We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & Flavorful Sushi!”
Review of Tani Sushi Bistro

Tani Sushi Bistro
Order Online
Ranked #33 of 86 Restaurants in Clayton
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 8, 2019

We stopped in here for lunch on a busy Friday afternoon. The place was packed and we scored the last available table. Our waiter recommended the "Stan the Man" roll and the flaming OMG roll as two of their most popular dishes. Each was delicious & had just enough spice for our tastes but were full of flavor. Service was fast and friendly. Definitely a spot worth returning to, especially if you like sushi!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JimSTL1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 18 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful restaurant with great food
Service is not high end but professional, responsive, and not hovering.
Sushi, specialty starters, and sashimi all top notch.
Squid salad and seaweed salad were well prepared.
Wagyu “Hot Rock” starter is a excellent starter for those who enjoy steak.
Sashimi platter was diverse with excellent fresh fish. House salad was good. Miso soup was average.
All sushi was great and cucumber roullade and California roll were standout. The presentation of Oh My God roll is flaming and nice but we only saw this presented since we did not order it.
Definitely will return. Not cheap, but not overpriced.
Would sit upstairs next time.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank davidmZ7284LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018

Yes, they serve a flaming sushi roll... its fun and it's tasty. Get it if you want to impress someone. I'm more of a Lumberjack role guy... a little spicy, tempered with the creamy coolness of the avocado. Their wasabi definitely clears your sinuses, but its texture is odd and has unusual lumpy bits.

I like the food, and the space is nice, but somehow this restaurant seems hallow. I want this place to have a distinct personality.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Met some colleagues out for dinner and had a great experience at Tani. We order a TON of fish - all were exceptional. We had great service, in spite of the fact that this place is very popular. Really impressed by the good natured, highly professional staff working here - Recommend!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Brad945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

First meal in the new location of Tani and was delighted to find the same excellent food and service in a beautiful, fun environment. The menu is so generous, it's hard to decide what to try. Everything we had was delicious and beautifully presented. This is such a great addition to the Clayton dining scene; missed it during the move, but certainly worth waiting for.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Noni314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tani Sushi Bistro also viewed

Clayton, Saint Louis
 
Webster Groves, Saint Louis
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Tani Sushi Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing