We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad day at the ritz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Bad day at the ritz”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I brought my family to Teddy Bear tea today and the service was less than we are used to for this annual occasion probably due to the cut backs that are currently going on there
After the tea my son in law was accosted by an employee because he was carrying a camera( in its case)and told if he took a picture he would be escorted off the property.
They left(they were already on there way out)
I called the manager on duty and he investigated and corrected the employee and said they both apologize.
I told him thank you but our R C experience was ruined and it wasn't what we were used to at the RC.Another apology

Vey bad experience and an apology didn't make up for it.
All in all it was a terible day at the Ritz

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    177
    70
    29
    15
See reviews for
160
162
36
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Spent a Saturday night recently, and while I agree with the some of the comments related to dated rooms, this is a fine hotel in a city with few luxury choices. While some of the interior may not be up to higher Ritz standards, the staff is on par with other Ritz hotels at which we have stayed. We had a problem with one of the TVs in our suite and when the tech staff was unable to correct, we were immediately relocated to another suite. Room service was fast and delicious, especially considering there was a large wedding there. The lobby bar was alive with many visiting Chicago Bears fans which made for a fun night. Breakfast was delicious and service was attentive and friendly. The Ritz was the go-to hotel in St. Louis before the Four Seasons opened downtown, but it still is a quality choice for those looking to be pampered.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlessUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
227 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel several years ago, and upon returning, I find that every item of decor is exactly as it was then. This hotel is badly in need of an update/refresh. Having said that, the staff is definitely up the standards of Ritz-Carlton. There were no flaws to any interaction with the staff in every area, they are friendly, competent,and go out of their ways to make your stay memorable. St. Louis needs a Ritz-Carlton, but the physical conditions of this property are just not up to the standards of this brand.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rusty1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was at least my third time staying at the Ritz in Clayton. The rooms are large and hotel employees are all very friendly and helpful.

The concierge lounge is also very good. It has a decent amount of food.

I will definitely return to this hotel when I'm in St. Louis in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewBVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I was there for a 3 day conference and couldn't have been happier. My room was very spacious and the bed was great. The hotel is in a very quiet area, so it was super quiet at night, which is great for me because I am not a heavy sleeper. I actually forgot my laptop and phone charges in my room after I had left for the airport and they overnighted both items to my apartment (including a pair of socks, which I had apparently forgotten). All-in-all, I was very pleased with my stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
branson, mo
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Was able to have couples time without kids prior to a meeting for business as well. Had stayed here once before years ago. Could understand some of the comments about property being dated however seemed to be in pretty good repair. Staff were over the top nice. Was in walking distance to everything in Clayton. Would stay here again for rate we were able to get off of group discount. Great steam room and workout facility as well as indoor pool and hot tub.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank timandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in general Not quite the 5 star quality of most ritz Carlton's but the reasonable price reflects that. Great location if you are visiting wash u or have work in the Clayton area. Nice lobby with live music on some weekends. Free Coffee bar is set up in the mornings Rooms are average. Gym is nicely equipped Watch out for speed traps on the roads surrounding the hotel. Lots of revenue generated that way. If you do get a ticket you can hire a law firm to fight it for $65 dollars and they will get it dropped from a moving violation to a parking violation. Quite a racket but good to know just in case.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachmomof3_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,224 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
918 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cheshire
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
879 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
750 reviews
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Address: 100 Carondelet Plz, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Situated in the heart of Clayton, MO, which boasts a prestigious business district and affluent suburban residences, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis is considered one of the finest luxury hotels near Downtown St. Louis. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing