We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Bloomfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bloomfield Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Bloomfield as part of a grand tour "down under". It was fantastic. Despite being there in February the weather was pretty good but the highlight was the place itself. All the staff we met were so friendly and helpful; the guides on the rainforest walk and river trip (local people with so much local knowledge), the chefs and their superb food; everyone in fact. The perfect place to chill (no roads, no phone signal, no internet), it was the highlight of our trip. Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnapp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    17
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
113
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here for my wife's 50th birthday and found everything to be as good as you would expect for the price. Even arriving there by small plane, 4WD and boat was an adventure. Flying up we spotted whales breaching to start off the excitement.

The service is excellent, the food was restaurant quality and the location spectacular if you like to be miles from any contact with the outside world surrounded by the stunning Daintree rainforest. An added surprise on the fishing trip, apart from the fish, was bumping into a small group of young people who had berthed their yacht at a small island and were frolicking completely as one with nature while we had a bbq and snorkelled amongst the coral. If you enjoy exploring natural habitat to take in its beauty while completely relaxing with first class service this is an excellent place to be. The chef even went to the trouble of making a birthday cake for the wife on her special day just to top it off for her.

We stayed in a Deluxe Retreat room up a rise that had views of Weary Bay and was a stone throw from a walking trail. It was not the most expensive room but it was well appointed, clean, and had lovely panoramic views stretching across one side.

The staff were friendly, courteous, well informed, flexible, attentive, very efficient and welcoming. The place is extremely well run and maintained.

All in all a memorable four day stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthPacificWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our honeymoon in October 1997. It was an incredible place to stay. Totally unique and the journey getting there just added to the excitement: light aircraft, boat, then on foot. The ambience of the place was perfect, the food sublime. We loved the private picnic on the beach, the nature walks and the incredible food. No locks on the doors or windows but it felt so remote that it wasn't a concern. Amazing!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This unique 'hideaway' lives up to all the superlatives used in the Trailfinders/Bloomfield brochures - and the many accolades provided in the Reviews below. A unique 'resort' doesn't really fully describe it. Yes, it has a location, character, set of 'facilities' all it's own: it's remoteness, it's peace and tranquility, it's superb outlooks and panoramic views too. The multi-medial transportation that gets you to Bloomfield Lodge, the sense of history as you look out over Weary Bay towards the impressive coral reefs and the site where, all those years ago, Captain Cook, one of Yorkshire's finest, had the ultimate 'good fortune' to run his ship Endeavour aground and therefore 'find' the Bloomfield River and the remote rain forests and habitations of what is now the Daintree area of Northern Queensland. All of these add to the sense of history and attractiveness of the whole Bloomfield/Daintree area. Uniquely, you get TWO World Heritage Sites in one!!

Our Bloomfield Suite* accommodation was truly superb. Easily accessed from the main Lodge and facilities across a charming little suspension bridge it commands wonderfully panoramic views over the treetops to Weary Bay. The ultra large elevated wooden deck is equipped with a state-of-the-art Hot Tub and a very comfortable day-bed, all kept cool by strategically placed ceiling mounted fans. The Lodge interior is cool, beautifully furnished and equipped and the large glass-walled bathroom/shower offering total privacy overlooks a colourful woodland garden.

All of this still wouldn't command a full and enthusiastic endorsement of this remote and luxurious resort without the truly exceptionally dedication of resident managers, Courtenay and Ben and their small and equally dedicated team of chefs and waiting staff who provide excellent breakfasts, lunches and dinners in the attractive poolside area. There are private dining booths but the majority of guests seemed, like us, to prefer the 'open' dining arrangements where they could converse with other guests, share stories of many and varied activities enjoyed during their stay.

These include an excellent Forest Walk, fishing from the pier, a full-day snorkelling and fishing trip to the Coral Reef, a visit to a nearby progressive Aborigine settlement, spectacular waterfalls and a separate river trip where you can see, eyeball even, crocodiles - there are also flying foxes, sea eagles, ospreys and a variety of other bird and wildlife. All trips, tours and activities are escorted by the highly knowledgeable team of Guides: Paul, Shayne and Craig most certainly add to the uniqueness of the entire Bloomfield experience. And if you still have some energy after undertaking these tours and activities there is also a small gym and a covered 'sports' area with darts, pool and table tennis and a well stocked library/lounge, also a small pool and adjacent communal Hot Tub. The well stocked bar, 'Honesty Bar' seemed to meet most Guests'needs at very reasonable prices.

* The equally well equipped Hideaway lodges are a little further from the Resort Centre and involve using some quite steep pathways and steps but all provide equally spectacular views over the Forest and/or Weary Bay.

Overall, including the unique air, land, sea transportation, this 'resort' commands a '5 Star +++' evaluation. We reckon it would be virtually impossible to find any resort offering such high standards and facilities in such a fascinating and remote area.

Room Tip: Bloomfield Suite and Hideaways have the highest specifications/standards views. WELL worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Forget about any other places you've stayed at - you'll fall in love with Bloomfield Lodge.
From the moment you're collected from your hotel for the transfer to Bloomfield you know you're visiting somewhere special. Great flight from Cairns along the coast to the smallest airport in the world where Paulie was waiting to take us the rest of the way by minbus & boat.
After the tractor pulls the boat ashore Courtenay & Ben were waiting to make us feel instantly at home. Courtenay does a wonderful job 'front of house' whereas Ben is more in the background making sure everything runs smoothly. Together they're a great team & Bloomfield is a credit to them.
We stayed in a Hideway room with incredible views across Weary Bay which we could take in from our massive day bed or hot tub on our private deck. The room itself was wonderful. Spacious & spotless. Good size bathroom & the first loo with a view we've encountered. Well stocked mini bar with a complimentary bottle of champers on our arrival. The hideaway rooms are a little off the beaten track so be prepared for steep walk but they're worth the extra effort.
Remember that you're staying in the rainforest so be prepared for plenty of wildlife. You will meet snakes, spiders, frogs & all sorts of creepy crawlies so it may not be for people who aren't comfortable with nature. There is opportunity to go deeper into the rainforest on an organised walk which is well worth it. Paulie does a great job sharing his knowledge of the area.
There are plenty of other trips to do. The river trip with Jake was fantastic where we spotted crocs as promised & leant more about the Bloomfield river & surrounding areas.
But by far the best trip to do is the Great Barrier reef trip. Paul & Shane treated us to one of the best days on our Australia travels. Snorkelling on the reef, fishing & lunch on a deserted island will live long in our memory.The more people who go on the trip, the cheaper it is but to be honest i'd have paid any money. We paid more in Port Douglas for a quicksilver reef trip & it was nowhere near as good as this. We were fortunate to be sharing the Lodge with a fantastic group of people (i agree with you Graham) who all went so it was the icing on the cake for us. One of our group caught a Giant Trevally on the way home so that was served up for dinner that night.
And so to food & drink. Dining is communal which was a great to meet new friends but there is a private dining option if you prefer. Breakfast is buffet style with a cooked menu as well. Lunch is a 2 course & dinner a 3 course set menu. if there is anything particular you don't like, mention it to Courtenay & she'll make sure there are alternatives for you. The food is out of this world. There is a fully stocked honesty bar that you can use at anytime.
if you need any help relaxing there is a spa as well as a lovely pool with plenty of comfy sunloungers. A short stroll down to the jetty you'll find rods & bait for a spot of fishing & chairs to sit & watch.
All of the members of the Bloomfield Lodge team are there to make sure you have the best time possible & they succeeded beyond anything we could have imagined. Simply the best.

Room Tip: Hideaway Rooms can't be matched.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Arrived 2nd January having spent New Years Eve in Sydney , what a contrast !
The flight was fantastic allowing views of the rain forest & Cairns, Jake, the pilot was informative about the area and this set the scene for the whole trip !Picked up by Shane at the "airport ", what a great guy he is a legend, Ben & Courtney as hosts are two of the nicest people I have ever met (I know they are paid to be, but this is genuine ). Jamie with his bush tucker walks and ability to spot a crocodile was immense . Ben dragging out an 8 foot Python from outside my lodge to show me the colouring , Paul with his typical Aussie sense of humour great on the barrier reef and fishing and finally Sean cooking great food and Brook the waitress with an English sense of humour .
I think we got it wrong when we sent the convicts to OZ we should have gone their and left the convicts at home . Pity about the cricket result , but its not a perfect world , but Bloomfield Lodge and staff attempt to make it that way . Go their now before the reef disappears !
And finally although all the guests during our visit were British you could not have chosen a nicer bunch of people .
Note ! I see 3 poor ratings of this location I can only think they did not research the place before going , the humidity and events , and the wildlife may not suit everyone but its quite sad that everyone cannot appreciate the sheer beauty of nature as Captain Cook would have actually seen it when he ran aground in Weary Bay those years ago , now that is something you do not see every day of the week !

Room Tip: If you are fit then the views from 22/23 are to die for , but irrespective of the location of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Nom la Breteche
Level Contributor
493 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Everything is said about the transfer from Cairns. It is well organized on time without too much of hotel touring to get the guests onboard. The flight is pleasant, the boat ride to the lodge bumpy and wet but it is the summer weather there.
Friendly welcome after a tractor pool out of the water. The usual welcome drinks and explanations. A pleasanr rather small swimming pool in front of the main building. Nice rooms with great views but not really luxurious : no bath tub and the bathroom is not exceptionnal.
Quietness except for the normal rain forest noises is exceptionnal.
You need to book trips because there is not much to do at the lodge and one cannot swim in thesea:too many hazards !
Theguides are very informative and friendly. The trip to Cooktown was especially interesting. Beaware that you may miss the barrier reef because of the weather.their boat isnot large enough to accommodate choppy waters.
The cuisine is excellent, varied. The BBQ was really excellent. Communal dining for all meals is not what you expect at this level of luxury and service is very slow. note also that clients are almost all British...so if you are allergic...
Prices are quite high and in my view too high for a placd which is remarkable but not exceptionnal.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
23.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
12.2 mi away
Rainforest Hideaway
Rainforest Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
12.4 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield Lodge

Property: Bloomfield Lodge
Address: Wongabadga Point, Weary Bay, Bloomfield, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bloomfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem, enchanting and beautifully remote rainforest hideaway, two hours North of Cairns, Bloomfield Lodge offers a unique experience of two World Heritage listed sites, the ancient lush tropical Daintree Rainforest, and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.Bloomfield’s aura of calm and the natural beauty of the rainforest soon takes over, rejuvenating body and soul. Indulge in a soothing massage, relax by the pool or take a stroll along a deserted beach. Adventurous spirits can take advantage of Bloomfields unique location and discover some of Australia’s most incredible plant, animal and marine life with a guided rainforest walk or a cruise along a jungle fringed river. Visit cascading waterfalls, spend a magical day snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef without another boat in sight or experience some of the world’s finest game fishing. Bloomfield Lodge provides the perfect sanctuary to get away from it allA member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, ranked No1 in Forbes Magazine as the 'Worlds Best Remote Hotel', Winner 2011'Best Boutique Hotel' Queensland Hotel Association Awards and Winner 2011 Best Unique Accommodation' Tourism Tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloomfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield Hotel Degarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing