We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B and B experience in a hotel”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seven Gables Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the Inn while on a college trip with my daughter. It is convenient to the interstate -- great restaurants, Forest Park and Washington University.

This is not your typical hotel -- it's more like a B and B, and furnished accordingly. Very quaint. You will encounter narrower hallways and stairways. This may not be a great location for someone who has difficulty getting around.

Parking is across the street and quite accessible. There is a nominal fee for parking -- but worth it.

Staff are terrific --very helpful and friendly. They had good suggestions for dinner. If you don't want to go out, Molly Darcy's is right in the hotel. Decent pub food and a friendly staff. This is also where the complimentary breakfast is served, and it's very nice.

There is a lovely courtyard -- we didn't use it because the weather was not warm enough.

Wine and cheese and cookies available in the evening, along with tea and coffee. A big plus when you are coming and going and need a little treat.

We enjoyed our stay very much and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you can't do stairs, tell them. There are some rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time to post such a nice review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. The team at Seven Gables all takes such pride in providing our guests with a positive experience and to make all of our guests feel as if they are at their home away from home.

Our goal at Seven Gables is to provide an experience for all of our guests rather than treating them as a transaction.

We truly appreciate the feedback our guests provide us as we can only continue to improve and provide the best possible service to all who come through our doors.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 398 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Inn for a weekend while in town for a wedding shower that also took place here. The Seven Gables was a perfect choice for both. A nice change of pace from your usual "chain" hotels. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The courtyard looked very charming although the weather in March was too cool for us to enjoy it. The complimentary breakfast included an assortment of pastries, cereal, toast, and delicious fresh fruit. The setup, service, and food for the shower couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We sincerely appreciate our guest taking time to provide us feedback about your experience with us.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay as well the shower. Seven Gables is a great option when looking for an intimate and unique experience for both.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I spent two nights at the Seven Gables and found the overall experience to be quite mediocre. The hotel is quite loud -- it is easy to hear other visitors in nearby rooms. There's no elevator and the stairs are quite narrow. Parking is problematic. Breakfast isn't very good nor consistently well-stocked (we had to go up to the front desk to ask for silverware, the pastries are low quality).

We had hoped for charming but found it quite dreary. Overall the staff seemed friendly, although the valet did leave the windows down in a car in the rain! NOT fantastic customer service!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilB-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for posting your review its only with our guests feedback that we can continue to grow and improve on a daily basis.

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay.

We do not offer an elevator due to the fact we are registered on the National Historic Registry, although we do have bellman here to assist guests with bags to and from their room.

We also appreciate your feedback on the complimentary continental breakfast we offer our guests and will pass this along to the bakery that we receive our freshly baked pastries from on a daily basis to ensure that we continue to provide the highest quality to our guests.

We do offer a private lot for our guests parking convenience and we apologize if this was not conveyed to you.

Again, thank you for your feedback as we take all guests concerns very serious and address them all immediately.

We hope you will give us another try.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Seven Gables Inn last night for our Valentine's Day celebration and it was so lovely. We checked in at 11:30pm after dinner and a movie. They have a later check-out time of noon (as opposed to 11:00am norm), which was nice. We got to sleep in a little longer and we appreciated that since we have 3 small children and rarely get to sleep past 7:30 or 8am. It was very nicely decorated and the bed was soooo comfortable!!! We will definitely be staying again. Oh, and we loved the Aveda bathroom products, little Ghiradelli chocolate squares and free Fiji water bottle in our room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We sincerely appreciate our guests feedback and continue to grow and improve as a team from our guests reviews.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and were able to sleep in and enjoy your Valentine's Day!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here a few days on a trip to St Louis. It is a nice and small hotel, and although it might not be luxurious, it has a nice atmosphere. Staff is very nice and helpful even for small things. (When I didn't have the right plug for my IPhone charger, the guy in the reception just gave me his own charger).

Breakfast buffet is small but very nice and very far from the big breakfast halls och larger hotels. It was a nice place to read the paper and watch morning TV.

I would also recommend the area, although it is a bit outside the actual city center. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himself69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We sincerely appreciate our guests feedback and can only continue to improve our service with our guests input.

We hope to see you again during your next trip in St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The most important thing to know about this place is there is no elevator. No problem if you want a room with a king sized bed but the only double queens require one or two long flights of curving stairs. This was not good as my 2 traveling companions both had physical limitations. They need to explain the lack of an elevator to people so they can choose a different place. The rooms were very clean and pleasantly furnished. The bathroom in our room was very spacious. Beds were extremely comfy. The breakfast in the "pub" area was small but very nice. It included fresh fruit and ham and cheese croissants. The desk clerk was very helpful. There is also and extra charge of $17 per night for valet parking.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wininmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Seven Gables Inn is listed on the National Historic Registry and to keep with the charm and theme of being an older building we do not have elevators, we do however offer valets/bellman from 630a-10p on a daily basis to assist our guests with their luggage to the upper level rooms and we also offer first floor rooms for our guests needing to stay on the first floor.

Thank you again for posting your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a great time this past weekend at the Seven Gables. My friend bought us a one-night stay so we could come visit her in St. Louis, and we loved it. The room was beautiful, the bed was comfortable, and there were cookies and coffee downstairs (all good things in my book!). Everyone was so gracious and nice, we were sad we could only stay the one night on this visit, but we plan on coming back, hopefully when it is warm and we can sit on the patio!

Room Tip: The King Suite was very roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback on your experience with us.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Seven Gables.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.2 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
987 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#45 of 122 in Saint Louis
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
4.1 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#36 of 122 in Saint Louis
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 N Meramec Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3859
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: $136 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing