We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Highly recommended for wedding parties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seven Gables Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Townville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for wedding parties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The entire hotel was booked for the wedding we attended which was an ideal arrangement. We walked to the rehearsal dinner. The Molly Darcy bar was a convenient place for relatives to gather. The breakfast was okay, not great, and our toilet flushing capability was not the best. But those are the only things that kept me from giving it a top rating. The staff was always available and eager to please. The structure was quaint, homey and historic. I would not hesitate to recommended the place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 343ChristineL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Seven Gables is a great place for a wedding weekend, from renting the entire hotel out for your out of town guests to hosting your rehearsal dinner or after wedding party.

The team at Seven Gables is always eager to please and treats our guests as if its your home away from home.

We hope to see you the next time you are in St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    100
    20
    23
    17
See reviews for
71
133
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Seven Gables is a treasure. Quaint, friendly staff and NOT a big cookie cutter hotel.

We stayed at the Gables in the Honeymoon Suite for 5 nights in Aug/Sept during our sons wedding week. The staff treated us like family and we treated the hotel like our home.

Stacey and her staff were responsive to our every need and we appreciated it. No request was too big.

This is the third time we have stayed at the Gables and would highly recommend it.

No elevator but not a problem, the flights are easy and the rooms very homey.

Located in downtown Clayton and walking distance to great bars and restaurants.

They have an arrangement with a local health club that gives guests a daily pass.

The Irish Bar "Molly Darcy" located on the first floor is a great meeting place and the staff of the bar is very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dar6uckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

We remember group well and we had as much fun with your entire group as your group did at the hotel.

Thank you again and we hope to see you during your next visit to St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Selected Seven Gables inn for guests attending a family wedding about 10 miles away. Since it has only 32 rooms, we were able to fill the hotel the nights before and after the wedding. It was quite special to have the whole place filled with family and friends. Everyone thanked us for choosing this small hotel, and found their rooms to be spacious and comfortable. Staff was friendly and willing to help us with everything we needed. Molly Darcy's is a convenient restaurant/bar attached to the hotel. Food there was very good. The continental breakfast included with the rooms could be improved. In addition to fresh fruit and breads, hot breakfast sandwiches are offered, but they really had little flavor and most guests left them behind. The rest of the breakfast items were adequate for a light meal. In addition, at least 12 great restaurants are within 3 blocks of the hotel. Those preferring a larger breakfast had no problem finding nearby options.

Room Tip: A few rooms are on the first floor, but most are on second and third floors. There is no elevator, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nowork2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.

We take all guest comments very seriously and address them immediately to ensure we are providing our guests with not only what they expect but what they deserve.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again the next time you are in St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We got a Groupon for this inn so we thought we would try it out. It was lovely. It was our anniversary. It had a king bed which was comfortable. We were on the second floor and never heard other people. We were worried about that since it has a bed and breakfast feel. We got breakfast the next day. They had lots of choices. It was very good too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mer1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for posting your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and will be coming back!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We like to try out different types of lodging when visiting St. Louis because we go frequently. The Seven Gables is definitely a departure from all the chain hotels in the area. Lots of charm and atmosphere with a comfortable bed and very nice bathroom. We chose a first floor room off the patio. There is no lift, so you have to schlep your luggage up the stairs.
The complimentary breakfast is adequate and saves the trouble of going out to find a place to eat.
The $17 parking fee was a surprise to us because I had understood from other reviews that we could find free parking nearby. Our plane was 3 hours late arriving so at 10:30pm we did not feel like looking for parking.
We had hoped to have a bite in the on site pub, but it had just closed when we arrived. That was one of the reasons we chose the Seven Gables. But the late flight was not their fault. All in all, I definitely recommend staying here. The people at the desk were friendly and very helpful when we asked where we could find a restaurant at such a late hour. We will go another time just to have a drink in their pub!

Room Tip: We liked our first floor room where we could go outside to sit on the patio away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plaidbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate our guests feedback as it only helps us to continue to improve and provide our guests with not only what the guests expects but deserves.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Seven Gables Inn in Clayton has 2 things going for it. 1-location. It is walking distance to lots of fun bars and nice restaurants. 2. Charm- there are 32 guest rooms, done up nicely in an antique-ish way. We stayed in room 318 and never heard a single sound of another guest. It was billed as a king suite, but in reality had 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. This hotel is not for those with physical limitations. The guest rooms are all on the 2nd or 3rd floor and the only way up is by steep circular stairs. The continental breakfast was sub par, really not worth eating. However, the fresh cookies upon check in are delicious. There is a $17 per day parking fee, and no pool or exercise room. We would go back, because we liked the area so much. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kansasbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continue to grow and provide our guests with what they are looking for, expecting and deserve.

We are on the National Historic Register therefore we do not offer an elevator, however we do have bellman here to assist with bags up the steps as well as six rooms on the first floor.

As for the breakfast this is something we continue to work on to improve, we do offer fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, smoothies, yogurt, 2 cereals, oatmeal, 2 juices, coffees, hot tea, Danish, pastries and a rotating hot item.

Our location is also a bonus as we are centrally located in the heart of Clayton which has lots of fun bars and shops to explore, not far from the loop or downtown.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I just had my entire wedding party stay at the Gables. Where to start. The accolades run far and wide, starting from the top. Stacey, the GM, was more than accomodating, friendly, nice and made things easier than I could have hoped for. Needless to say, when the leadership shows this pedigree, it filters down to the staff, which is exactly what happened. The rate we got, the service leading up to the weekend, and any correspondence between us and the Gables was smooth as could be. The locale, of course was one I'm familiar with, and certainly will be a spot visited by those who stayed there this time, no doubt. The only negative was that the hotel has 3 floors and no elevators, but only one of the party was truly inconvenienced by this. I gave everyone a heads-up, so it was common knowledge for those who booked in time! The night of the wedding, the bride and I joined up with friends after hours, the staff kindly opened the side room for us--which I'm sure is standard protocol, but they could have said no. All in all, it was a top-shelf experience, as I asked everyone how their stay was. I thank them for contributing to my magical wedding weekend!!!!

Room Tip: Just be sure those elderly of your party get on the ground floor, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ar6enal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled we were able to contribute to making this weekend so special.

The entire team at Seven Gables Inn takes such pride in our jobs and making our guests feel welcome.

Congrats on your wedding and thank you for taking time to post such a nice review.

We hope to see you again!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.2 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#2 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#27 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
4.1 mi away
Chase Park Plaza
Chase Park Plaza
#32 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 26 N Meramec Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3859
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing