We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient location and cozy atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seven Gables Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient location and cozy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel location is close to restaurants and the metro and streets to get you to the mall or into St Louis. This hotel has no elevators which isn't a problem with luggage since they have people to lug them up the stairs for you if you wish. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There were Ghirardelli chocolates on the nightstand and Aveeno toiletries in the bathroom. The hotel had delicious cookies in the evening and complimentary coffee/hot water for tea all day. The morning breakfast was served in the Molly Darcy's Pub area and was definitely not up to par with the room accommodations and the price that was charged. Even Comfort Suites has a better hot breakfast than this hotel which was a big disappointment. I guess when you stay in a nice city, however, you really don't want to eat in the hotel anyway so if you could opt for no breakfast and get a break on the price that would be great. Molly Darcy's food was good (and of course the beer selection was great) so it was surprising that the breakfast was so dismal.

Room Tip: Our courtyard-facing room had nice large windows to let light in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrankyJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post a review.

We can only continue to grow and provide the service our next not only deserve but expect from our team without our guests feedback.

Thank you again and have a safe and Happy New Year!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    102
    20
    23
    17
See reviews for
71
133
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I booked this stay thru Priceline and was pleasantly surprised by the quality and value. We had a very nice check-in experience with a fresh hot cookie and coffee. The room was great with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful with lots of healthy choices. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura_ana_brinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are definitely much different than the majority of hotels in St. Louis. We do offer that B&B feel with all the modern amenities the larger chain hotels offer.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am a bed-and-breakfast kind of traveler and not a fan of the chain hotels. I love the quaintness of the Seven Gables Inn in Clayton, MO. Its location is terrific - within easy walking distance of good restaurants and many major businesses. Molly Darcy's Restaurant is in the Inn, and has excellent Irish food, and a busy lunch and bar business. The room I was in was comfortable,was well appointed, and had internet access, with everything I needed in the bathroom. THe staff goes out of their way to be helpful, a continental breakfast is included, and tea and coffee are available throughout the day. There are warm cookies waiting for guests in the afternoon. I would recommend this enthusiastically to anyone who like the atmosphere of a small village inn.

Room Tip: The first floor back rooms behind the kitchen pick up early morning kitchen noise and the creaking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLBCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue to grow and provide our guests with the best customer service.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit to St. Louis, MO.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My two children and I stayed in October of 2012. This is a small hotel in downtown Clayton. The location is good; Clayton is a decent place to stay if there is a playoff baseball game downtown that inflates the downtown hotel prices. There are very good restaurants in the immediate vicinity, and Shaw park is about 2 blocks away for a morning run. The continental breakfast is complimentary, and quite nice. Breakfast was in the pub, which we found charming. Our room was a nice size, with a good television and a good king bed.
This hotel had the intimate feeling of a bed and breakfast. You are greeted each time you enter; you walk by the desk clerk on the way to the steps. We were on the top floor, and it was very quiet. They offer complimentary Ghirardelli chocolates at your bedside, and a complimentary bottle of Fiji water.
We did eat a late night snack at the pub, and it was a decent place.
They charge $17 for valet parking (the only option) but we parked on the street about 70 meters north of the hotel for free overnight. You can't park overnight directly in front of the hotel but there is plentiful parking (free after a certain time, I think 6pm or so) on the block directly north of the hotel, and this is a very safe area.
Overall, this was a good experience for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpap10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue to grow as a company and provide our guests with what they are looking for and deserve.

We hope to see you during your next visit to St. Louis.

Sincerely,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Seven Gables Inn is a beautifully charming and timeless boutique hotel nestled in the downtown area. My husband and I stayed at the Seven Gables Inn to attend an intimate wedding in the inn's courtyard - it was the perfect setting. The inn's staff did a wonderful job accommodating all the requests of the wedding party and guests.

The downside of the inn is that it doesn't have an elevator, but a steep staircase, so be careful when walking up/down the stairs. The rooms make up for the steep staircase. Our room was spacious, comfortable and VERY, VERY clean. Some people complained of thin walls and hearing noises in the hallway, but we were never were disturbed.

The best part of our stay were the warm gooey chocolate chip cookies which greeted us upon arrival to the inn. The chocolate chip cookies taste like something from Martha Stewart's kitchen - DELICIOUS!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the St. Louis area for a long weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwsmith_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its with our guests feedback that we can continue to grow and improve.

We are listed on the National Historic Registry and to keep with the charm of the building we do not offer an elevator. We do have bellman/valet here from morning until late night to assist our guests with their luggage.

We are so pleased you enjoyed the Courtyard and our delicious chocolate chip cookies.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I joined my family here for a weekend trip. We had 3 rooms. They were all different and unique. The rooms are creaky and old. Yes, charming. We were on 2nd floor. No elevator. The walls were thin and you can hear people walking above you. (Charming has its downsides.)

If you are used to new, clean, modern amenities you'll be disappointed. Though, I have to say....not many options in this area so you might find this your best alternative. I would certainly stay here again if I am in the area. The hotel staff were all very good, friendly, attentive and helpful.

Like another reader we found that the hotel restaurant and bar were basically closed to us because of a wedding. That was fine until we were ready to go to bed and the party was ON. Fortunately the bartender listened to our issue and let us pay cash and sit outside on the patio.

We paid $17 for valet parking, but we actually self parked in an empty lot across the street (lame, just let us park free).

Room Tip: Be aware of no elevators if you travel with heavy bags. But, know that if you take a low floor, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhodges71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its with our guests feedback that we can continue to improve and grow as a team and hotel.

We apologize that you were not informed in advance that we had a private party being held in the pub and will do a better job in the future informing our hotel guests and its really nice to hear that the bartender found a solution that was satisfying to you. Clayton however is a very nice and safe neighborhood with lots of restaurants and bars all within walking distance from the hotel.

As for the parking rate it is $17 per day, self or valet due to the limited options for parking in the Clayton area but the upside is that you never have to worry about finding a spot.

Thank you again and we hope to see you during your next visit in St. Louis/Clayton area.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

After travelling down from Chicago we had booked this hotel because it advertised a bar. On arriving we went out for some tea. On getting back to hotel found bar was closed to GUESTS because of a private function (wedding party)! What a shambles Room is not that sparkling either for the money we paid.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We apologize that you were not informed about the pub being closed for a private event and we will make sure we do inform all guests for any future events as this is really a rare occasion that we close the pub to the public but we want to ensure all guests are happy with their stay.

We hope you will come back and see us and see what a fun place Molly Darcys can be.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.2 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#2 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#29 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
4.1 mi away
Chase Park Plaza
Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 26 N Meramec Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3859
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing