We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, great room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, great room”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and was very pleased. I often look on these sites to help me choose hotels for my vacation so I hope to leave a thoughtful and helpful review.
Pros:
Location- this hotel is located in beautiful Clayton, MO. Very upscale location. Within minutes of malls and walking distance to several local restaurants and bars. We enjoyed several nights of eating at these restaurants. (CJ muggs and bocci bistro are two we went too-- both really good and good drinks!) The hotel felt very safe and secure. The parking garage was well lit and clean. Felt safe walking around at night.
Breakfast buffet: made to order omelets-- wow great! Not many places can you find a made to order omelet. Breakfast was included but I did feel the need to tip. The wattresses did great and more like a regular restaurant instead of a "hotel breakfast". The actual owner greeted us for breakfast. Was very impressed with this and he was really nice. The food was fresh and every one friendly.
The dry sauna was relaxing, clean, and refreshing
The room smelled clean and loved the flooring. Our room had a fridge and microwave which was very nice. Felt very warm and inviting. Plenty of outlets for appliances and electronics. LOVED this! No need to being extra plugs. Plugs were even built into the headboard, and microwave. Reading lights were provided and attached to bed! In room Safe was very large to accommodate a 17" laptop and other objects.
Front lobby- very helpful and friendly at check in
Business center clean and had no trouble getting documents that I needed to print

Cons:
Water pressure in bathrooms: the shower was huge and nice but the water pressure was so non existent that you had to squeeze and stay in one spot in the shower
Bedding could have been more comfortable. Have stayed at hamptons and Hilton's with down comforters and thicker mattresses. I slept we'll but the bedding material could be better.
Pool: towels are provided but these feel more like hand towels instead of pool towels. Recommend bringing your own or asking for extra towels at desk

Besides these few things, my stay was amazing. Very clean, great safe location, wonderful staff, good rooms, more upscale feel. Would stay here again!! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmwong2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you, Cmwong2011, for taking the time to share your feedback and recommend our hotel! We were delighted to have you and there is no better reward than to hear your kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to having you again next time your travels bring you this way! I'm sorry about the water pressure - that's not something typical and I will definitely address that. Thank you again for staying with us and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    277
    134
    75
    67
See reviews for
352
163
60
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Crowne Plaza Hotel was perfectly located for the reason I was in Clayton, being across the street from one of the locations I needed to be as well as a 20 minute walk from the other.

The hotel itself was clean with rooms that were the perfect size for having two people stay there. The stay comes with a complimentary breakfast in the restaurant which is a buffet. Overall I was happy with my stay there and would stay there again if I need to be in Clayton once more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear TheLeaf, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with our travel community! We are so grateful that you came all the way from Toronto to stay with us! We sincerely appreciate your kind words and recommendation! We are in a lovely area that provides unmatched convenience and we're so glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Next time you're in St. Louis, please do come and see us again! Safe travels ahead and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Attended a wedding here so we stayed for the convenience. The ballroom used for the reception was actually very nice, service good, food good. But once you left the ballroom, it was all downhill. Property looks and feels (and sometime smells) like they haven't invested any $$ in it since it was built. The area used for the pre-reception cocktails was very stuffy (bad A/C.) Rooms were OK. The free breakfast buffet was good. Other than the wedding reception, that was the high point.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Drutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, Joe! We're pleased to know you enjoyed the wedding, but we will certainly be taking your comments into consideration. Thank you again for taking the time to share and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOMBALL
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Went to St. Louis to celebrate an uncle's 98th birthday. The Crowne Plaza Hotel in Clayton, MO was chosen for its location. The quality of the staff, the accommodations and the buffet breakfast far exceeded expectations because of the reasonable price. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Requested a room on as high a floor as possible. Was given a room on the seventh floor. Could not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenkcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear lenkcpa, thank you on behalf of our entire staff for your rave review and for taking the time to share it with us! Happy Birthday to your uncle and I'm so glad you guys had a good time! I have shared your kind words with our staff and they certainly appreciate your recognition. We thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you back soon! Have a great summer and many thanks again! -Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Branson, MO. My husband went to Washington University and this is about 5 minutes away from the campus. We got a fair price on Hotels.com at the last minute. Room was comfortable but it was a very nice breakfast buffet. Made to order omelets, waffles and other various items. Beautiful lobby and nice parking garage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agilemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you, Agilemoon, for your kind words! We sincerely appreciate the time you took to share your review with our community and we thank you for staying with us! Yes, we are very close to Washington University and we're glad that worked well for you. Thank you for your high remarks about the complimentary breakfast, too! We are proud to provide that large breakfast for all of our overnight guests and we're happy to know you enjoyed it! Please do come and see us again next time you're back in St. Louis! Have a wonderful summer and safe travels ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was a very nice Hotel. I booked the Honeymoon suite because of the bargain I found it for. It had a large King-size bed as well as a sitting area with a love seat and chair by the large tv, a table and chairs to eat at, the desk for your computer, a large dorm-size fridge and microwave, a bathroom with a separate stand up shower and a separate tub and a large heart-shaped jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and it was a very nice selection. It offered sausage links and patties, scrambled eggs, seasoned potatoes and hash browns, pancakes, french toast, all the usual danish, muffins, cereals, etc, 3 kinds of juice and a "made to order" line where you could get omelets, eggs or waffles cooked. It also had a very nice swimming pool with half of it being inside and half of it outside in a nice courtyard area. There was a nice Sauna and a Game room for kids with 7 or 8 games that were all complimentary. Very nice location. This hotel is located approximately 10 minutes from the St. Louis Zoo and 20 minutes from St. Charles. Clayton is a very nice area with beautiful houses and lots of restaurants close by. I will book this hotel again and again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaker38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you, Beaker, for such a detailed review of your stay! There is nothing more rewarding than reading such great feedback and we're thrilled to know you'll be back "again and again"! Thank you for choosing us and have a wonderful summer - see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were on vacation and visitng Wash U and St. Louis so we chose the Crowne Plaza in nearby Clayton and could not have been happier. Our room was kind of hard to find, watch the elevators that correspond to different buildings. We walked around for a while then found our room. Duh!!!

The room was great, nice big king. We were all in for the room, breakfast and parking $104.00. WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was a great hotel at a great price. And one other cool thing; at breakfast the owner (a man in his 70's dressed in a full suit and tie) comes around and greets everyone at their tables. It was cool.

If you are in St. Louis stay here, you'll love it.

P.S. Ate at Pastaria a block away, very good and great ambiance.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, 79! We love nothing more than to hear how much one of our guests enjoyed their stay! We also appreciate your recognition of value, as superior value is something we strive to deliver. I hope you enjoyed Washington University - what a great school (and a beautiful campus) - best of luck to your student! If you come back for Wash-U or are ever in St. Louis again, please come back and see us! Thank you again for taking the time to share and have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
1.9 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#44 of 120 in Saint Louis
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#38 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
4.1 mi away
The Parkway Hotel
The Parkway Hotel
#30 of 120 in Saint Louis
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Plaza Hotel

Property: Clayton Plaza Hotel
Address: 7750 Carondelet Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3317 (Formerly Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clayton Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clayton Plaza Hotel in St. Louis, just 15 minutes from Lambert St. Louis International Airport, centrally located in the heart of St. Louis's most prestigious business and residential district and within walking distance of many of St. Louis s finest restaurants, bars, boutiques, and galleries. The Clayton Plaza is conveniently surrounded by notable Forbes & Fortune 500 corporations such as Monsanto, Brown Shoe and Morgan Stanley, to name a few. Nearby attractions include Saint Louis Galleria, Washington University, Gateway Arch, Union Station, Busch Stadium (Cardinals Baseball), Edward Jones Dome (Rams Football), Savvis Center (Blues Hockey), Anheuser-Busch Brewery, Grant's Farm, Forest Park featuring St. Louis Zoo, Muny Opera, Fox Theatre, Convention Center, Casinos and Six Flags. The Clayton Plaza Hotel has recently completed a $10.5 million renovation. Come and experience the Clayton Plaza difference, pamper yourself in the spacious and relaxing guest rooms featuring the seven-layer-bed sleep amenity package and complimentary wireless high speed internet access. The Clayton Plaza boasts over 21,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including the Top of The Tower Crystal Ballroom. Stay at the Clayton Plaza Hotel and experience our consummate service and attention to detail. We deliver the Clayton Plaza promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clayton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza St Louis
Crowne Plaza Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing