We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overly pleased!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overly pleased!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I visited this hotel during the last weekend of March 2012. I stayed with friends and we all had a great time!

As soon as you walk in, the ambiance and elegance is top-notch. Piano music, chandelier, fine carpet and furniture- and all spotless, too!

The staff is extremely helpful. I'd booked on a third party site and did not receive the room I wanted. Right away they set off to upgrading me at a reasonable price to the room we all wanted- a king sized suite, smoking allowed. The suite had the feel of a small apartment and was well decorated. The internet access was up to par, and although the "balcony" involved climbing through a window, we all had a blast. At the end of a long night, 4 people comfortably shared the plush Memory Foam king size bed, and woke up feeling alert and refreshed!

This hotel's continental breakfast is by far the best I've come across.The food is delicious, the fruit is fresh, the staff is friendly and you can even have an omelet made ready to order!

I'd have to say that for families with small children, do not expect much.Overall I felt the pool was low grade and the game room left much to be desired. As St. Louis is still a fun town for families and is located less than 20 minutes from the St. Louis Zoo, I wouldn't deduct the pool and games from my score. There's still plenty to do for the kids!

We were attending a show at the Pageant theater that weekend, and there was a shuttle out front that drove us to and from the theater free of charge. That was a plus indeed!

Well designed/furnished, great location, easy to find, plenty of incidentals to keep you pampered, a great internet cafe, sensible prices and a lovely staff made our trip top notch. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, and will be staying there in the future!

Room Tip: If you want a room with special amenities, book through the hotel and not a third part site (Hotwire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timbre345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We love nothing more than to hear from our happy guests, and it's so nice to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs even though you booked through a third-party on the internet - often times this is not an option. We always suggest booking directly with Crowne Plaza, because this allows you to book (and guarantee) a specific room type that meets your needs. When using a third-party internet agent, they usually don't give you an option to choose your room type - which can lead to some disappointment when you arrive at the hotel. I will also take this opportunity to let our community know that as of August 1, 2012, we are now officially a 100% Smoke-Free hotel. I'm glad you got to enjoy it while it lasted though! Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    261
    131
    72
    64
See reviews for
334
158
59
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Outstanding stay. The hotel staff is very helpful and accommodating. The hotel is beautiful and centrally located to the city's main attractions. The subway is just a couple of blocks away and is the perfect solution to getting around. The meals are wonderful and the complimentary breakfast is by far the best I've experienced. My family enjoyed the hotel and St. Louis. I highly recommend the Crowne Plaza. Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: The room I had was very quiet and the service each day was outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review, Mike! We are so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the location is so convenient to everything St. Louis has to offer - so I'm glad you were able to get out and take advantage of that! I will also share your compliments with our restaurant staff, and we're glad you enjoyed the free breakfast! We try so hard to make that a valuable piece of the experience. We hope to have you with us again soon and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Probably once a top notch hotel (the doorman still wear top hats and tails), but past it's prime.

That said, it's in in downtown Clayton, the staff was very nice, the bed was comfortable, the shower worked and the room was huge. Sure the carpets are worn some and the colors are dated and it's a bit overpriced.

If your not getting much cheaper prices here than the other two hotels in downtown Clayton, stay at those instead.

Room Tip: If your not getting much cheaper prices here than the other two hotels in downtown Clayton, stay at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WEO111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that you found the hotel to be adequate, but please be assured we are going through ongoing changes and renovations, so hopefully next time you're in the area, you'll be able to stay with us and find our accommodations to be more than adequate. We look forward to having you back with us and thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Fantastic staff. Super friendly and helpful- bell desk, front desk (though good luck if you need the shuttle off hours-that was surprising given how much the staff seems to be accommodating), shuttle driver, all full of good info. Rooms are nice, stay in the executive tower if you can... The beds are comfy and the big bathtub was a nice surprise. Breakfast is hotel breakfast.
Very close to transit and safe to walk around if you don't have a car. There are restaurants and such within walking distance.
Meeting rooms are mostly nice, though some of the basement ones are less so. Catering was reasonably good. Service, like the rest of the hotel, was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our community! We are so delighted to know you enjoyed yourselves! We all share the same goal - and that is to treat our guests as if they were in our homes. Clayton is a great area - especially with all of the nearby restaurants! I'm glad you enjoyed the Executive Tower - and to all future travelers, that is an option when making your reservation. Sorry about the shuttle service. Unfortunately, shuttle service only operates from 6AM - 10PM. After that, our drivers are gone for the day. We hope to have you back soon and thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We got lost in the parking lot and were quite frustrated but Erin at the front desk was so helpful and took care of our every need! Can't say enough good things about our first experience here

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Jues-23, Thank you so much for your review! I'm so happy to know that I was able to help and our team works very hard to make sure our guests are pleased! It's wonderful to know that your first experience was a great one! Come back and see us again soon - we'll be looking forward to having you! -Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I'm not saying everyone will have a bad experience here, but I sure did. We booked two rooms for a girls weekend. They were very accomodating and gave us adjoining rooms.

My first impression was that the hotel was dated and needed a good scrub, at least in the hallway leading to our room. The rooms weren't the cleanest hotel rooms I have seen. Some of the toiletries were open and had been used. There was hair in the tub. The parking garage was kind of sketchy.

The worst part was that there were hordes of drunk teenagers roaming the halls at night. We called the desk time after time, and apparently at some point things were "dealt with" but it sure didn't seem like they did anything at all that night. Every time we called someone said the security guard was dealing with a disturbance in the "other tower" and couldn't come to our "tower." So, either the hotel needs more security, or they were lying. Regardless, the teens were screaming at the top of their lungs in the hallway about which room was the "party room" and where to meet eachother. We asked them to quiet down but it didn't really matter.

The worst part is three people in our party have toddlers and were really looking forward to sleeping well and sleeping in, and that hope was dashed for both nights of our stay. The second night I asked for earplugs and received some, which helped a bit, but we were still woken up several times.

Also on Saturday a fuse blew in our room. All electric on one wall went out, though the bathroom light and lights on the other wall still worked. The wall that went out in my room went out in our party's adjoining room also. We called. Nobody seemed remotely concerned about fixing it. They sent up some kid who was a janitor, I think. He had no idea what was wrong and said it was because electric went out in the city...except that half of the room had electric and there was nothing else out in the hotel. After about 45 minutes, they offered to move us, but we would have had to pack up and would not have had rooms remotely close to eachother if we'd moved. So, after about 4PM on Saturday until we checked out we had no TV, no fridge, no microwave and no lamps in either room. The fridges started stinking by the next morning even though there was nothing inside, so both rooms started smelling like a big fart.

We had to call the desk a good half dozen to dozen times while we were there over the course of two days, and we are not complainy people. The front desk was dismissive and/or downright snarky at us about our complaints. Eventually they offered us a $50 credit for our trouble with the electric going out. Considering how much rooms in this hotel cost, I was more than miffed. I will never stay in a Crowne Plaza hotel again and I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Just don't go, unless you are a partying college kid who wants to be up all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JosieAbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear JosieAbs,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. I'm pleased our adjoining rooms suited you well. We strive to provide quality service as well as comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all of our guests. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience the unusual situation regarding the noise and power outage caused you. I understand the discomfort these unexpected circumstances had brought you and regret that these impacted your experience at our hotel. Rest assured, your feedback will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel is not very far from downtown St. Louis, so it's a good location without paying the ridiculous rates for hotels close to the downtown. Plus, it is very close to the zoo.

We were given a room that was supposed to have two queen beds only to find out it had two double. They fixed it by giving us the right room. The room had hardwood floors and we liked it because it meant less chances of allergies due to dust and mold. It was clean and looked nice. The beds were comfortable. There was a stand-shower, which was nice. I can't say the same about the first room though. It seems like the hotel has had multiple add on's that makes one part of the hotel better than the other. If you are asked to take the silver elevator you are doomed :)

The pool was nice and clean. We ordered pizza at 8 pm at the front desk to be delivered at 9:30 pm, along with milk for kids but it took about three phone calls and one visit to the reception for it to finally arrive around 10:30 pm. The kids were super tired by then. We had to constantly wake them up so they could drink their milk before going to bed. It was very frustrating.

We got the pizza and movie package, which was a very good deal. It came included with continental breakfast with an omelette bar - excellent! They billed the free movie but corrected it immediately when asked.

Overall, we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room that requires you to get into the golden elevator.... seriously, no silver elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathews79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
PA

Dear Mathews79,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. We are delighted to read you found our location convenient and enjoyed your room accommodations as well as the pizza and movie package. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while staying with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated as this is our best source for improving our guest services.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
1.9 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#38 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
3.9 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Plaza Hotel

Property: Clayton Plaza Hotel
Address: 7750 Carondelet Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3317 (Formerly Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clayton Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clayton Plaza Hotel in St. Louis, just 15 minutes from Lambert St. Louis International Airport, centrally located in the heart of St. Louis's most prestigious business and residential district and within walking distance of many of St. Louis s finest restaurants, bars, boutiques, and galleries. The Clayton Plaza is conveniently surrounded by notable Forbes & Fortune 500 corporations such as Monsanto, Brown Shoe and Morgan Stanley, to name a few. Nearby attractions include Saint Louis Galleria, Washington University, Gateway Arch, Union Station, Busch Stadium (Cardinals Baseball), Edward Jones Dome (Rams Football), Savvis Center (Blues Hockey), Anheuser-Busch Brewery, Grant's Farm, Forest Park featuring St. Louis Zoo, Muny Opera, Fox Theatre, Convention Center, Casinos and Six Flags. The Clayton Plaza Hotel has recently completed a $10.5 million renovation. Come and experience the Clayton Plaza difference, pamper yourself in the spacious and relaxing guest rooms featuring the seven-layer-bed sleep amenity package and complimentary wireless high speed internet access. The Clayton Plaza boasts over 21,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including the Top of The Tower Crystal Ballroom. Stay at the Clayton Plaza Hotel and experience our consummate service and attention to detail. We deliver the Clayton Plaza promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza St Louis
Crowne Plaza Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing