We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you paid for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This is a very nice hotel. It is located in Clayton a area where there are lots of resturants shop and older and newer home and buildings around. The hotel pool is small and only three feet in depth. It is good for kids and adults that don't know how to swim. The hot tub is small also, both are indoors which is good if there is bad weather. The hotel does have a sundeck but we did not go out to it, because we don't need a tan. There is some wear on some of the fixures in and out of our room. But its a hotel and things go thru wear and tear. Staff is very nice what you would expect for this class of hotel. If you have the $$$ and want to be within minutes from downtown St. louis this is worth a look.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IllinoisMailman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 910 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

The service at the Ritz Carlton is absolutely fantastic. Since my second visit nearly the entire staff, some of whom I had not met, greet me by name. There is no request too small, from replacing forgotten toiletries, to dinner reservations, to transportation, the Ritz gets service and exceeds even a discriminating traveler's needs. This property is perfectly located if you're doing business in Clayton, everything is within a 10 minute walk. And if you're going to a ball game or downtown, the Metrolink light rail can get you there in about 20 minutes for about $2.00. If you take the Metrolink from the airport, there is a connection, but if you've got just a bag it's a 5 minute walk to the station and a 25 minute ride. A taxi is $30 from the airport. The one issue I have with this Ritz is that it is an older property. While that means large, luxurious marble bathrooms and huge rooms, it can also be hard to find a power outlet. There are none if you're working from the bed and the desk has a few but they're hidden in the paneling and don't fit every type of power adapter. Also, because there is a cigar lounge there is a pretty deep smokey smell throughout the lobby area. Wireless isn't free and parking is about $25 per day so be prepared to pay a bit more for the great service, though truly there's no better place to stay in Clayton if you're looking for a full service hotel. Weekends are usually filled with wedding parties, while the week is packed with business travelers.

Room Tip: Suites end in 01. Concierge floors are 17 and 18. Even numbered rooms face downtown and the arch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiger02trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stay at the Ritz-Carlton St Louis once a year or so. They have a nice package that includes breakfast and parking, making it an affordable treat now and then. The hotel is spotless, and although other reviewers commented on the cigar smoke, we could not detect any. Check-in was painless. The rooms are large! No view from the lower floor we were on, but that's ok. Breakfast was delivered via room service both mornings we were there. I believe the person who delivered the first day was new, as we didn't get the usual room service "service," he just rolled the cart in and left. The next day was the usual service in that the person who delivered moved the chairs around the cart and made sure everything was just right.

If you've never stayed in a Ritz-Carlton, this is a very affordable way to try them out. Our room, with breakfast and valet parking, was $239 plus tax.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normal Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Lovely classic hotel. Sumtuous lobby. Attentive staff. Classic comfortable rooms. Marble tile bathroom with large tub. Overnight shoe polish. Missed suit butler. Shampoo was detergent.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

AMAZING Service! Front Desk was wonderful and warm, Parking attendant was so nice and welcoming, Cigar Bar was very cool and bar tenders knew a lot. They need better Bath Amenities - Very generic product for a Luxury Hotel. I don't travel with liquids anymore so I don't have to check bags, and I count on the hotel to have decent bath products, but these were not good. All Starwood Luxury Collection Hotels have some kind of branded amenities and they're great! Also, location was weird. I thought I was booking downtown St. Louis, but it is far from ... My fault that I didn't pay attention.

Room Tip: Ask for a High Floor Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jrent316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I travel approximately 30% of a month. Normally I stay at a Marriott. This was my third stay at a Ritz-Carlton. My other two stays were in Denver. My experience was flawless and I had high expectations. This Ritz-Carlton was very disappointing. Check-in was poor. Front desk was fighting with housekeeping and was eager to share her frustration with me. after listening to her argument with other staff I was finally checked in. Bellman accompanied me to my room. When he opened the door he was embarrassed. The room belonged to a couple that was preparing for a romantic evening. I was relocated to "better" room. Better is a relative term but at Ritz-Carlton there is a certain standard that is expected and this hotel really is struggling. The windows were dirty, and some of the staff needs help with customer service. I would not stay at this particular Ritz-Carlton again. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jvl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I enjoyed my stay here except for one thing - the Cigar Room adjacent to the restaurant. It emitted the horrible stench of cigar smoke into the dining room and lobby. I ate lunch there the day we arrived, but because of the sickening smell I refused to eat there again for either lunch or dinner when the cigar smokers were present. This was just about the most unpleasant thing I have ever encountered in a hotel of this level. I am at a loss to understand why it even exists, when it makes so many guests so terribly uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MAKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,445 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#36 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,181 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#11 of 123 in Saint Louis
835 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Address: 100 Carondelet Plz, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: $272 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Situated in the heart of Clayton, MO, which boasts a prestigious business district and affluent suburban residences, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis is considered one of the finest luxury hotels near Downtown St. Louis. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing