbia. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback! Joe Hecht, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#1 of 35 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Broadway Columbia - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
1.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center  - Columbia
1.2 mi away
The Tiger Hotel
The Tiger Hotel
#9 of 35 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
Address: 1225 Fellows Place, Columbia, MO 65201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Columbia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to campus, far from ordinary...Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (At The University of Missouri).Let's face it: if the Hampton Inn & Suites® Columbia (At The University of Missouri) were any closer to campus, you might need a student ID. As the closest hotel to the University of Missouri, you're just minutes away from Stephen's College and downtown Columbia and near a world of fantastic attractions.Want to get out and experience all that Columbia has to offer? Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (At The University of Missouri) puts you right in the middle of it all. Farout Field, Hearnes Center and the Mizzou Arena are all within easy walking distance of our Columbia hotel. If shopping's more your speed, "The District" downtown is noted as an eclectic shopping and dining experience with an outstanding mix of entertainment choices. Plus, art aficionados will surely appreciate attractions such as The Museum of Art and Archaeology, The Museum of Anthropology, Jesse Hall Auditorium, Missouri Art Gallery and the Bingham Gallery. You'll find it all just minutes from your room at the Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia, where you are close to campus, but far from ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbia (At The University Of Missouri)
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (At The University Of Missouri) Hotel Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing