We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great if you are visiting "Wash U"”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seven Gables Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great if you are visiting "Wash U"”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spacious room, clean, very comfortable bed.
Great location for visiting "Wash U"
Walking distance to "Half and Half" - my son's favorite place for brunch.
Parking was great - either in the lot or in the garage. You have to pay for it but that's the price for staying in the city. Worth it to stay in a quaint inn vs. chain hotel / motel.
Never had breakfast here b/c we were visiting our son and ate w/ him so can't vouch but GREAT coffee, can take it w/ you on the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyn_Pearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we are a convenient location to spend time with your son while he attends Wash U.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    109
    27
    25
    21
See reviews for
81
140
39
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the Inn while on a college trip with my daughter. It is convenient to the interstate -- great restaurants, Forest Park and Washington University.

This is not your typical hotel -- it's more like a B and B, and furnished accordingly. Very quaint. You will encounter narrower hallways and stairways. This may not be a great location for someone who has difficulty getting around.

Parking is across the street and quite accessible. There is a nominal fee for parking -- but worth it.

Staff are terrific --very helpful and friendly. They had good suggestions for dinner. If you don't want to go out, Molly Darcy's is right in the hotel. Decent pub food and a friendly staff. This is also where the complimentary breakfast is served, and it's very nice.

There is a lovely courtyard -- we didn't use it because the weather was not warm enough.

Wine and cheese and cookies available in the evening, along with tea and coffee. A big plus when you are coming and going and need a little treat.

We enjoyed our stay very much and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you can't do stairs, tell them. There are some rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seymour2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post such a nice review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. The team at Seven Gables all takes such pride in providing our guests with a positive experience and to make all of our guests feel as if they are at their home away from home.

Our goal at Seven Gables is to provide an experience for all of our guests rather than treating them as a transaction.

We truly appreciate the feedback our guests provide us as we can only continue to improve and provide the best possible service to all who come through our doors.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Inn for a weekend while in town for a wedding shower that also took place here. The Seven Gables was a perfect choice for both. A nice change of pace from your usual "chain" hotels. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The courtyard looked very charming although the weather in March was too cool for us to enjoy it. The complimentary breakfast included an assortment of pastries, cereal, toast, and delicious fresh fruit. The setup, service, and food for the shower couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review. We sincerely appreciate our guest taking time to provide us feedback about your experience with us.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay as well the shower. Seven Gables is a great option when looking for an intimate and unique experience for both.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilB-Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I spent two nights at the Seven Gables and found the overall experience to be quite mediocre. The hotel is quite loud -- it is easy to hear other visitors in nearby rooms. There's no elevator and the stairs are quite narrow. Parking is problematic. Breakfast isn't very good nor consistently well-stocked (we had to go up to the front desk to ask for silverware, the pastries are low quality).

We had hoped for charming but found it quite dreary. Overall the staff seemed friendly, although the valet did leave the windows down in a car in the rain! NOT fantastic customer service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilB-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your review its only with our guests feedback that we can continue to grow and improve on a daily basis.

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay.

We do not offer an elevator due to the fact we are registered on the National Historic Registry, although we do have bellman here to assist guests with bags to and from their room.

We also appreciate your feedback on the complimentary continental breakfast we offer our guests and will pass this along to the bakery that we receive our freshly baked pastries from on a daily basis to ensure that we continue to provide the highest quality to our guests.

We do offer a private lot for our guests parking convenience and we apologize if this was not conveyed to you.

Again, thank you for your feedback as we take all guests concerns very serious and address them all immediately.

We hope you will give us another try.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Seven Gables Inn last night for our Valentine's Day celebration and it was so lovely. We checked in at 11:30pm after dinner and a movie. They have a later check-out time of noon (as opposed to 11:00am norm), which was nice. We got to sleep in a little longer and we appreciated that since we have 3 small children and rarely get to sleep past 7:30 or 8am. It was very nicely decorated and the bed was soooo comfortable!!! We will definitely be staying again. Oh, and we loved the Aveda bathroom products, little Ghiradelli chocolate squares and free Fiji water bottle in our room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We sincerely appreciate our guests feedback and continue to grow and improve as a team from our guests reviews.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and were able to sleep in and enjoy your Valentine's Day!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here a few days on a trip to St Louis. It is a nice and small hotel, and although it might not be luxurious, it has a nice atmosphere. Staff is very nice and helpful even for small things. (When I didn't have the right plug for my IPhone charger, the guy in the reception just gave me his own charger).

Breakfast buffet is small but very nice and very far from the big breakfast halls och larger hotels. It was a nice place to read the paper and watch morning TV.

I would also recommend the area, although it is a bit outside the actual city center. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himself69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We sincerely appreciate our guests feedback and can only continue to improve our service with our guests input.

We hope to see you again during your next trip in St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The most important thing to know about this place is there is no elevator. No problem if you want a room with a king sized bed but the only double queens require one or two long flights of curving stairs. This was not good as my 2 traveling companions both had physical limitations. They need to explain the lack of an elevator to people so they can choose a different place. The rooms were very clean and pleasantly furnished. The bathroom in our room was very spacious. Beds were extremely comfy. The breakfast in the "pub" area was small but very nice. It included fresh fruit and ham and cheese croissants. The desk clerk was very helpful. There is also and extra charge of $17 per night for valet parking.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wininmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Seven Gables Inn is listed on the National Historic Registry and to keep with the charm and theme of being an older building we do not have elevators, we do however offer valets/bellman from 630a-10p on a daily basis to assist our guests with their luggage to the upper level rooms and we also offer first floor rooms for our guests needing to stay on the first floor.

Thank you again for posting your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
The Cheshire
#41 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#35 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#32 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 26 N Meramec Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3859
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing