We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Longboat Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Been planning an extended Christmas trip to Saint Louis and wanted to confirm a few things with the front desk and their restaurant but to be only received by frustration and angry employees. I placed 4 calls, three of them forwarded to a machine, and the last jockeyed by an angry desk clerk who put me on hold for 10+ minutes - my time was up, questions never answered. I've stayed at many Ritz properties over the years and expected a level of courtesy and support, maybe those days are gone.

What's that sound you hear? My money going elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    189
    76
    31
    16
See reviews for
186
190
40
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed in a one bedroom suite, and it was outstanding. The room was beautifully decorated with a mix of traditional and contemporary furnishings and design. It was a luxury to walk in to the master bathroom and find it loaded with bath towels, hand towels, and having so much space - separate shower, separate bath tub, separate double sink area and the list goes on. The side tables were big and had lots of surface space - most hotels have side tables with limited space and you have to leave other items on another table. I was happy to receive a call from the manager after about two hours, making sure we had what we needed and offering any assistance possible. There were two large screen TV's, and this deep and soft sofa where you could lay down and rest amongst fluffy and stylish pillows. Yes, these are great details when wanting to just lounge.

The food was great, the staff was great, and the location was top notch. One thing that was not so good was the noise level from the lounge area across from the check in area. It seemed like good entertainment, but I had a hard time concentrating from the music, all the people congregating and party atmosphere. I think management would be well served to consider some barriers in order to reduce the noise level and also separate the lounge area from the area where people come in to situate themselves.

All in all though - it lived up to its standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goeverywhere83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The bones of a Ritz-Carlton are here, but carpets, linens, drapes, wallpaper and upholstered furniture are tired, stained and worn out (especially guest rooms and hallways; lobby looks okay). Service is good. For this price in St. Louis though, I expect a nice, fresh room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kersti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for a Baseball Special. It included free breakfasts and parking, plus coupons to be used at Busch Stadium. Restaurant service was slow. Hotel is on quiet cul-de-sac with nice local shops and cafe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snapsgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the RC St. Louis for a two-night weekend in early October while visiting friends in St. Louis. We arrived from the airport at 2 p.m. Friday afternoon but were told that our room would not be ready until 4 p.m., so we spent 2 hours sitting in the lobby, waiting. (We had not opted for a room on the Club level.) The staff was attentive and helpful throughout our stay, and our room - once ready - was fine. But the lobby itself was constantly crowded with people who were part of bridal parties or Washington University reunions, and was therefore usually quite noisy and not a particularly pleasant or relaxing place to be. By 6 p.m. on Friday and Saturday, there were several buses out front of the hotel waiting for various groups staying at the hotel. An OK place to stay if you want to be close to Washington U., but I'd recommend staying somewhere else if you want to be close to downtown St. Louis itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stayed numerous times at the RC St. Louis and always had troubles. BUT this stay was very different. My reservation requests were ALL in perfect order. The Club Level was staffed with lovely people that were neither intrusive or evasive. The operating hours were honored and coffee was ready by 6:30 am in the lounge. The hotel is simply beautiful and the rooms have a fresh clean look with stellar views out to the Arch and downtown St. Louis.
The lobby lounge is always a vibrant scene and the hotel appears to be a place for locals to meet and enjoy a luxurious atmosphere.
If you can afford this hotel, give it a try. I think I can safely say it is the finest hotel, once again, in St. Louis.

Room Tip: Ask for an arch view, find out about being upgraded to the Club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just spent one night there but it was certainly lovely. Everyone was very kind and the room was everything I thought it would be. Breakfast was very good too.
I was a guest so I can't speak to the value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,342 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#36 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,121 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
961 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Address: 100 Carondelet Plz, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Situated in the heart of Clayton, MO, which boasts a prestigious business district and affluent suburban residences, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis is considered one of the finest luxury hotels near Downtown St. Louis. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing