We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

So enjoyed my stay at this hotel….everyone was so helpful and accommodating….had a nose bleed and the staff brought up a small jar of vaseline for me….no drug stores in the immediate area if you need supplies. Quiet, comfy beds, good food, good bar with great music makes for a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhonglic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 907 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Checking in ( back in) this Ritz is really like coming home. It feels comfortable, right and familiar. The service is exceptional and consistent. The facility is great, the rooms comfortable well appointed and the service makes it all even better.

The room service is great- whether its a gourmet request, comfort food, or the kids menu, it is perfect.

Room Tip: The suites are fantastic- overlooking Clayton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This Ritz Carlton is the best option for the area, as there aren't any other luxury hotels in the area. The hotel has age to it, but isn't worn down. Dark woods and classic Victorian decor fill the hotel. If looking for contemporary, this isn't the stop. Like all Ritz Carlton's, the service is excellent. This location has plenty to walk to: restaurants, shopping, salons, etc.

The room was very spacious with a balcony, I had booked just a standard room, and it fit my needs just fine. Again the room has an aged feel, but everything is still well maintained. The room met the standards of what I would expect from a Ritz Carlton.

The lounge wasn't the most lively spot to be in the evening, it seemed to have a crowd that was much older that my girlfriend and I (we're late 20's), there are more trendy spots within a short distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here and it is an amazing hotel. The service was 5 star and the food was excellent. We were greeted at the front desk by Jasmyn and she was very friendly and made check-in fast and simple. She also arranged for a car service to take us to Ruth's Chris and made a reservation as we did not have one. The hotel room was large and spacious. We stayed in the suite and the two rooms were very nice. The hotel bar was good and I normally do not complain about drinks but one thing I did notice that one small glass of top shelve liquor was 15 dollars, not bad but a little high for the Midwest which usually averages around 10-12$.
Overall this hotel was beautiful and the service was amazing and would recommend this if looking for a 5 star hotel in a nice area in St. Louis.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoshuaIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Wonderful Ritz property -- checked in - and while they may have been slow (winter weather) was upgrated to a suite -- an apartment really --- funishing were first class - decorating very stylish and tasteful. Everything worked - bathroom was enormous - appointments in each room very classy. Service at this location at the top of what you would expect from a RITZ -- every employee made you feel special -- very attentive to detail -- personable and would always inquire if there was anything they could do to improve or make perfect my stay. Had dinner at their fine dining restaurant, The Grill - same amazing and attentive service -- wine list on IPod - very helpful suggestions - food expertly prepared - and reasonably priced. Bar area very nice - which Sushi bar for snacks -- wait staff again excellent. Ritz deserving of it's moniker -- staying at the "Ritz" is like being in the estate home of a very rich uncle.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear jsf420,
It was such a pleasure to read the wonderful review of your recent stay at our hotel. I was especially pleased to read that our ladies and gentlemen made your stay so special with their friendly and attentive service.
We are honored to be likened to your “uncle’s estate” with the perfect blend of warmth and elegance. Until the next time we have the pleasure of welcoming you home,
Kind Regards,
Douglas Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you're a fan of running water, palatable food, or functioning elevators, I suggest you book a room at the Chase or the Four Seasons during your time in St Louis. I've reluctantly stayed at this Ritz location several times throughout the years, and after my last trip I will never do it again. This property is NOT up to Ritz Carlton standards, especially when it comes to customer service.

Room Tip: Sleep in your rental car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissElizabethE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear MissElizbethE,
Thank you for sharing comments about your recent stay with. I apologize that this experience included several problems as well as missed opportunities to recover from these challenges. We strive hard to provide an experience filled with positive memories. We obviously missed the mark this time. If you feel it appropriate, I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you. I may be reached at (314)863-6300.
Sincerely,
Douglas Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great and attentive service which I would expect from the Ritz group, - my only gripe is that in spite of several requests the billing was wrongly handled and this made the check out lengthy and hard work, especially at 5am!
The front desk staff (one person at that time) tried very hard to correct but it is so very unnecessary and just indicates that there needs to be proper liaison between reservations and front desk, or that the reservation info is correctly entered!
Having said that the service and the rooms were beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,444 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,179 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#12 of 123 in Saint Louis
835 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Address: 100 Carondelet Plz, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: $273 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Situated in the heart of Clayton, MO, which boasts a prestigious business district and affluent suburban residences, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis is considered one of the finest luxury hotels near Downtown St. Louis. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing