We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Seafood, good location”
Review of Coastal Bistro & Bar - CLOSED

Coastal Bistro & Bar
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Forsyth
Description: There is something truly special about a neighborhood restaurant. It’s the kind of place you can wander into casually for a glass of wine, or meet a friend for leisurely lunch, tucked away at a corner table for hours. That is just what we’re striving for at the new Coastal Bistro & Bar.Coastal Bistro & Bar is inspired by the culinary tastes of the East Coast, West Coast, and Gulf Coast. Whether you’re looking to nosh on a few different items or enjoy a full meal, we’re certain you’ll quickly find your favorites on our menu.We look forward to serving you at Coastal Bistro & Bar!
St. Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Solid Seafood, good location”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We dined as a couple and sat outside. The waitress and her trainee assistant were very friendly but the service quality was just adequate. She did not do a good job with explaining the dishes or specials and could have been more prompt with a few misc. items. I concur with other reviews that the portion sizes were generous for the price. The prices are moderate for STL seafood places. My wife's spring salad was nicely presented in a large mason jar with great lemon preserved dressing. My app of mussels in saffron sauce was good but not memorable. The grilled bread was best part. My wife's seared Tuna was the best dish with lots of sushi grade tuna. My cornmeal dusted scallops and shrimp was mixed. Great scallops and overcooked mediocre shrimp. Overall, this worthy of another visit with reasonable prices and generally very good food (some great and some mediocre). Wine list was reasonably priced and cocktails were quite good too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan-STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best shrimp and grits ever”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

OMG. Huge lunch portion. Really terrific shrimp and grits and other yummy stuff as well. Will be back for this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hirschwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little gem in Clayton, MO”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I were on a college trip and happened upon this restaurant near our hotel. What a lovely spot!

The service was prompt and wonderful -- and friendly! The staff were fun and had great suggestions for the menu.

The atmosphere was casual-- although on the upscale side. You could do a wonderful date night here.

The food was terrific. I had some fish tacos that were quite good. The menu is eclectic -- something here for everyone. My daughter had the potstickers, so there are many different options.

Nice wine list, and the prices were reasonable. I would come back just for the friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seymour2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great late lunch”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Happened upon this little Bistro/Oyster Bar on a Cold Dec. day looking for a place to debrief with a business associate after a meeting. Great open, light decor, tables are not too close together so a good place for a lunch meeting.

Menu is terrific from the daily fresh oyster selections to the homemade soups and sandwiches. Looking forward to going back for a cocktail one evening soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I hosted a 16-person holiday party here. The food was outstanding and the service was phenomenal. They made a custom menu for us, and they made everything so easy! The mushroom tart is yummy, and their bread pudding is to die for! Delicious fish dishes. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjtravelingmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Bistro & Bar also viewed

 
Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 
Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing