We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more attention to details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Reviewed December 5, 2009

The staff is fairly professional, & the location was fine, but they need to take the cleaning up a notch. As I entered my first room, I noticed that they didn't finish cleaning it (i.e. old, used soap in dish, garbage not emptied, etc.). Called to complain, went down to get a new key, & didn't have to wait in the line for the new key. (The not waiting part was good customer service.) Next room - toothpaste spittle on the mirror, countered needed wiped down, light switches & phones were grungy. There's no excuse for that.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVMountaineerinIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 768 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2009

The hotel was nice. The rooms were a good size and clean. It was centrally located to downtown Clayton. We were there for a wedding and happened to be in town for the annual Art Fair, which was really nice.
The only downside was that the front desk staff wasn't really organized. They messed up on our bill and it took them well over a half hour to correct it. In the end, the bill was fixed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GurpreetSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

My husband, son & I stayed here to visit Wash U, and found this Sheraton to be a great home away from home. The front desk personnel are warm & friendly...in fact, everyone we came into contact with was very pleasant! The phone operator arranged a shuttle for us with total expediency, and the shuttle drivers were all very professional and courteous. I was very impressed by the energy they had, popping out of the driver's seat to run around to the passenger side & open our door. The room was well appointed, clean, and fresh. The hotel's location is very close to Wash U, and the shuttle comes & goes frequently. You can't beat the price/value relationship! We found a great Thai restaurant (The Blue Elephant) within walking distance. We were so pleased with the hotel and it's service, that I booked it for two future trips to Wash U. I recently called to extend our reservation, and the front desk employee who answered couldn't have been more pleasant--I was definitely smiling on my end!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My husband and I decided to get away for the weekend, and chose this hotel because they had a special: $85 per night for a king-sized bed guest room. We were right in the middle of Clayton, within walking distance from many great resteraunts and a very short drive from Forest Park, Delmar Loop, and other activities.

The service was outstanding--from the concierges to the bartenders (EXCELLENT lounge, and food, by the way!) to the maintenence staff, everyone was friendly and did their jobs with excellence. The only reason I gave the room four out of five was because it had the slightest unpleasant odor--just that room, though. Otherwise everything was very clean and we were very well taken care of.

Huge, deep pool which was very nice, but no hot tub--we really wished there had been one. Nice work out facility, and overall very updated and modern hotel. Our only complaints were the strange smell in the room, no hot tub and $7/night parking (ouch!)Definately different than the Sheraton West Port we accidentally tried to check in to--that place was clearly running down and had a much less friendly and clean atmosphere.

We will be returning to the Sheraton Clayton Plaza!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heartland_newlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

My stay was fine, not any real problems or complaints, just not exactly what I was expecting from a Sheraton. I was able to get a good rate through my father's membership in the Sheraton "Preferred Guest" program.
The good: Front desk staff. Wow, they were amazing. Best service I've had in a long time. I was able to leave my bags in a secure location after check out so I did not have to take them to the zoo. 42" TV in the room. wow it was huge. Nice and comfortable beds. Large swimming pool.
The not so good: Parking is $14! No hot tub. At least not anywhere I saw in the pool area. The decor is dated. The water bottle in my room would have cost me like $4 if I had drank it. The WiFi cost about $10 a day.

Conclusion - Hotel is clean, comfortable and staff is great, but without my special rate it would have been WAY overpriced. Not what I expect from a Sheraton.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaVikingsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

42" LCD's -- the best bedding wonderful room and superb Hotel management ! Senior Management Staff welcomes customers every morning in the front lobby ! Any problems and they to help and make things right. They really care !!! Sandy at the front desk is the best makes you welcome once you arrive and went out of her way to make your stay a wonderful one.
The pool area needs a lot of improvement and so the new trent of upselling (internet $10.- parking $14.- )

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We decided to go to St. Louis spur of the moment, and booked this hotel on Hotwire for $75 after taxes. I figured I would have to pay for parking, which was $14, but we didn't know that until after we got our bill under the door. I would say though, for the value it was a good decision. Both times we went to the pool, we had it to ourselves. The pool was probably the best part of the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aciretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cheshire
#46 of 121 in Saint Louis
949 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis

Address: 7730 Bonhomme Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: $133 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis in bustling downtown Clayton. Experience the fresh new look of our recently renovated guest rooms and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis Saint Louis, MO
Clayton Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing