We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd, but pleasant and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Seeming modern hotel show signs of older vintage on the inside -- weird connectivity, small hallways, smallish rooms with small bathrooms. However, it's very clean, has free garage parking, free internet, good fitness center and pool, free (and excellent) breakfast, at a very reasonable price. Very convenient for WUSTL and Forest Park. Proprietor Pete Nes introduces himself to customers at breakfast, which is rather nice in today's transactional world.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uwman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience @uwman! It is a privilege to receive such kind words from a seasoned traveler like yourself! I'm so please to know we were able to provide you with clean, valuable accommodations - and Pete says hello! On behalf of us all, thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was our pleasure and we hope to have you with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 987 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

The entrie staff is extreemely friendly, courteous, and helpful and Jaimme and Samanthya at the front desk went out of their way to help make sure that my stay was the best possible stay it could be. The rooms are clean and nice, the laminate flooring is much nicer than carpeting in my opinion. The breakfast buffet is fantastic and very much worth the value.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jylantir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review @jylantir! We are so happy to see that Jammie and Symantha delivered our signature service and they certainly appreciate you taking the time to commend them. We're glad you found comfort, service and value in our accommodations and we can't wait to see you next time you're in our city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Old, dirty, smelly hotel! The pictures are terribly misleading. The "updates" appear to have been completed by Harry Homemaker with materials (residential) materials purchased on closeout at a local HOBO Home Improvement store. 6 panel pine doors with 1 inch of poorly applied shellac??? Carpet ripped & stained, wallpaper ripped & delaminating- even "patched" in some areas! We opened the pull out bed, & the "debris" underneath was clearly visible & obviously hadn't been cleaned in ages. The bathroom fixtures were old, drains barely worked, & the water temperature had almost zero regulation- scalding or very cold...those were the options. Upon arriving into our room we were overcome with the smell of sewer gas & an overall smell of "funk". The common areas weren't any better- the whole hotel was a hodge podge of building with ramps/stairs/poorly lit halls to navigate. The pool was disgusting & small. The "free" arcade- a joke. We arrived late & had to stay the night. Between the sirens, car alarms & ridiculously loud hvac system we barely slept a wink. We checked out by 8am the following morning. Terrible experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Wow, 11Rebecca! We are so sorry to see this! I only wish that you would have brought your concerns to our attention while you were with us. I would have called right away upon checking in if I were "overcome" with any odor. I know you had your dog with you, could that have anything to do with it? We do not claim to be a new hotel and we have work being done that seems to be ongoing. Lots of investments have been made to this hotel and the public areas are undergoing their revamps - but even now, I don't know which areas you could be speaking of. The carpet has literally just been replaced a little over a month ago and to my knowledge, there are no rips or stains to be seen. HVAC systems are practically brand new. Again, I'm just sorry you didn't give us a chance to make anything better - that's what we're here for. We wish you happier travels in the future and just a friendly traveler tip: if something isn't right, let someone know. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room wasn't ready but the woman went ahead and found a room for us so we could check in a bit early and gave us bottles of water. She gave us recommendations for where to eat that night with a local map. It was nice to have covered parking (free over the weekend, not sure if it is all the time). Yes, as others have said the layout is a bit confusing, like they took 2 different buildings and connected them together so there are different sets of elevators, ramps and things but it didn't affect our stay at all. We were on one of the top floors and the room itself was beautiful with very high ceilings, big comfortable king size bed, very nice bathroom & shower and a refrigerator/microwave (no view though). Wish we could have stayed here for more than one night! On Sunday morning it was kind of awkward having the "elevator man" there in this tiny little elevator to push buttons for us (we don't usually stay at hotels with one of these!) and felt it kind of took up space in an already small spot. We did eat the buffet breakfast which was decent. The best thing was probably the pizza which I didn't mind eating in the morning. Toughest part was finding a spot to sit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flonlolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us @Flonlolo! We are so happy to know that you had such a good time with us and we hope you'll come back next time your travels bring you to St. Louis! Thank you for the compliments to our front desk! Yes, parking in the garage is FREE on Friday & Saturday nights. Other nights are only $6 though, which is still more than fair. I'm glad the layout didn't throw you off too much - I know we're a huge property! PS - I LOL'd at the "elevator man" comment! We don't typically have that, but at times of high traffic we have someone keep the elevator moving - because those elevators are being replaced as we speak and only one car can be worked on at once. We are excited for the finished product! Please come see us again soon and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Yes this is an older hotel. Yes the elevator takes forever. Yes the rooms are small. But it is comfortable and the staff very friendly. Ad a frequent traveler I look for a comfortable bed, reasonably quiet location, and good service. I've stayed at many Ritz Carlton hotels and comfort inns. While the price was a bit higher than expected, it's still a very nice hotel.

Breakfast buffet wasn't anything special with horrible coffee. But that's not too unusual these days. What was superb was the omelet that was made to order. One of the best I ever had!

But what really made it good was the staff and their friendly let me help you attitude. No rudeness or curtness ... That's rare these days and much appreciated!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank jskyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thanks for the review, jskyler! You're right - our hotel is not new and we've been here for some time, so anyone looking for a new construction hotel might not find what their looking for. However, we pride ourselves in consistently providing the best value in Clayton - and our central location alone is worth a pretty penny. You also mentioned the elevator and I am happy to say that we are currently replacing both elevators. We can only work on one car at a time, which does slow things down a bit - we thank you for your patience. On behalf of everyone here, we sincerely thank you for your compliments to our service as that is our ultimate goal. We hope you'll come see us again next time and again, THANK YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Good location, awesome breakfast, good receptionists. Close to all kinds of places to visit and will really would stay again. Rooms was spacious and very comfortable, maids did a great job of cleaning room and were very friendly

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latino729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're so happy that we were a part of your vacation and thank you for including us! I will pass along the kind words to our Front Desk and Housekeeping teams - we work for feedback like this! Please come stay with us again when you're in our great city and thanks again for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed overnight. The hallways are alittle dated, but the rooms are fantastic! The front deck and staff overall were GREAT. They were very helpful and did what ever they could to make the stay great. The best part I would have to say is the BREAKFAST 10+ stars!! I was the best hotel breakfast we have ever had! We didn't get to use the pool but it looked awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thanks, Michele! We're so happy to know our staff made you feel so at home and were a great part of your stay! Yes - the breakfast is something no one can touch! We're finishing our room renovations as we speak and the hallways and public spaces are next on the list! We're improving every day and I hope you'll come see what's changed next time you're in our area! Thanks again for staying with us and for your great review! We'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
The Cheshire
#46 of 122 in Saint Louis
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#77 of 122 in Saint Louis
843 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Plaza Hotel

Address: 7750 Carondelet Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3317 (Formerly Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: $118 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clayton Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clayton Plaza Hotel in St. Louis, just 15 minutes from Lambert St. Louis International Airport, centrally located in the heart of St. Louis's most prestigious business and residential district and within walking distance of many of St. Louis s finest restaurants, bars, boutiques, and galleries. The Clayton Plaza is conveniently surrounded by notable Forbes & Fortune 500 corporations such as Monsanto, Brown Shoe and Morgan Stanley, to name a few. Nearby attractions include Saint Louis Galleria, Washington University, Gateway Arch, Union Station, Busch Stadium (Cardinals Baseball), Edward Jones Dome (Rams Football), Savvis Center (Blues Hockey), Anheuser-Busch Brewery, Grant's Farm, Forest Park featuring St. Louis Zoo, Muny Opera, Fox Theatre, Convention Center, Casinos and Six Flags. The Clayton Plaza Hotel has recently completed a $10.5 million renovation. Come and experience the Clayton Plaza difference, pamper yourself in the spacious and relaxing guest rooms featuring the seven-layer-bed sleep amenity package and complimentary wireless high speed internet access. The Clayton Plaza boasts over 21,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including the Top of The Tower Crystal Ballroom. Stay at the Clayton Plaza Hotel and experience our consummate service and attention to detail. We deliver the Clayton Plaza promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza St Louis
Crowne Plaza Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing