We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Great Experience”
Review of The Crossing

The Crossing
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 7/17
8:00 PM
Ranked #1 of 86 Restaurants in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Central Ave.
Transit: Metrolink station.
Description: Featuring local "farm to table" food using a breadth of farmer in the Missouri and Illinois communities. When asked to define of The Crossing, Owner/Executive Chef Jim Fiala often says that he is a chef that buys locally whenever possible and cooks as any French and/or Italian chef would given the ingredients sourced. Joining Jim is Chef Matt Abeshouse who brings a wealth of passion and expertise in classic French cuisine to the kitchen. Our food is fresh, organic (whenever possible), seasonal and by design very simple. The Crossing stays true to classic techniques and the chefs love showing off their skills and passion for elegant food.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

A great location in down town Clayton Missouri. Food and Service are exceptional.
Nice portion sizes and a great setting. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 243 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

We had a business dinner there with group of nine of us on a Thursday night. The restaurant was very accommodating and set up table up for us upstairs near the bar. The decor the restaurant is nice and they had a good food menu and an excellent wine / beer menu with lots of very good selections by the glass at a normal level and then and an elite level of wines. In addition it appeared that you could also bring wines that were being served on their wine list and they would charge you a corkage fee to be able to bring them in from the outside. All of the staff that we interacted with were pleasant and friendly and we had an excellent server taking care of all of us. We were eating at about 7:30 and the restaurant was pretty full at that time.

In addition to their normal menu they also had a few different specials that all sounded very good. The Caesar salad was good and served with anchovies if desired. Although it was good, the dressing did leave a little to be desired and I have had better at other establishments. A few of us chose the fresh halibut special others chose the trout off the menu and then a few chose some of the Italian selections the duck confit ravioli and stracchi.

The people who had a trout said it was superb. The halibut that I had was unfortunately a bit overcooked whether it was due to too long being seared or waiting while all the other was being consolidated to be brought out to the table. Unfortunately that was a bit of a let-down with such a great piece of fish but all of the contorni that came with it was absolutely wonderful. Another standout was the butternut squash soup which had excellent flavor and was well-liked by those who had it. Although the duck confit ravioli was enjoyed it was another little bit of a let-down a little too salty and chewy maybe from over cooking or just seasoning and would have been better served had as an appetizer versus an entree. One great thing about the menu is that you can get a lot of the pasta related dishes in a half portion or a full portion there for having it as an appetizer.

A few at the table also got dessert and all that had the cheesecake said it was excellent. However the best was definitely saved for last as a few of us also had espresso which was freshly ground both caffeinated and decaffeinated espresso from an excellent selection of beans and superbly made a true barista style event. It was the best espresso that I have had in the last year either in the United States or in Europe.

Price-wise it is what you would expect for the Clayton area with entrees ranging between $30 and $40 in general. We would definitely return although we do think there are better restaurants in that price range in the st. Louis area.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank snrkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2019 via mobile

Pasta is over cooked and mushy. The Irish GM should return to his home and take doom cooking lessons

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Bsb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018 via mobile

I was here with a large group dinner. Food and service were great. Nice portion sizes. I had tge tagliatelle, scallops, and fried apple pie. Also the warm cheese dip was phenomenal!

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank PandMinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

I have never been disappointed in The Crossing which said a lot because I’m very picky and coming from Massachusetts I very rarely order or like seafood here. I ordered the price fixed meel and all of it was very good including the trout! Our waitress was so darling we gave her a humongous topy!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crossing also viewed

 

Been to The Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing