We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seven Gables Inn
Nearby Hotels
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Clayton Plaza Hotel(Clayton)(Great Value!)
$100
$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$359
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $518/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$144
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria(Richmond Heights)
$139
$129
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cheshire(Saint Louis)
$161
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Moonrise Hotel(Saint Louis)
$199
$152
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveler rating
219
112
32
26
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
219
112
32
26
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorcontinental breakfastsmall hotelmolly darcyboutique hotelhistoric buildingfirst floorchocolate chip cookiesmodern amenitiesflat screendowntown claytoncomfortable bedsst louisparkingweddingvaletcheshire
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 413 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am a bed-and-breakfast kind of traveler and not a fan of the chain hotels. I love the quaintness of the Seven Gables Inn in Clayton, MO. Its location is terrific - within easy walking distance of good restaurants and many major businesses. Molly Darcy's Restaurant is in the Inn, and has excellent Irish food, and a busy lunch and bar business. The room I was in was comfortable,was well appointed, and had internet access, with everything I needed in the bathroom. THe staff goes out of their way to be helpful, a continental breakfast is included, and tea and coffee are available throughout the day. There are warm cookies waiting for guests in the afternoon. I would recommend this enthusiastically to anyone who like the atmosphere of a small village inn.

Room Tip: The first floor back rooms behind the kitchen pick up early morning kitchen noise and the creaking of the second floor rooms above them.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VLBCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue to grow and provide our guests with the best customer service.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit to St. Louis, MO.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My two children and I stayed in October of 2012. This is a small hotel in downtown Clayton. The location is good; Clayton is a decent place to stay if there is a playoff baseball game downtown that inflates the downtown hotel prices. There are very good restaurants in the immediate vicinity, and Shaw park is about 2 blocks away for a morning run. The continental breakfast is complimentary, and quite nice. Breakfast was in the pub, which we found charming. Our room was a nice size, with a good television and a good king bed.
This hotel had the intimate feeling of a bed and breakfast. You are greeted each time you enter; you walk by the desk clerk on the way to the steps. We were on the top floor, and it was very quiet. They offer complimentary Ghirardelli chocolates at your bedside, and a complimentary bottle of Fiji water.
We did eat a late night snack at the pub, and it was a decent place.
They charge $17 for valet parking (the only option) but we parked on the street about 70 meters north of the hotel for free overnight. You can't park overnight directly in front of the hotel but there is plentiful parking (free after a certain time, I think 6pm or so) on the block directly north of the hotel, and this is a very safe area.
Overall, this was a good experience for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpap10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue to grow as a company and provide our guests with what they are looking for and deserve.

We hope to see you during your next visit to St. Louis.

Sincerely,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Seven Gables Inn is a beautifully charming and timeless boutique hotel nestled in the downtown area. My husband and I stayed at the Seven Gables Inn to attend an intimate wedding in the inn's courtyard - it was the perfect setting. The inn's staff did a wonderful job accommodating all the requests of the wedding party and guests.

The downside of the inn is that it doesn't have an elevator, but a steep staircase, so be careful when walking up/down the stairs. The rooms make up for the steep staircase. Our room was spacious, comfortable and VERY, VERY clean. Some people complained of thin walls and hearing noises in the hallway, but we were never were disturbed.

The best part of our stay were the warm gooey chocolate chip cookies which greeted us upon arrival to the inn. The chocolate chip cookies taste like something from Martha Stewart's kitchen - DELICIOUS!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the St. Louis area for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwsmith_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its with our guests feedback that we can continue to grow and improve.

We are listed on the National Historic Registry and to keep with the charm of the building we do not offer an elevator. We do have bellman/valet here from morning until late night to assist our guests with their luggage.

We are so pleased you enjoyed the Courtyard and our delicious chocolate chip cookies.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I joined my family here for a weekend trip. We had 3 rooms. They were all different and unique. The rooms are creaky and old. Yes, charming. We were on 2nd floor. No elevator. The walls were thin and you can hear people walking above you. (Charming has its downsides.)

If you are used to new, clean, modern amenities you'll be disappointed. Though, I have to say....not many options in this area so you might find this your best alternative. I would certainly stay here again if I am in the area. The hotel staff were all very good, friendly, attentive and helpful.

Like another reader we found that the hotel restaurant and bar were basically closed to us because of a wedding. That was fine until we were ready to go to bed and the party was ON. Fortunately the bartender listened to our issue and let us pay cash and sit outside on the patio.

We paid $17 for valet parking, but we actually self parked in an empty lot across the street (lame, just let us park free).

Room Tip: Be aware of no elevators if you travel with heavy bags. But, know that if you take a low floor, you can hear people above you....
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhodges71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its with our guests feedback that we can continue to improve and grow as a team and hotel.

We apologize that you were not informed in advance that we had a private party being held in the pub and will do a better job in the future informing our hotel guests and its really nice to hear that the bartender found a solution that was satisfying to you. Clayton however is a very nice and safe neighborhood with lots of restaurants and bars all within walking distance from the hotel.

As for the parking rate it is $17 per day, self or valet due to the limited options for parking in the Clayton area but the upside is that you never have to worry about finding a spot.

Thank you again and we hope to see you during your next visit in St. Louis/Clayton area.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

After travelling down from Chicago we had booked this hotel because it advertised a bar. On arriving we went out for some tea. On getting back to hotel found bar was closed to GUESTS because of a private function (wedding party)! What a shambles Room is not that sparkling either for the money we paid.

Stayed: September 2012
1  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We apologize that you were not informed about the pub being closed for a private event and we will make sure we do inform all guests for any future events as this is really a rare occasion that we close the pub to the public but we want to ensure all guests are happy with their stay.

We hope you will come back and see us and see what a fun place Molly Darcys can be.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews