We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bloomfield”
Review of Bloomfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bloomfield Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This has to be one of the best places for a complete chill out. The position is great. The food is out of this world and the staff are fantastic. Cannot wait to go back!!
The plane trip from Cairns take about 40 minutes and flies over the reef and coast line you then land on a grass runway and are transferred to the wharf and a short trip by boat brings you out of the Bloomfield river into Weary Bay and the resort which is hidden in the rain forest.

Room Tip: Go for the Hideaway
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Bloomfield Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 163 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in a "queenslander" room which was a family suite, huge and beautiful. This place is a beautiful retreat hidden in the remote Daintree Forest where it meets the sea. It is not just accommodation but an experience from which you will never forget. It is absolute luxury, the food delicious, the hosts meet you on arrival and the personal service continues throughout your stay. Meals are taken with other guests and add to the friendly ambience we experienced. When we stayed all the other guests were from Great Brittain which was awesome. I can honestly say we have never had so much fun with such a friendly group of people on any other holiday. Bloomfield attends to your every need, they do many tours. We enjoyed a terrific day fishing and snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef with other guests, walking tours through the rain forest with knowledgeable guides, however the best fun was catching our own live bait and fishing of the jetty in the late afternoon prior to dinner with all the other guests. If you are lucky enough to come to this place you too will get to experience Bloomfield's magic.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms with spas are further up a steep hill and can be a difficult climb if you a...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annetr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Flew straight in from the UK and couldn't have been in a better place to fight jet lag. What's so good about Bloomfields starts with the journey from Cairns (by air, road and sea); the resorts remoteness (hidden in the bush), the accommodation (private and quiet with views over Weary Bay [plus the comfy bed!]; the food (three cooked meals a day, you never go hungry at Bloomfields, but will put on weight!). HOWEVER top of the list must be 'the staff'. What a great bunch of people. Our introduction to the resort came via Julian who met us at Cairns airport, he is a great ambassador for Bloomfields. Ben and Courtney, the resort managers, met us on our arrival and catered for our every whim. Gary and Paul our guides and bush and marine knowledge experts (the croc dundees of Bloomfields) and Bianca, the chef, who cooks to perfection. Thanks to you all for making our stay so memorable. Finally. we must mention the 'other guests'. How lucky we were to have 'the bunch of Aussies from Sydney' to keep us company; they taught us to fish off the pier (never caught anything) but above all were good fun. The thought of communal dining was a little off putting at first but it worked out perfectly. Last but not least the organised trips. It was well worth going on the half day river trip and the bush walk; we became acquainted with the local wild life and learnt a lot from our guides. A fantastic place to stay ... thanks again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianmcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

An out of this world honeymoon trip. From the initial journey to the resort to the reef tour, the crocodile trip, the food and the games with other guests. Everything was simply fantastic.

The reef trip was a real highlight for us, with just six on the boat we were so well looked after by Shayne and Paulie who made sure the strong and weak swimmers all got the most from the trip and the fishing and kept everyone involved.

Whilst the setting was fantastic, the staff make Bloomfield what it is. Craig, Cory, Ben and Courtney were extremely welcoming, with Brooke and Kayla providing great and very friendly service.

The food was consistently good. Not too fancy or cheffy, but very tasty and fresh with clean flavours and making use of the local fish and seafood.

You can do as much or as little as you like, but as someone who doesn't do beach holidays, the various trips, walks and tours were very informative and enjoyable.

We went for a hideaway room with an outdoor jacuzzi which was absolutely wonderful and provided a stunning view from a high position on the hill.

Room Tip: Room 23 is a punishing walk up a very steep hill but is well worth it for the view and isolation.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A beautiful retreat - very comfortable, great views from the all accommodations, wonderful food, excellent swimming pool and separate private spa, knowledgeable guides, everything delightful except for the seasonal south easterly wind. This makes the temperature most pleasant, but makes boating to the Barrier Reef questionable.

Room Tip: All rooms have outlook to the water, ceiling fans, verandas with daybed and views. All rooms have r...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Your first impression when you begin the trip to The Bloomfield Lodge is that you are going on an adventure. Starting at the small Hinterland Aviation hanger, you embark on an amazingly scenic flight in a 12-seater Cessna passing over the Great Barrier Reef. The pilots are all very skilled and do their best to ensure beautiful views of the different reefs down below. Upon arriving at Mt Louis Airport (it's more of a strip of grass in the middle of the bush!) you are greeted by real life Crocodile Dundee's and take a short drive in their stylish white SUV's to the Bloomfield River. At the river you board the small boat for another wonderfully scenic ride to the Bloomfield Lodge. Upon making your way around the river to Weary Bay you can just make out the jetty which signals you are finally there! It is possibly the coolest hotel transfer you could ever experience. You can just about make out a building or two behind the trees on arrival and you know you are in for a treat.
When you arrive at Bloomfield you are greeted by the two managers (and husband and wife,) Ben and Courtenay. Ben is on a tractor and helps tow your boat onto dry land while Courtenay is there to greet you with a great big smile on her face. You want for nothing as they give you a nice drink upon arrival and I went for the gin and tonic even though it was 11am, I was now on Bloomfield time! You truly feel special upon arrival and you are, as there is a limited amount of rooms, every guest is truly valued at this special place.Everything about the Bloomfield Lodge has comfort written all over it. From the nice warm wood colouring of the dining/pool/bar area to the individual lodges, it is extremely well maintained. The rooms all have a fresh exotic scent to them upon entering and all have a lovely little teddy bear and beautiful flowers waiting for you on the bed. Word of advice, tell your girlfriend or wife you had called in advance to have this specially done for them! You definitely feel at home because unlike standard hotels, each lodge is more or less on its own save for a few of the lead-in room types, but even they have a sense of remoteness you will struggle to find elsewhere. With amazingly comfortable beds and wonderful balconies with sea views, it is very easy to leave the modern world behind and finally just relax.I was fortunate enough to stay in the Bloomfield Suite which was epically amazing and although the price is at a premium, you will leave realising that it was worth every penny. You have to realise that you are getting a scenic flight over the Great Barrier Reef, a river cruise, all your meals which I guarantee will be some of the best you have ever had, and amazing rooms which are all individually designed. Also, definitely take advantage of the river cruise where crocodiles lurk everywhere and a rainforest walk by some of the most knowledgable guides I have ever encountered. In this day and age, it is near impossible to truly get away from it all without even a mobile signal, and to do it in luxury at that is where Bloomfield stands head and shoulders above the rest. The service is some of the best I have ever experienced. There are really 3 facets to it. The first is the kitchen and maintenance staff. The food is served quickly and promptly and although it is a set menu, if you have any dietary restrictions they will ensure you are looked after. The second are the real life Crocodile Dundee's I had talked about earlier. They take you out on the river and in the rainforest and know every plant and its medicinal purposes, every spot where crocodiles like to hang out, and always have a funny little story to keep you at ease. The third facet are the managers, Ben and Courtenay, who ensure that your stay is perfect and accommodate any need that you may have.My tip to others taking the same trip would be just to relax and embrace the whole experience. It really is a wonderful thing to just let yourself go without the outside world and just relax. When the tide goes out, take a walk where the water used to be as a whole different ecosystem comes to life. The best thing in the world to do is grab a rod, some bait, and a bucket of cold beers and head down to the jetty at night when the tide comes back in. Gary will be out there to help you if you have forgotten how to fish (which I absolutely did!) It is great because all the little fish are feeding by the mangroves and the big fish come in the evening to eat them. Good luck catching anything from baby hammerhead sharks to the mighty Barramundi! My last tidbit has everything to do with the BBQ they do. Chef Bianca cooks up fillet steaks, chicken, and sausages just they way you like them. There is also bay bugs, gigantic tasty prawns, crayfish, and the best mussels I have ever had. Basically, if you can't eat anymore, keep eating! I am home right now wishing I would have ate more because I probably will not have anything like that ever again! All in all, the Bloomfield Lodge is a place unique unto itself and a wonderful experience for anything you are looking for in life whether it be adventure, great food, relaxation and anything else you can think of.

Room Tip: Take advantage of all the little day trips - rainforest walk, crocodile boat cruise, low tide walk...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWalker610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Myself & my girlfriend stayed for 4 nights in March 2013, all the staff can't do enough for you and made our stay very special! The place is just amazing 4 days wasn't enough, the reef trip they do is well worth the money, it's a more personnel trip than u you will find from Cairns or portdouglas.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
23.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
557 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
550 reviews
21.2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#9 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
358 reviews
20.0 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
16.7 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield Lodge

Address: Wongabadga Point, Weary Bay, Bloomfield, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bloomfield
Price Range: $590 - $908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem, enchanting and beautifully remote rainforest hideaway, two hours North of Cairns, Bloomfield Lodge offers a unique experience of two World Heritage listed sites, the ancient lush tropical Daintree Rainforest, and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.Bloomfield’s aura of calm and the natural beauty of the rainforest soon takes over, rejuvenating body and soul. Indulge in a soothing massage, relax by the pool or take a stroll along a deserted beach. Adventurous spirits can take advantage of Bloomfields unique location and discover some of Australia’s most incredible plant, animal and marine life with a guided rainforest walk or a cruise along a jungle fringed river. Visit cascading waterfalls, spend a magical day snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef without another boat in sight or experience some of the world’s finest game fishing. Bloomfield Lodge provides the perfect sanctuary to get away from it allA member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, ranked No1 in Forbes Magazine as the 'Worlds Best Remote Hotel', Winner 2011'Best Boutique Hotel' Queensland Hotel Association Awards and Winner 2011 Best Unique Accommodation' Tourism Tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloomfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield Hotel Degarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing