We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having stayed here on several occasions, I can honestly say that the staff is the strength of the hotel. Always warm, the staff is ever helpful but never obsequious. The rooms are large and the bathrooms, too. The club lounge is sedate in contrast to the vibrant lobby on the weekends. Nestled in a pretty neighborhood, stay here when you stay in st louis.

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the couryard fountain. There are a few rooms that face a highway in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takethecannoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

765 - 771 of 930 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

In STL on biz 2 nights at Ritz. It is a little difficult to find, as tucked away off Interstates yet also more quiet area. Room was perfect, absolutely quiet, service excellent only mild complaint are the elevators are ancient and as slow as they are old. Will absolutely stay here again. Not close enough for good views of Arch but not a factor for me. Terrific shops nearby too.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honestevalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I checked into my room very late into the night/early morning (1AM). The first oddity was that there was a baby crib sitting smack dab in the middle of the room. Oh well, not a big deal.
I just wanted to take a shower and go to bed because I just had a long day. After unpacking and getting ready to brush my teeth and take a shower, I find out that there was little to no water coming out of the shower head. The bathroom sink only had hot water and no cold water.

I ended up calling the front desk to change rooms... Maybe they were going to offer me a complimentary breakfast or Marriott points for the hassle or inconvenience? No, I they just gave me the same room type on a different floor.

Fast forward to 6AM in the morning: "RIIING RIIING RIIING". I get woken up in the middle of my sleep now from a wake-up call that I never asked for.

Prior to staying at the Ritz Carlton, I've only heard great things about RC's (i.e. fantastic service); however, this property just felt like any other Marriott. This will be the last time I stay at this property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hosum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great stay here while moving child into Wash U. Five minute easy drive to campus, and we felt pampered amidst the stress of letting our last child go across the country (albeit to a wonderful school). Staff was uniformly warm and lovely, and clearly well trained in hospitality: kudos to front desk, parking staff, room service, and housekeeping. Upgraded to a spacious room, with great bathroom. Better than usual hotel gym, nice mini-spa, not so great sun deck. Lots of Wash U parents enjoying late night drinks in lobby lounge, which has a sushi chef some nights. Room service did a great job of getting food to us in 20 minutes so we could grab a bite and rush back for Convocation (hint: worth the $10 each way to take a taxi - always right outside hotel - to avoid parking and logistic issues that night). Hoping to stay here many times as we visit St. Louis!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

- poor staff and service
- really more like a plain marriott
- bug bites
- best part about it is morning valet team
- other than that an average 'nice looking' hotel that is really worn down
- pretender

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cincardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very nice hotel. Great location if you need to be in Clayton area. They have a nice lobby lounge and on Sunday night they have Tango lessons and locals that come to Tango. The food in the lobby lounge was good to with International selection. Service was great as one would expect from the Ritz.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

As a birthday treat, I could not have made a better choice. Upon my arrival, I was cordially greeted by the valet, bellman and desk staff. With exquisite crystal chandlers, highly polished marble floors, beautiful painting and sculptures placed about the expansive lobby, it is reminiscent of the grand hotels of the past. Yet it is a modern hotel in every sense.
My club level room was large, bright and cheery, and sleep was heavenly, due to the comfy bed covered with luxuriously soft bedding and the quietness of the room. (I never heard a sound.)

The Club is an oasis in the sky. Located on the seventeenth floor, the St. Louis skyline along with the Arch was clearly visible and a site to behold. Soft music added to the feeling of luxurious relaxation. Food, ( continental breakfast, lunch, afternoon appetizers, and evening a huge assortment of delicious, impossible to pass by, deserts) were wonderful. In addition to soft drinks, tea and coffee, beer, wine and mixed drinks were all included in the Club Level rate.

In the fitness center spa, I had a best ever Swedish head and back massage with Suzanne. It gave me miraculously relief from persistent pain from a shoulder injury.

Dinner at The Grill was delicious. The room and decor is beautiful and the service impeccable.
Everyone is so friendly, I felt as though I were home. i was amazed how many staff members addressed me by name.

I was so deighted with my stay, that on the next day home, I called to make a reservation for a sort holiday at the end of next month

Room Tip: Seventeenth Club Level is creme la creme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeBridle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,487 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#12 of 123 in Saint Louis
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Address: 100 Carondelet Plaza, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: $265 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel in St. Louis, Missouri, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing