We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seven Gables Inn
Nearby Hotels
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$459
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$129
$116
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Clayton Plaza Hotel(Clayton)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria(Richmond Heights)
$199
$179
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cheshire(Saint Louis)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Moonrise Hotel(Saint Louis)
$229
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
216
112
32
25
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
112
32
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorcontinental breakfastsmall hotelmolly darcychain hotelhistoric buildingfirst floorchocolate chip cookiesflat screendowntown claytoncomfortable bedlouis areast louisparkingvaletcheshiredesk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 408 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Seven Gables Inn during the 2011 World Series and it's a great hotel!

Location is in a very nice business district, plenty of restaurants and bars with the after-work crowd. About 20 minutes from downtown. Boutique style hotel, has a very "cozy" type feel and breakfast is included! Would definitely recommend for anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate all of our guests feedback.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was greeted at the hotel with a delicious cookie to eat during the check in process and behind me was a free and delicious wine, cheese, and cracker tray. the room was very nice but my room was having an issue with the air conditioner as in it didn't quite work.... unfortunately it was over 100 that day I was given a shop fan to help circulate what little air was there. other than that the stay was spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tylerlampley2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review!

We are thrilled you enjoy our hotel and the experience staying with us.

With this being an older hotel and the 100 degree weather we do tend to have some ac issues during the hotter months but we do appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again during your next visit to St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The entire hotel was booked for the wedding we attended which was an ideal arrangement. We walked to the rehearsal dinner. The Molly Darcy bar was a convenient place for relatives to gather. The breakfast was okay, not great, and our toilet flushing capability was not the best. But those are the only things that kept me from giving it a top rating. The staff was always available and eager to please. The structure was quaint, homey and historic. I would not hesitate to recommended the place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 343ChristineL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Seven Gables is a great place for a wedding weekend, from renting the entire hotel out for your out of town guests to hosting your rehearsal dinner or after wedding party.

The team at Seven Gables is always eager to please and treats our guests as if its your home away from home.

We hope to see you the next time you are in St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Seven Gables is a treasure. Quaint, friendly staff and NOT a big cookie cutter hotel.

We stayed at the Gables in the Honeymoon Suite for 5 nights in Aug/Sept during our sons wedding week. The staff treated us like family and we treated the hotel like our home.

Stacey and her staff were responsive to our every need and we appreciated it. No request was too big.

This is the third time we have stayed at the Gables and would highly recommend it.

No elevator but not a problem, the flights are easy and the rooms very homey.

Located in downtown Clayton and walking distance to great bars and restaurants.

They have an arrangement with a local health club that gives guests a daily pass.

The Irish Bar "Molly Darcy" located on the first floor is a great meeting place and the staff of the bar is very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dar6uckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

We remember group well and we had as much fun with your entire group as your group did at the hotel.

Thank you again and we hope to see you during your next visit to St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Selected Seven Gables inn for guests attending a family wedding about 10 miles away. Since it has only 32 rooms, we were able to fill the hotel the nights before and after the wedding. It was quite special to have the whole place filled with family and friends. Everyone thanked us for choosing this small hotel, and found their rooms to be spacious and comfortable. Staff was friendly and willing to help us with everything we needed. Molly Darcy's is a convenient restaurant/bar attached to the hotel. Food there was very good. The continental breakfast included with the rooms could be improved. In addition to fresh fruit and breads, hot breakfast sandwiches are offered, but they really had little flavor and most guests left them behind. The rest of the breakfast items were adequate for a light meal. In addition, at least 12 great restaurants are within 3 blocks of the hotel. Those preferring a larger breakfast had no problem finding nearby options.

Room Tip: A few rooms are on the first floor, but most are on second and third floors. There is no elevator, so be sure to specify if you need to be on the first floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nowork2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.

We take all guest comments very seriously and address them immediately to ensure we are providing our guests with not only what they expect but what they deserve.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again the next time you are in St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews