We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant”
Review of Cafe Napoli

Cafe Napoli
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 6/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #3 of 86 Restaurants in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bemiston
Description: When Tony Pietoso opened the original Cafe Napoli in the '80s, it quickly became a success. So Successful, in fact, that it moved to a bigger location at 7754 Forsyth Blvd. The restaurant continued to flourish with its generous portions of regional Italian specialties. Cafe Napoli has recently undergone a facelift and has added Bar Napoli next door. The swank cocktail lounge has soft lighting and a separate wine room that can accommodate 30 diners. The kitchen is headed by chef Jeff Davis, who has been with the restaurant for several years. Fortunato Pietoso, Tony's brother, has also returned to the kitchen. Tony makes rounds chatting with customers, many of whom appear to be on a first-name basis with him. The sons Ande and Kye split their time between the Bar and Cafe, as they are being groomed to take over the family business. Cafe Napoli is a must visit when in the St. Louis area. Some guests include Tony Bennett, Gloria Estefen, Joe Torre and Arnold Palmer to name a few.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate outside and had an excellent meal. The Atlantic Salmon was among the best I have had. Can't wait to come back.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rdhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 324 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2019

Interestingly, my companion asked that the fish be prepared with lemon butter on a bed of spinach, instead of the menu version with red sauce. The waiter complied cheerfully. Sounded wonderful so I asked for the same meal. The fish came crispy on the outside and delightfully tender and moist on the inside. The sauce was a wonderful lemony butter companion that was light, fresh, and seasoned the fish and spinach to perfection. Melted in my mouth. I will come back over and over again.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

Napoli has been a close dependency of mine for years. Not the bar scene, but the restaurant. The food is incredible. Service bar none. Management friendly and always helpful. Tony, the owner is always walking the floor making sure you have the best experience. Chip, the chef is..... RIDICULOUSLY talented & able to create specifically to your tastes upon request. LOVE.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank constantadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Celebrating our Anniversary, we chose Cafe Napoli. The perfect choice! Frankie, our waiter, made the evening. He was knowledgeable, Italian by heritage, knew the wine list extensively, and made our evening with handmade desert table side. Food was awesome. Wait staff was just as good.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank K1286LFpaulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

Food was four to five stars and if I’d been here dining on my own, I’m sure things would have been different.

As guests at a dinner for 100 people we were pleased with the strong drinks and tasty appetizers. After being seated we enjoyed the buffet with salad, pasta in a great vodka sauce, chicken parm and salmon. Surprisingly good for a buffet!

The hosts then showed a 10 minute video of the couple on all the video screens.... and three servers came out and began wrapping up the leftovers while standing directly in front of the screen..... extremely rude! Thirty guests cheered when I told them to get the hell out of the way. Another server went to a prominently positioned cash register and began totaling up the receipts from the bar, etc...... couldn’t that be done away from the guests?

Not to be outdone, as the party was winding up, they began folding up tables which guests were still sitting at!

Having personally hosted four weddings, multiple receptions and dinners, I would have been livid at how insensitive the servers were and how rude and seemingly clueless they behaved.

Seems like a management issue...... I feel bad for my friends who hosted.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Chicagonative_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Napoli also viewed

 
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Been to Cafe Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing