We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not Your Typical Ritz-Carlton” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
St Louis Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not Your Typical Ritz-Carlton”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Their statement " culinary experience like no other" Will look at other alternatives in future.

Totally failed our expectations.

Attended event held early Feb. Executive chef has yet to reply

Location and facility provide a great FIRST impression.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestyCounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    153
    58
    26
    14
See reviews for
124
125
30
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

As you would expect from a Ritz the hotel was very good, although this hotel could do with a little updating in the bathroom areas of the rooms. Restaurants are very good, but the Sunday Brunch is exceptional value and very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This isa terrific hotel but, in my view, not up to the 5 star standards of the Ritz Carlton. I must begin by saying I will definitely stay there again. My room was lovely and the staff was terrific. However I was very disappointed with my dinner options. The dining room was closed; not sure if it was because it was Monday or if it is being renovated. I could order from a very limited bar menu or the room service menu. Really? So not like the Ritz Carlton's I am accustomed to. I ordered a Cobb salad and a steak sandwich, hoping to end up with a Cobb salad with steak. Almost but not quite.....it was the worst Cobb salad I have ever seen and the steak was so thin and grizzly that it would have been impossible to have it served rare, as I ordered.
Having said that, my server was delightful.
The fitness center is terrific and I hope the next time I come I will have time to book a service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinySeasideDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stay at this property whenever I'm in St Louis and I absolutely love it. Its one of the best Ritz's globally I think. The staff is SO KIND - they greet you, learn your name, check on you, they are just the best - and the hotel is very updated and also a great spot to entertain clients. The private dining room is an experience to be had - one of the coolest client dinners I've ever hosted was back there. Room service is fantastic and surprisingly affordable compared to just about any luxury chain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Whenever I feel like splurging on a hotel in St Louis I stay at the Ritz. It is hands down the best accommodation the city has to offer. I have stayed in dozens of other hotels in the city on my trips to SLU, and this hotel tops them all. The lobby, the service, the lobby bar and entertainment, the neighborhood, the rooms, the club level, and the amenities are outstanding. It is tucked away off of Forest PKWY, in a charming cul-de-sac with nearby restaurants and lovely shops. The rooms are modest, but you can tell your in a Ritz Carlton by the cleanliness, the large bathrooms, and the bedding. They offer bottled water in the rooms, turn down service, and complimentary coffee in room or in lobby. It is well worth the price you pay. Most of the rooms have balconies and a nice view of the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank destinationaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in an Executive Suite in December 2012 and had a lovely stay. The room was very spacious, the bed was so comfortably and everything was perfect. We had the Sunday buffet which was great. Lots of seafood, meats and desserts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qtram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

we stayed here while visiting our daughter who attends school in the area. hotel is always clean and comfortable. staff always kind and helpful. we had a one bedroom suite for the first time and it was extremely large. we could have stayed the whole week it was so nice!!! hotel in middle of clayton - close to many restaurants, washington university, shopping etc. about 15/20 mins from airport (w/o traffic). the hotel lobby is old and grand. rooms and bathrooms all updated and lovely. highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#2 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
The Cheshire
#32 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Address: 100 Carondelet Plz, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Situated in the heart of Clayton, MO, which boasts a prestigious business district and affluent suburban residences, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis is considered one of the finest luxury hotels near Downtown St. Louis. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing