We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, aged, but cozy environment.........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Convenient location, aged, but cozy environment.........”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Located in the heart of the business/office/government area of suburban Clayton, this property is very convenient and within walking distance of all Clayton office buildings. Several ( over 20 ) excellent restaurants and trendy, upscale bars also very close. Old property that has been very well maintained, but the age shows. Staff was friendly and efficient while possibly missing the chance to go the "extra mile". Parking, which based on type of room reserved, can be free, or a $10 charge. Either way, the garage is difficult to navigate and the exit is into some type of alley. The room was very clean, king bed very comfortable, and everything worked perfectly. All things considered, especially getting a room rate for under $100., this is a decent value hotel for a business or pleasure visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for the 4 star rating. The team will work hard to earn the 5th star when you visit us again. We appreciate your very complete commentary about the hotel; especially as it pertains to the Staff being friendly and efficient. The friendliness of our Associates is what differentiates us from other hotels in the area. I promise they will not miss the opportunity to go the “extra mile” when you visit us again.

Thank you again for the comments. We do look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ron Juneman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    191
    154
    85
    51
See reviews for
216
104
60
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had a great experience while at the Sheraton Clayton. I stayed for four days for a conference, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The hotel is also a couple blocks from the metro, which allowed me to check out other parts of St. Louis. I highly advise using this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azubike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Sheraton in MO. We were not impressed. We have stayed in cheaper rooms that we thought were much better.
1st: Our room was not right, the room we walk into smelled like mildew, too small, and had a crib in it (which we did not ask for). It did get fix, they were nice about that and got us into another room.
2nd: Our room, did not have a refrigerator in the room. We stayed for 3 nights with 3 kids. I had milk, oj, and pop with us. I had to keep it in the cooler on ice. I was not happy about that. Its 2013 every room in a hotel should have a small refrigerator. I was even more surprised being it was a Sheraton too.
3rd: there was no microwave.

The room was good enough, we try not to spend much time in it.

The staff was very nice and helpful. The pool was nice but it was hard to get into, the door had problems with your card. It was nice being on the higher floors (16) our view was nice but you also have to wait much longer for the elevator.

Room Tip: Get a room on a lower level, you wont have to wait long for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your posting. You do us a great service by taking the time out of your busy schedule to write. It is through concerned guests, such as yourself, that we gain insight into areas of our business that require attention or areas that may have otherwise gone unnoticed.

I was disappointed to see someone checked you into a room that was not prepared for occupancy. There is no excuse for that type of event.

While we do not have refrigerators or microwave ovens in our rooms, we do make a limited supply of those items available upon request. There is no cost associated with use of those items and you can request them at the time you make your reservation.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Sheraton Clayton Plaza in Clayton, Missouri several times, business/ pleasure. This hotel is a great business hotel or great for a visit to St. Louis. Consistently, this hotel has excellent staff concerned with satisfying your every need. The rooms are spacious, quiet. The lobby has that old world charm without being old. Just nice to sit, relax and take a break. Covered parking is available. After a great breakfast with wonderful staff you're ready for your day. The location is near great shopping and superb restaurants. The rail system in to St. Louis is just two blocks away and makes a trip to a baseball game in St. Louis quick and easy. With all this hotel has to offer, we always return and find this hotel exceeds our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RikiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star rating. Your feedback will inspire the team to continue their pursuit of service excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Beautiful hotel, very clean rooms , customer service from the staff is excellent. Beautiful pool, great lounge and restaurant. This has been a very enjoyable experience ! Very relaxing atmosphere. We will definitely be back on our next visit to St. Louis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star rating. Your feedback will inspire the team to continue their pursuit of service excellence. I noticed your profile shows you with a horse. That reminds me to say that in addition to providing great service, we are a pet friendly hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Spent one night and was impressed with staff and room, although get a room higher than the 4th floor or you might be getting a view of the A/C units.
Staff was awesome, free shuttle from the Airport, although for $3.00 one can easily maneuver the on the Metro and be at airport in 20 min.
Breakfast was very nice, although staff was business and never got recognized again once seated and buffet paid for. Internet is not free, which is a negative in my opinion but expected from a larger chain. Walking distance to many places and food, in a very uppity area.

Room Tip: higher than 4th floor and not on East Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWIBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for the 4 star rating. The team will work hard to earn the 5th star when you visit us again. I especially appreciate you noticing our awesome Associates. The friendliness of our Associates is what differentiates us from other hotels in the area.

Thank you again for the comments. We do look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

First impression was they are very unorganized and the place needs a good cleaning. We stayed there for a family wedding and we all experienced problems. The shuttle service was inconsistent at best and many of my family members had to call for a cab after waiting an hour or more for them not to show up. I think I would choose another area hotel if we go back to the St. Louis area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey. Please accept my apologies for your disappointment in a number of our services. Your comments are being shared with managers of the departments involved so that corrective action may be taken.

I am confident that when you return you will find we have addressed the issues you brought to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.1 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Brentwood
1.9 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#44 of 121 in Saint Louis
937 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites St. Louis - Galleria
Homewood Suites St. Louis - Gall...
#1 of 2 in Richmond Heights
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis

Property: Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Address: 7730 Bonhomme Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis in bustling downtown Clayton. Experience the fresh new look of our recently renovated guest rooms and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis Saint Louis, MO
Clayton Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing