We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, not great.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We had the opportunity to stay at this, our local Ritz as a celebration for our anniversary. Check in was smooth. Being recognized by name is a great touch, but when the staff greeted us, it seemed forced and annoying to do so. My wife's massage was nice, she enjoyed it, but said the spa area was small, but lovely. We didn't eat at the Ritz for dinner, but at a restaurant nearby. After dinner, I enjoyed a couple of drinks and a cigar in the cigar club. The service was impeccable. Their collection of bourbons and scotches is unmatched. Not inexpensive by any means, but delightful. We slept well in the bed, it was very comfortable. The bathroom tile gets slippery and the water pressure not great, but it was fine. The problem came at breakfast time. We treated ourselves to in-room dining. My wife ordered an egg-white omelette with vegetables and was served a fritatta with the vegetables that the chef chose, not my wife. The included orange juice was left off the tray. They delivered it after we called. They didn't seem interested or concerned at all that we received the wrong entree. They didn't offer to remake it, or even apologize. When breakfast for 2, after the taxes, included gratuity of 22%, delivery charges, etc., comes to over $ 50, it really ought to be absolutely right. When, at checkout, i mentioned a problem with in-room dining, the front desk personnel said she was sorry, but seemed uninterested in what or how the problem was or wasn't resolved. This is a nit-picky review, but this is a hotel chain that overtly calls their service first-rate and their prices match. The nickel and diming of customers for self parking (@ $22 a night, per car), internet access (@ $10 daily) in addition to the haughty but somewhat apathetic staff was slightly disappointing. It's a classical and beautiful space that needs better attention to the personal details of today's guests.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sethanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    189
    76
    31
    16
See reviews for
186
190
40
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I've never stayed here as a guest, but almost every Sunday, the local Argentine Tango community dances in the Lobby Bar. Stop by for a drink or a light dinner and watch the elegance of the Argentine Tango before your eyes. If you dare, catch the FREE lesson from 6:00 - 7:00 p.m. - always taught by local instructors; some of who are from Buenos Aires and all have studied in Argentina.

The Lobby Bar has been recently renovated and is very spacious. If you are looking for a relaxed and elegant spot to take a break, read a book, (they have books available), hear some great music (Motown style cover bands on Friday and Saturday), the Lobby Bar is the perfect place. It's spacious layout offers a variety of choices: Curl up on a couch with a book, share a quiet meal or drink with friends near the fireplace, enjoy fresh made Sushi from the Sushi bar, catch the game on the large screen at the bar or just gather around and chat with friends...or make new ones while hearing and dancing to some great local music.

Expect the great and attentive service that you would receive at any Ritz Carlton...and yes, they will remember your drink and food preferences the next time you drop by for a visit!

Covered parking rarely charges; valet is available if you prefer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnSTL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Ritz Carlton is not only in a beautiful building with magnificent views, but it is also right in the heart of the business district.
The staff were very charming, even to the point that after we had a small issue at check in, they ensured we received a beautiful glass candle holder a s a gift to apologise, i was floored with the gesture!
The beds are something you want to pack in your suit case and take home with you, i have never felt so close to what it feels like to sleep in a cloud.

Room Tip: Any with a view are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was only here for a night so I won't do a full breakdown like I typically do. This hotel has a great location. It is close to Washington University and walking distance to downtown Clayton. I found the bedding to be extremely comfortable. The rooms are large and the bathrooms were very nice.

I found the service level at the hotel to be good, but not great. It may be that i'm used to staying at hotels in Asia but I believe it is unacceptable to see a client struggling with bags and not insist to help. Overall, I would stay here again, but mainly due to the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADAMLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have not been to this Ritz in over 10 years. I had a client many years ago and stayed there extensively. I was surprised when I walked in that nothing had changed. My immediate thought was this is not good. My room was a nice King room. Great space and good to work at. I found the bedding exceptionally good and everything was up to Ritz Carlton standards. The only reason this review is not an excellent was in the morning as I left, I notice only USA todays. As I checked out I asked for a Wall-Street Journal. You can imagine the look on my face when they asked if the should charge the $1.50 to my room?? I looked at this person and asked if they are really going to charge me for a Wall Street Journal at the Ritz to anyone, even a Marriott Platinum (I know this is different than a Ritz Platinum, but still some status). THey said they offered USA today complimentary. I did say that I could get a free Wall Street Journal at almost any hotel I stayed at. I told them it was fine to charge me. When I saw a manager standing near by, I asked him if the Ritz was getting cheap. He clearly did not like this and offered to pick up my Wall Street. This is WAAAAY to much drama for 7am. I hope this Ritz continues to understand it is a Ritz and not the Holiday Inn express.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times for work, one of the better hotels I have stayed at in the country. The rooms are the quality you would expect of a Ritz, though the balconies are a nice touch. Rooms are also very large. The staff is fantastic, very personable. The restaurants are OK, nothing fantastic, though the waiters i have had at both are great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeingtheworld1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster PA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I attended a conference and the lobby and public spaces met the highest standard, as did service for the conference. My one bedroom "executive suite" was very quiet and spacious, especially the bathroom, with a nice balcony view of the plaza with fountain. The fitness center was excellent, and not crowded. The bed was extremely comfortable with great bedding. Unlike some luxury hotels the room has its own coffee maker and fridge (with a big can of great peanuts and other stuff). The area has some excellent restaurants within walking distance.
So why not perfect? Only the little stuff. Having drinks in the lobby, with one wrong drink order out of five people. Two clocks in the room, one not working and the other set to the wrong time (I love spending time figuring out how to set an unfamiliar clock). A terrific marble walk in shower with a door that would not close. A lovely looking robe that was too stiff and scratchy to wear. Innumerable towels, one of which had a black mark. A fitness center supposed to open at 5 am with a locked door at 5:10 am. The reception desk helpfully provided razor and shaving cream, but then never sent the promised after shave. $10 annoyance charge for wifi.
For better or worse, the surrounding area has a safe and clean, but relatively sterile, look.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxmillian_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,342 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#36 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,121 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
961 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Address: 100 Carondelet Plz, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Situated in the heart of Clayton, MO, which boasts a prestigious business district and affluent suburban residences, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis is considered one of the finest luxury hotels near Downtown St. Louis. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing