We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Luxury and service!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I made a reservation for my daughter to stay here with her friend for a special birthday celebration. I made all the arrangements by phone, and everyone was exceptionally kind and helpful. The night was magical for my daughter, and she enjoyed a late check-out, room service, and the beautiful ambiance of the hotel itself. Everyone she encountered treated her like a princess, and made this birthday amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilona06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear ilona06,
I enjoyed reading your comments about your daughter’s birthday experience with us at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis. I was thrilled that the ladies and gentlemen made it such a wonderful celebration. Every young lady deserves to feel like a princess. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of her special day.
Kind Regards,
Douglas Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    189
    76
    31
    16
See reviews for
186
190
40
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Arriving in the polar vortex and a small blizzard but the service didn't stop. Easy and very friendly check in and then off to a large and elegant room. The Bar/ restaurant area was nice and open and has a rich feel to it. The menu selection was minimal but excellent. The service was very friendly but it was slow to start as I not sure we were noticed. The business function we attended at the hotel was well done with great facilities and food. We went to the Chop house across the street for dinner which was pricy and good as well as convenient. there was a cigar bar in the hotel that several took in and you could smell it on them and just barely in the common areas of the hotel. I am very sensitive to the smell of smoke and it didn't bother me, i just noticed it. Not much of a gift shop or any other shops. Classic style and service of a Ritz.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobo418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton four nights as part of a business trip to St. Louis. The hotel is very nice, with nicely appointed room. This was my first stay at a Ritz Carlton, and I was expecting something a little more extravagant. This is, however, a very nice hotel and has something of an early twentieth-century flavor, even though it's actually a much newer hotel. Ordinarily, I would think of this as a four star experience; what pushed this to the five star range was the absolutely outstanding service.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank StigJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed here one night last month when visiting washington university. While my initial welcome was very nice with many support staff in the lobby I found that the entire stay was on worth the money. First, there was no turn down service and if it was optional then they should have asked me at check-in. Second, the towels were has hard as rocks and clearly were years old. Furthermore, most hotels located in similiar locations offer free local shuttle service. FOr all those visiting wash university don't waste your money staying here. The other area hotels are nicer and provide better amenties.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cary2664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear cary2664,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent visit. I was happy to read that the staff was so welcoming upon your arrival. My sincere apologies that we did not provide an experience that met with your expectations for the rest of your stay. I appreciate the feedback and opportunity you have provided to us to address these areas. If your time allows, I would welcome the opportunity to personally speak with you. I may be reached at 314.863.6300.

Kind Regards,
Douglas Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGMAN
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I had just recently stayed at the new Four Seasons in near downtown St Louis--unfortunate for the Ritz. After staying there the Ritz seemed a bit stuffy and in need of an update. That being said the service was great and the people were nice. Overall we had a good stay but this place not worth the high price tag

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenbee4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Highlight was the excellent levels of friendliness, attention and care of everyone on the customer service team. Front door welcome, front desk, restaurant, bar, phone assistance, room service … all were quick, caring and capable.
Restaurant food selection was conservative, however was abundant and well prepared. International wine list was a surprise and welcomed.
Room was comfortable and lush without being amazing.
This fine hotel was all that I had hoped it to be. A safe bet that it would be elegant, comfortable, conservative, welcoming and friendly.
Will stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tastytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

First time in a Ritz-Carlton--we had a nice stay! Rooms are spacious and comfortable--we could see the Arch way off in the distance from our balcony. Beautiful bathroom--and loved the products (Asprey brand). A couple of service glitches, but overall, very good service. Valet staff was excellent--responsive, helpful, friendly. Front desk staff was adequate, not outstanding, but certainly friendly and seemed interested in trying to offer good service. Concierge was also very helpful and detailed in his suggestions and directions. We didn't experience any of the hotel dining or meeting areas--they looked nice, but we didn't partake.

We did find that some of the snacks in the mini-fridge had been tampered with (Pringles' covers peeled back, chips taken, cans put back in as if full -- Who does that?) We told the desk and they assured us we wouldn't be charged. (We were charged on the final bill, but a phone call took care of that).

The hotel is located close (walking distance) to a few shops and several restaurants (across the street to several blocks away). We tried "Niche" for dinner on the first night--it was EXCELLENT!) Same price for parking at the Ritz whether you self-park or valet, so you might as well have someone else take care of the parking under those terms!

Close (driving distance) to local attractions--the Arch, good St. Louis BBQ, shopping. Not far from STL airport. Hotel is located in a quiet cul-de-sac type of area--not a lot of traffic, but near to downtown and freeways.

Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTXgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,342 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#36 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,121 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
961 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Address: 100 Carondelet Plz, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Situated in the heart of Clayton, MO, which boasts a prestigious business district and affluent suburban residences, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis is considered one of the finest luxury hotels near Downtown St. Louis. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Marriott, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing