We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful British colony in the rain forest”
Review of Bloomfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bloomfield Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Nom la Breteche
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A beautiful British colony in the rain forest”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Everything is said about the transfer from Cairns. It is well organized on time without too much of hotel touring to get the guests onboard. The flight is pleasant, the boat ride to the lodge bumpy and wet but it is the summer weather there.
Friendly welcome after a tractor pool out of the water. The usual welcome drinks and explanations. A pleasanr rather small swimming pool in front of the main building. Nice rooms with great views but not really luxurious : no bath tub and the bathroom is not exceptionnal.
Quietness except for the normal rain forest noises is exceptionnal.
You need to book trips because there is not much to do at the lodge and one cannot swim in thesea:too many hazards !
Theguides are very informative and friendly. The trip to Cooktown was especially interesting. Beaware that you may miss the barrier reef because of the weather.their boat isnot large enough to accommodate choppy waters.
The cuisine is excellent, varied. The BBQ was really excellent. Communal dining for all meals is not what you expect at this level of luxury and service is very slow. note also that clients are almost all British...so if you are allergic...
Prices are quite high and in my view too high for a placd which is remarkable but not exceptionnal.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    17
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
113
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our Australian honeymoon.

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip up in the Cessna Caravan, then the bus and boat trip to the lodge.

We had treated ourselves to the Hideaway room - really special with a hot tub on the balcony. Just to be clear - there are bugs, geckos and insects. There is only a fan for air-con. It is a pretty steep walk up to the room. However, it was private, luxurious and special. The view was amazing and sitting in the hot tub at the end of the day with a chilled beer was amazing. The one thing I would like them to change is that they tell you that they provide essential toiletries, however, they only had small bottles of fairly bog-standard shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion. For such a special place, it would have been nice to have big bottles of lovely treat type stuff. If I was going again, I would take my own.

The rest of the property was great - the communal area was comfortable and the honesty bar well-appointed. You are encouraged to mix with other guests, although can request to be seated apart, so if this is not what you are looking for........... The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The staff were helpful and friendly. There was a lovely pool with comfy seating round the side and a small library with recent magazines, newspapers and a TV as well as some reference books.

They also have a couple of washers/dryers you can use and a small gym and spa (although I didn't try this).

There are lots of opportunities for day trips. Included in our trip was a fantastic rain forest walk witht the very knowledgeable Paul and a river trip to go croc spotting. We went on the reef trip which was an optional extra, but one of the best days of our holiday. We got to go snorkelling at 2 sites where we were the only people there and also a spot of fishing. All our fish had to be thrown back as too small, but a couple of days later they brought some great fish back and it was served up that evening at dinner! Some of the other guests went to the Bloomfield Falls and said that also was a great trip.

Relaxing - yes
Special - yes
Luxury - definately, but if your idea of luxury involves room service and no beasties, think twice!

Room Tip: The Hideaway rooms are very special - for a special occasion, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen7ify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived (an experience in itself) we couldn't have hope for a more wonderful holiday. We were upgraded to a lodge with sea view, the room was beautiful, the staff couldn't do more , the food was delicious and the trips we went on were brilliant. Peace and quiet, luxury and beautiful surroundings what more could you ask for???

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here about 6 years ago and it was great to see the improvements made. The managers do a great job and having been in the hospitality industry ourselves for many years we can distinguish between the excellent and mediocre! We stayed in one of the upgraded 'cabins' on the hill. Room was spotless and the new hot tub on the deck was a great addition. We did a reef trip with Harry & Paul as our guides and they do a great job. The reef is unspoilt and we saw no rubbish in the water as you often see in other places (PNG). The meals were enjoyable and we had a choice of sitting with our friends or sharing a table with other guests. We had great fun making our own cocktails but the managers were always on hand in case we got stuck.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the hill but it is a steep walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Arriving there was an adventure in itself! We had the most memorable and enjoyable few days ever! Rooms were great, food was great. Went out on a yacht with some other guests and had a wonderful day. I would highly recommend for couples only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at Bloomfield towards the end of our honeymoon in Queensland, and from the journey to get there to the fantastic staff going out of their way to make your stay perfect, it was the highlight of our trip. The room and rest of the lodge & grounds were beautiful and the food was amazing. We had a fantastic stay, met some great people and took advantage of the excellent trips on offer, the best of which was the reef trip (we actually extended our stay by a night to go on this trip and it was totally worth it!!!)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rach_Chadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

There can be few, if any, places on earth as remote, beautiful and luxurious as Bloomfield Lodge. From the moment we were chauffered from our hotel in Cairns, flown north along the coast for some 30minutes, met by Paulie at Mount Louis Airport( a grass landing strip), driven to a jetty on the Bloomfield river, and finally transported by boat across Weary Bay to the jetty at Bloomfield Lodge,we were treated like very special guests! The welcome we received from Courteney and Ben was delightful and throughout our stay they saw to our every need in an efficient and unobtrusive manner.
We stayed for four nights and wish it had been longer.We were so very sad to leave!But we had to head south to watch the British Lions defeat the Wallabies!!
We stayed in a Queenslander room with a delightful view through the trees on to Weary Bay. The rainforest walk with Paulie was so enlightening and he was so very knowledgeable. Similarily the boat trip up the Bloomfield river was an experience not to have missed. Just make sure you have your cameras handy for some of the most amazing views of the giant saltwater crocodiles.
The quality of the food throughout our stay was amomgst the best we have ever experienced. The real highlight was the BBQ evening of cray fish(caught that very same day on the reef), giant tiger prawns, Morton Bay bugs, large mussels and meat that included kangaroo steaks. The honesty bar worked well and drinks were not overpriced.
Bllomfield is a retreat where you can choose to do as much or as little as you please. Spend the day fishing off the jetty (rods and bait provided) or sit by the pool and relax with a book and a drink. All to be be highly recommended.

Room Tip: Queenslander rooms were ideal for us. Not too far from dining area, bar and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WelshConblocCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
23.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
530 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
538 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Thornton Beach Bungalows
Thornton Beach Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Thornton Beach
79 reviews
20.0 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
21.2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield Lodge

Property: Bloomfield Lodge
Address: Wongabadga Point, Weary Bay, Bloomfield, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bloomfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem, enchanting and beautifully remote rainforest hideaway, two hours North of Cairns, Bloomfield Lodge offers a unique experience of two World Heritage listed sites, the ancient lush tropical Daintree Rainforest, and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.Bloomfield’s aura of calm and the natural beauty of the rainforest soon takes over, rejuvenating body and soul. Indulge in a soothing massage, relax by the pool or take a stroll along a deserted beach. Adventurous spirits can take advantage of Bloomfields unique location and discover some of Australia’s most incredible plant, animal and marine life with a guided rainforest walk or a cruise along a jungle fringed river. Visit cascading waterfalls, spend a magical day snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef without another boat in sight or experience some of the world’s finest game fishing. Bloomfield Lodge provides the perfect sanctuary to get away from it allA member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, ranked No1 in Forbes Magazine as the 'Worlds Best Remote Hotel', Winner 2011'Best Boutique Hotel' Queensland Hotel Association Awards and Winner 2011 Best Unique Accommodation' Tourism Tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bloomfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield Hotel Degarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing