We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anticipating Your Needs and Going Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Anticipating Your Needs and Going Beyond”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at the Ritz in StL Dec 27th and 28th. While checking in I mentioned that my wife, who was traveling with me, really enjoyed the Bulgari bath soap/shampoo etc.. Isabel Desantos, the front desk person who checked me in, made the comment that they had moved to their own brand but then quickly made a call and before we were in our suite they had substituted all the RC soaps for Bulgari. My wife was very pleased. This was only our second stay but it lives up their creedo where the genuine care of their guests is their number one priority. It "Feels" so different from a JW or W and is light years ahead of a regular Marriott.

1.A warm and sincere greeting. Use the guest's name.
2.Anticipation and fulfillment of each guest's needs.
3.Fond farewell. Give a warm good-bye and use the guest's name.

Isabel fulfilled the three steps and while they are in transition for a GM their Front of House Manager, Peter Forder, should make sure she is recognized for her genuine effort.
I stayed on points as it was personal but for now on I'll stay there when doing business in St. Louis.

Room Tip: If you have Marriott status of Gold or above it never hurts to ask if they by chance have an Executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCTraveller5171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    178
    72
    29
    15
See reviews for
167
170
36
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just recently spent three days at the Riz-Carlton in St. Louis. The holiday decorations in the lobby were beautiful and our room was really nice and spotless. The staff and service were outstanding! The ambience of the hotel was so elegant and peaceful. We had access to the 18th floor lounge and were surprised each day by the wonderful treats that were set out for us. The hotel is located adjacent to some nice shops within walking distance. Also, the location was great for navigating around the city. My husband is in St. Louis on business a couple times each month. I plan to accompany him more often just to stay at this hotel. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macj0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Have stayed at the RC St Louis many times. Solidly built hotel with huge rooms and huge bathrooms All well appointed. Ambience is one of elegance and calm. Rooms are quiet so you sleep well. Great lounge and bar. Excellent staff and service from the moment you arrive. Clayton, near Washington University, is a fun neighborhood for walking around with shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I travel quite a bit and typically will try different hotels in a particular city until I find the perfect one to stay on future visits. For St. Louis, hands down, the Ritz in Clayton is the best. Had I not stayed for the night, the service alone would get this location 5 stars. Every person on staff is so attentive and will go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. I was treated exceptionally well with an upgrade to a suite. If you have the money and especially travelling with loved one(s), splurge to get a corner suite. Every comfort and luxury you would expect from the Ritz. Guest lavatory at the entrance. Spacious living room with wide screen tv, sitting area, and desk/work area. This was a business trip so I worked extensively - technology is great - everything needed for ipod to ipad to iphone to laptop. French doors leading to a balcony. The bedroom was extremely large with another wide screen tv and french doors leading to another balcony. And the bathroom was huge with separate shower, separate soaking tub. Absolutely wonderful. Do not miss out on room service. I was again surprised with a great menu and delicious food. Higher priced than other hotels close by but definitely worth the extra cost for the service, food, and luxurious rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnthinkBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Everything you would expect from the RC chain. Clean room, comfy bed. Seems like a central location, although I never left the hotel (business conference). The food was consistently good. My cleaning was returned within hours. Overall a 10 out of 10.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Whipple9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel wasn't too far from downtown (or the part of downtown where I was) and seemed to be a pretty convenient location. As others have pointed out, it does seem to get busy in the evening. I was there during the week and the lobby was quite active.
Fine service from the front desk and a decent room service menu.
The room was quite nice - it was a lot more spacious and luxurious than I expected. Things were clean and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It's being our first stay in a Ritz our expectations were very high. Everyone greeted us by name and was very friendly. When we got to the room, it wasn't spectacular, the bathroom had mildew in the shower and the vanity, the carpet was stained and the room did not have a functional iron. Also on a Saturday night the valets get very backed up, it took 45 minutes to get our car from the valet, if you are staying on a Saturday, consider calling well ahead of time if you need your car right away, this is a very busy place!! Room service was very friendly but the food was only ok, not spectacular. I would definitely give this hotel another chance for a future stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calitraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#32 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cheshire
#41 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Address: 100 Carondelet Plz, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Situated in the heart of Clayton, MO, which boasts a prestigious business district and affluent suburban residences, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis is considered one of the finest luxury hotels near Downtown St. Louis. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing