We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Rootbeer (Served with a Side of Americana)!”
Review of Mugs Up Drive In

Mugs Up Drive In
Ranked #98 of 387 Restaurants in Columbia
Restaurant details
Missouri
Level Contributor
290 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“The BEST Rootbeer (Served with a Side of Americana)!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

When visiting Columbia, we always stop in at Mugs Up for the BEST Rootbeer! This place is straight out of an Americana museum… an old-fashioned drive-in with home-cooked food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WonderfulWorld59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BBQ Cheese Zipburger with everything please!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great food! Love the Zipburgers, chili cheese dogs, chili cheese fries, & root beer floats. Plus the fun of a drive-in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dixiewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fun place”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

it's fun to go to MUgs up however I wanted a hamburger on a bun and got loose cooked meat like a sloppy jo which I like but this tasted awful to my taste buds

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love the Cheese Zip!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Mugs Up is my favorite real drive in! I've only ever had the cheese zip w/everything. They are so good I don't want to try anything else! Sometimes I'm so hungry I think I can eat 2 but then the first one fills me up. Always good reheated in the microwave tho! The price is great too. Root Beer Floats are a must!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A true trip back to the 50's!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you have never been to a Mugs Up Drive In you have missed a great treasure form the 50's and 60's. This is one of only two that I know of that are still in operation. The other is in Independence, MO. At one time there were many units located around the greater Kansas City area. They were a fun place to go on a hot summer night to enjoy a mug of fresh made Root Beer. It is still made on location, not by some huge bottling company. And the Cheese chile dogs are the bomb!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mugs Up Drive In also viewed

 

Been to Mugs Up Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing