We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, homecooked meal at affordable prices”

Smith's Restaurant Express
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Clinton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Overland, Missouri
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent, homecooked meal at affordable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Branson for dinner. It looked like a "hole in the wall" joint, but I had checked other reviews on Tripadvisor, so we decided to take a chance on it. When we ordered our meal, we were very pleasantly surprised. I ordered the pot roast, and my husband ordered the fish and shrimp dinner. Both were under $12.00, the food definitely tasted home made, came with 2 sides and a very tasty dinner roll (like I would have made) and the portions were more than enough. I had to get a take out box for mine. The service was good as well. My only negative would have been the atmosphere. It could use a little sprucing up.
Lesson learned. Looks can be deceiving, but, thanks to T.A., the taste buds were not deceived. I'd go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of a kind!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've been going to this location for years and everything I've ordered has been great. Pork tenderloins are excellent and the cobblers are out of this world. The portions are huge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Home cooked meals!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We eat here fairly often. The food is very good. The prices are comparable to other dine-in restaurants, but the food is better, if you like a more home style meal. The portions are very generous! The service has always been great and I would highly recommend this Family owned and operated restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJDietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and family friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were traveling through & gave this a try. We were given great service & the food is very good & big portions. They have a great variety on their menu. We will stop again if we are back out in this area again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rylotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Home cooking but not home made!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Based on previous reviews, we both had the fried chicken with mashed potatoes and green beans. The chicken was very greasy and the green beans were so salty I couldn't eat any. The mashed potatoes were bland and tasteless for being made from scratch. We also ordered blackberry cobbler -- which was not made from fresh blackberries even though they were in season. When I asked I was told they get their desserts "brought in" and none had fresh fruit. Yucky!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith's Restaurant Express also viewed

 

Been to Smith's Restaurant Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing