We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Party Bonfire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Wauwatosa, WI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday Party Bonfire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a lovely property. Everything was clean and since I don't follow decorating trends, the furniture was serviceable and comfortable. Getting around it can be a bit confusing since the CP combines two hotels into one. Since they were at different elevations this necessitated a number of ramps and the use of different sets of elevators depending on where one wants to go. However, every staff member is apparently trained to property direct guests as needed.

The buffet breakfast was ample and good. Hotel parking was fine and very inexpensive. The hotel is surrounded by County gov't buildings but there are lovely neighborhoods nearby if you want to take a walk. Close to the freeway and Forest Park Blvd.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for the great review, Sunthirsty! We're glad you appreciated the accommodations and enjoyed the breakfast - we hope you'll come see us again next time you're in our area! Thank you for staying with us and we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    261
    131
    72
    64
See reviews for
334
157
59
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with family of 5. Kids had a great time in the hotel and enjoyed the pool. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Location was great and staff was friendly. Did not explore the area, but had great pizza at Imo's

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopherlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves and that the kids had a good time - and Imo's is the best, isn't it? It was our pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again next time you're in St. Louis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here for business for four nights. The decor was dated, but everyone I encountered was very friendly. The breakfast in the mornings was very good. Decent location, good price. The only thing I found strange is the layout. I definitely got a little lost twice, since I had to stay in two different rooms due to two different reservations.

Room Tip: I was on the club level for three of the four nights, definitely a step up for not a huge price diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smittie684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello, Smittie684 and thank you so much for your candid review! We sincerely appreciate the you took to share your feedback with us and I'm happy to see that your stay was overall enjoyable. I know the layout can be confusing since our hotel consists of three different buildings, but we have really spent a lot of time and effort making sure signage is placed appropriately all throughout the property. We still are in the midst of remodeling, but I hope that next time you return to us you will be as happy with the decor as you were with the service! Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We were here for parent's weekend at WashU. Not a particularly clean hotel. Furniture in rooms had crusted on goo. Hallways need a good vacuuming. Very beat up decor. Look somewhere else if you need a place in Clayton. Only good thing is location.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlondePhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're sorry to hear these things, but we will certainly make sure your concerns are addressed with our staff. We thank you for staying with us and we wish you safe and happy travels in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Read the mixed reviews, but liked the brand, price and location and gave it a go. The lobby is very nice and the front desk staff was extremely friendly. We were on the sixth floor and the hallway was clean and nice. Even though the floor was wood laminate, it was nicely done and the bathroom was big and nice. Parking was a little confusing, but no big concerns. Breakfast was good, but nothing note worthy. Overall, I liked the stay and would stay there again.

However, we found by accident, that there are two sixth floors. The other floor looked nothing like the one we were on. I can understand why some of the reviews said what they said. It was clearly not to the standards of the Crown Plaza. My suggestion would be to check out your room once you get there and make sure it is acceptable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mataturider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks, Mataurider, for taking the time to share your experience with our community! We are so happy to have such an avid traveler like yourself share your feedback with us and we appreciate the time it took for you to do so! I'm glad you had a good stay and I know what you mean by wandering off to the other sixth floor - that tower has been renovated as far as rooms go, but we are still waiting for the season to die down before renovating the hallways and public areas - but still, that was a good observation! As I always suggest on here, if the hallway carpet is enough to turn your whole stay negative, I say make sure you book a room in the "Executive Tower" - it comes at a slightly higher rate, but that way you know you're getting into the section that you hear about the most. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

With a kid at Washington Univ., we stay here because it is a great location near the school. However, the hallways are DINGY and when we arrived it smelled like some commercial deodorizer. The room was better, and reasonably quiet. However, its like being in a maze to get to it. The elevator floor was filthy. Parking is good and free on weekends, Breakfast comes with the room and was very good; omelets made to order and service very friendly. Again, the restaurant is dingy. CP you need to refurbish this place!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenmom1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback, goldenmom! Overall, I'm glad to see that you found value in our accommodations and you benefited from our close proximity to Washington University. I certainly understand your comment about the hallways and this pertains to our carpeting, which we are replacing at year's end. I hope you'll come see us again soon though and if you come back next year, I think you will be happy with the projects that will have been completed! As always, we sincerely thank you for staying with us - see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The Crowne Clayton is an older hotel in need of a refresh. It has a good location in Clayton and is well situated but misses the mark on comfort and aesthetic appeal. The rooms are pieced together in a manner that is functional but blends old and new and has a feel that is more dorm room than hotel room. While this was disappointing the service, cleanliness, quality of the personal products and free wifi was a benefit. Certainly not awful but there are better choices at the same price point in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, David! We are glad to have you with us and I'm glad that you enjoyed the amenities and service from our staff, but I'm sorry you didn't think as highly of the aesthetics. I certainly understand, but I think this is more related to the carpeting throughout the hallways and corridors instead of the actual hotel rooms - and believe me, we are on top of that. We are just waiting for business to slow before replacing it. Hopefully our value will bring you back to us again in a few months and you'll be able to see the revitalized look once that project is complete. We thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to have you back again! Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
1.9 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#38 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
3.9 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Plaza Hotel

Property: Clayton Plaza Hotel
Address: 7750 Carondelet Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3317 (Formerly Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clayton Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clayton Plaza Hotel in St. Louis, just 15 minutes from Lambert St. Louis International Airport, centrally located in the heart of St. Louis's most prestigious business and residential district and within walking distance of many of St. Louis s finest restaurants, bars, boutiques, and galleries. The Clayton Plaza is conveniently surrounded by notable Forbes & Fortune 500 corporations such as Monsanto, Brown Shoe and Morgan Stanley, to name a few. Nearby attractions include Saint Louis Galleria, Washington University, Gateway Arch, Union Station, Busch Stadium (Cardinals Baseball), Edward Jones Dome (Rams Football), Savvis Center (Blues Hockey), Anheuser-Busch Brewery, Grant's Farm, Forest Park featuring St. Louis Zoo, Muny Opera, Fox Theatre, Convention Center, Casinos and Six Flags. The Clayton Plaza Hotel has recently completed a $10.5 million renovation. Come and experience the Clayton Plaza difference, pamper yourself in the spacious and relaxing guest rooms featuring the seven-layer-bed sleep amenity package and complimentary wireless high speed internet access. The Clayton Plaza boasts over 21,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including the Top of The Tower Crystal Ballroom. Stay at the Clayton Plaza Hotel and experience our consummate service and attention to detail. We deliver the Clayton Plaza promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza St Louis
Crowne Plaza Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing